2007 Chevrolet Aveo LS 5 Door 1.6 from North America


OK econo-box, poor mileage, so-so handling


Electronic displays come on frequently.

General Comments:

I recently purchased a new Aveo hatchback so it is unfair to rate the vehicle after only a few miles.

I have rented 2006 and 2007 Aveo 5 doors on 9 occasions during the past 18 months. It is the only practical vehicle available for lease.

All the rental cars were automatics and had between 4000 and 25000 miles on them. All the cars had electrical problems after 12000 miles. There were multiple warning lights that came on when I drove the vehicles. Two of the rental cars surged forward when I was stopped in traffic, and I had to push down very hard on the brake to stop the forward momentum. This happened one time in each of two rental vehicles. The rental company didn't seem concerned about this incident, nor the frequent electrical warning lights. They are the largest purchaser of the Aveo. They stated that they sell off the Aveos 2000-3000 miles sooner than their other cars.

Despite these problems, I chose to purchase a new 2007 hatchback with manual transmission. Not because it is a great vehicle, but because of the low price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th August, 2007

19th Aug 2007, 17:28

I can't believe that you bought a car on price above all else when your past experience with other examples of the same model were far from convincingly good.

You could and should have bought an Approved Used model of another make instead.

Good luck with your Aveo, as this model does not enjoy a very good track record in my neck of the woods (Australia & New Zealand) either.

24th Aug 2007, 15:54

2007 Chevrolet Aveo 5 Issues in Pennsylvania.

-When I first turn the car on, particularly on cool/cold days after the engine has had a chance to cool off, there is a very distinctive popping or thumping noise at the rear of the car, audible from both inside and out.

-When there is a passenger in the front seat, the "Passenger Air Bag Off" light remains on. Obviously, this means the passenger-side airbags are not working correctly. The dealer ran a diagnostic test on it and told me that GM didn't want to fix the vehicle because even though the problem was obvious, there was no error code they could send in from the test (i.e., the car doesn't know there is anything wrong with it). I don't feel comfortable carrying passengers in the car, and worry for my own safety as well, considering the demonstration of the quality of the safety restraint system thus far.

-I purchased this car due to its desirable fuel economy and high safety rating, but I'm rethinking that decision.

12th Sep 2007, 14:28

Your popping noise from the rear is the fuel pump. All vehicles do this; it's just noticeable in the Aveo because Chevy skimped on sound dampening.

7th Mar 2008, 10:48

Hum mm, We were considering this car in a manual transmission as possibly a nice little vehicle to tow behind our RV...Looks like we'll keep looking. Thanks for your honest comments, you quite likely saved us from a big headache.

2007 Chevrolet Aveo LS 4 cylinder from North America


This little car is great!


Nothing, still in new condition.

General Comments:

I was set to buy another Hyundai. My husband wanted me to go to the Chevrolet dealer in our hometown because it was closer for service. We went together to look at the cars when the dealership was closed. My husband and I really liked the styling of the Aveo. When it came time to test drive, he wanted me to go by myself since I would be the only one to drive it. It was still in my mind that I would humor him by test driving it and then tell him I wanted the Hyundai Elantra (which I had already driven.) Well, I drove this car and when I got back to the dealership, asked the salesman to write up the sale. I didn't even consult my husband.

The previous cars I have driven had all the bells and whistles-this one doesn't even have electric windows and I still love it. No CD player, but I can plug in my Ipod. The AC is great and powerful.

I also had a Subaru Outback that I loved. This car is roomier inside than it was. The trunk is huge! The seats are more comfortable, too. My son and his girlfriend say the back seat is comparable to the Subaru. My husband wouldn't drive either the Subaru nor the Hyundai because he is a tall man and it hurt his back to drive them. He enjoys driving the Aveo and borrows it when he can.

I bought this car in February, and drove it home from the dealership during a snowstorm. The front wheel drive is great. I have no trouble with it on snow covered roads, and I live between two killer hills.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2007

2007 Chevrolet Aveo LS Sedan 1.6 16v 4 from North America


Best Car I've ever owned



General Comments:

This is my first brand new car, and I am loving it. So far it's a great little car. I have no complaints. This Aveo was redesigned for 2007 and is a real looker.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th March, 2007

27th May 2007, 05:50

A little more information please! Have you calculated your mileage yet?

15th Jun 2007, 02:23

Just 600 miles. First car. This is the first impression survey...

2nd Jul 2007, 18:52

Hello all; this is the guy who wrote the review. The Aveo now has over 9,000 Miles on it and I still love it. My average fuel economy is between 30 and 37 MPG (depends on my lead foot and whether or not I am using AC). This car is great and I have been running the wheels off it and still haven't had any issues.

14th Jul 2007, 20:18

How many cars HAVE you had? (if you say it is the best one...)

22nd Feb 2008, 00:14

I have had nine cars and you should definitely get a Camaro if you think that is the best car out there. Or if you still like fuel economy the new Chevy HHR is turbo with a mileage of 19city and 30Hwy. 220 HP.

15th Apr 2008, 07:05

Camaro? I always wanted one, so I bought a 1995 a few years ago. Every gasket the thing had leaked like a sieve... yeah, great car. Myself, I've only had luck with Asian cars. An American Revolution... that's funny, for a Chevy made in South Korea. That's why I'm going to buy one.

28th May 2008, 01:02

I had an Aveo 2007 here in the Philippines. My gas consumption is around 18 mpg city driving. Considering the traffic here in Manila, I'm still disappointed, as I expected to get 20-22mpg.

I also noticed it's very noisy at 100kmh and up.

Under warranty my radiator was replaced in less than a year due to a leak.