2007 Chevrolet Aveo from North America

Summary:

This car is nice to drive, but it has its problems

Faults:

At around 19,000 miles the car was stuck in park. The only way to shift into drive or reverse was to push in and hold the shift lock. Then the cruise control stopped working around the same time. Apparently a $5.00 part went bad. We have been experiencing a knocking noise coming from the rear of the car just after we start it. Dealer told us that this may be a valve on the exhaust. We have an appointment for this to be looked into. The alternator went bad and was replaced at around 22,000 miles. We currently are just over 30,000 miles (all highway) and we are now experiencing a noise in the front end when we turn the wheels or happen to hit a bump in the road. The car is scheduled for 'another' appointment with the dealership.

General Comments:

Gas mileage is o.k., thought it would be better.

For a small car, there is a lot of room inside.

This car has a very large trunk.

This car does blow around a lot in high winds.

This car seems to have some manufacturing problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th April, 2008

9th Dec 2008, 10:39

Similar problems here. Alternator out at 28000, noise while turning, blower motor loud too. Difficult to drive under windy conditions.

2007 Chevrolet Aveo LT from North America

Summary:

The car is a lemon

Faults:

Cam shaft broke, the engine was knocking.

Radiator had a crack.

The engine light would come on.

General Comments:

The car is a cute car, but it has been a headache since I bought it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th April, 2008

23rd Aug 2008, 13:55

The engine light thing has occured to me when I was getting the car back home the same day I got it from the dealer. After all it turned out to be a problem with a single wire from a MAP sensor to the computer and replaced under warranty.

2007 Chevrolet Aveo Hatchback 1.6 from North America

Summary:

Good gas mileage

Faults:

I have a 1.6L engine with a manual trans. No A/C.

At 5400 miles, the engine developed a leak on the passenger side. It was very noticeable. The dealer told me that it needed an oil pump gasket and 1 day to fix.

General Comments:

I am getting about 36 miles per gallon and I like this vehicle. I hope that I am not going to have more problems with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th October, 2007

2007 Chevrolet Aveo LT 1.6L 16v E-Tec II from North America

Summary:

Wonderful Vehicle for the Price

Faults:

This is my only gripe with this vehicle. There are no power door locks switches inside the cabin. The only way to lock all doors when inside is to manually lock the driver's door. One more thing, I wish it had a center console and better cup holders. But for this price, who can complain? GM is practically giving this car away.

General Comments:

NEW 2007 Chevrolet Aveo LT, with every option except for sunroof. I purchased this vehicle with 4 year extended warranty, tax tag and title (all of which at GM family first pricing) for $14,000. Being a family member of GM, there is not a car on the market than can compete with the Aveo.

Very affordable for a vehicle with 4 airbags and ABS. (you won't find this with Hyundai, Kia and even Ford)

Good gas mileage, I'm getting 30 mpg city.

Consumable items ie..tires, belts are cheap to replace.

Awesome AC unit.

Factory Ipod hookup (thumbsup)

07 was upgraded with Hotchkis sp? strut tower brace from the factory.

This car looks very good for the price I paid. Especially the way GM styled the front emulating the Cadillac CTS.

Large trunk. I am a stay-at-home Dad and my baby girls' stroller fits perfectly in there with plenty of room for groceries.

LATCH system for child restraint works perfectly and is extremely easy to use.

The factory 15 in premium wheels look great.

Hanook p185/55r-15 tires give good grip in wet weather, but I will be getting some good ol Goodyears at replacement time. (Nothing against Hanook, but I prefer Goodyears and put them on all of my vehicles).

Automatic four-speed transmission slips when fluid is cold. This is not a big deal, I just let the car warm up for a few minutes. (Actually, being in Florida, I let the car cool down : )

The foglamps make the car look sporty and their functionality are superb.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th September, 2007

15th Jun 2008, 18:47

You are right, you won't find a Hyundai or a Kia with four airbags because they have six.

I really use to love the GM small cars when they had Suzuki making them... the Metro and Tracker where great cars. I am not sold on Aveo yet. Daewoo never really hit it big in the USA either, and they have many, many problems with their cars.

I'd seriously look at a Kia Rio, Hyundai Accent or a Suzuki SX4 if you are looking for a sub-compact in the 15k or lower price range.

30th Oct 2008, 20:48

Doors that all lock by pressing only the driver's side lock button is a good thing. It's called central locking and it's how many, many European cars have been for decades. All my Saabs have been like that, so is my Peugeot. I always thought it was handy.

3rd Nov 2008, 17:20

I like the feel of the Aveo. It is smoother than the Cobalt and G5 I test drove. However, the Cobalt and G5 are rated HIGHER in fuel mileage, are built by GM (not imported) and are larger (and much sportier cars in the coupe format). They are also much faster even with the base EcoTech 4.

The Hyundai Accent is a great car, and very well built, but with the same 100,000 mile warranty as Hyundai I'd opt for one of the true GM compacts.

Honda's Fit is way over priced, the Yaris has not really proven to be a very well built car, nor has the Nissan Versa.

I drove the Kia Rio, Spectra 5 and Rondo before my last car purchase. I was very disappointed. The feel was very cheap in the Rio and the Spectra and Rondo didn't seem to have anywhere NEAR their rated horsepower. They were slower than the Accent and Aveo.

22nd Dec 2008, 13:09

I agree with you, I would certainly go for the Chevrolet Aveo rather than the Hyundai Accent/Kia Rio.