2004 Chevrolet Aveo LS from North America - Comments

3rd Mar 2004, 22:17

I test-drove and Aveo sedan with my brother today. He's in the market for a new car (he's tired of used ones), and doesn't have a lot of money to burn. I was ready to be supportive and not talk up the rough spots so he could feel good about a future purchase. I was thoroughly, pleasantly surprised. Great poise, good power, smooth ride, nice stereo, power everything, reasonable space with good cabin ergonomics, and it even looks good (considering its low-cost brethren). Certainly, there are trade-offs in purchasing a car this cheaply, but my brother was sold immediately after the test-drive, and I have to say, I was too. I await some harder data about reliability, but from the look of things, it should be pretty good news. Don't knock this little gem until you've driven one.

22nd Mar 2004, 00:06

This car is built by Daewoo...

30th Mar 2004, 23:28

It was built by Suzuki. Take a look at the Swift, it is the same car. I wouldn't say it is powerful (my 1982 Citation has 90 horsepower and 137 lbs/ft of torque, it is underpowered.) This car has 103 horsepower and 107 torque. But at least it should be more reliable than my car, most new cars no longer have many transmission or engine problems. Of course some do, but there are less cars out there with bad ones.

31st Mar 2004, 06:25

The previous comment is incorrect, the Aveo is built in S. Korea by GM Daewoo Automotive Technologies. So are the Suzuki Verona and Forenza. All three are versions of current Daewoo models.

1st Apr 2004, 20:00

I must concur with the above ratings on the Aveo. I do not own one, but have had one for a week as a loaner. I was surprised at all aspects of this car, from the smoothness in acceleration to the smooth ride, both in the city and in town. The A/C is superb. The transmission shifts seamlessly, though the automatic selector gate takes some getting used to. If this car is any indication of the direction that Chevy and GM are taking, they should do quite well. I realize that it takes time for a car to build up a reliability history, but I think this car will hold up well over time.

6th Jun 2004, 09:41

Actually, Suzuki has just released a new Swift based on the Aveo. Unfortunately, it is only on sale in Canada and probably won't make it to the U.S. Regardless, its just an Aveo with a Suzuki badge, and the Aveo is already a rebadged Daewoo. The same can be said for the Suzuki Verona, sold in the U.S. which is also a rebadged Daewoo, sold again in Canada as the Chevrolet Epica and the Suzuki Forenza sold in the U.S, yet another rebadged Daewoo sold in Canada as the Chevrolet Optra. Confusing, huh?

9th Jun 2004, 00:48

I guess the car named Chevrolet Kalos is the equivalent of the Chevrolet Aveo and it is a new market entry in Turkey. And it is very cheap when you compare with the equivalents (up to 6000 USD in price). I own a Fiat Punto SX 60, 1997 model. It is a good car, too but I am very fed up with its smallness, short of power (1200 cc with 60 HP) and 3-doors (I have a 7-year-old son so it is a problem when he tries to get in or get off the car). I haven't had a test drive of the new Chevrolet Kalos, but when I see the pictures of it I loved its interior design, spaciousness and the power and the size of it. But I really cannot judge that is it worthwhile to exchange my established brand Italian car (it is original) to an non-proved-yet South Korean one? Could somebody help me? I am indecisive at the moment.

9th Jun 2004, 14:07

In terms of smallness and power, the Aveo shouldn't be much different, as they are both subcompacts. I don't know much about Fiats as they aren't on sale in the US where I live, but chances are it's not worth it, you should probably save up until you can get a more established, but still inexpensive Toyota or Honda, for instance. Good luck.

28th Jun 2004, 10:22

To the comment above:

The difference between imports and domestics is certainly a lot more involved than owners maintenance habits. Do some research into 1998-2004 Chrysler Intrepid's, 98-present Chevrolet Malibu's, mid-90's Dodge Neon's, and mid-90's Ford Windstar's, either by reviews on this site, or anywhere else for that matter. You'll be hard-pressed to find any of the popular imports with such shoddy customer reviews, as you'll find with the above domestic models.

That isn't to say that all imports are perfect, or that all domestics are lemons. Neither would be true. However, how can you stand by a company that still stands by such low tech engine and transmission design. Chrysler's continued use of the obviously defective 2.7L Mitsubishi engine for over 6 years should be enough to discredit them in itself. Even if their engineers are completely incompetent; it was no doubt apparent by the year 2000 that the engine was garbage, based on its absurd longevity (even if maintained meticulously). If you still need further cause to laugh at Chrysler, then look no further than its new 'Crossfire' line. A UK channel called BBC(?) hosts a show/segment called 'Top Gear', where the hosts review and track test both foreign and domestic sports cars, and their comments on the Crossfire have to be seen to be believed. This show is known for its brutal honesty of all models, so it's not biased against American Brands. Them, of an Audi TT: "... Atrocious under-steer. It handles like a clown car!"

30th Jul 2004, 09:19

I am considering purchasing an Aveo to replace my Chevy Metro that I now own with 121000 miles on it. The American made drive train is proven already and that is the largest expense in any repair work. With a 5yr/50,000 mile warranty what is their to worry about. If you go to the Federal Fuel Economy web site you will see there are no more gas engine type vehicles getting 49 mpg to replace the Metro. Everyone is going hybrid. The Aveo has a 27City/35Hwy rating which is o.k. but not exceptional compared to the old Metro. I have been looking for a low mileage hatchback Metro, but with little success. I am going this week end to see what Chevy dealers have in stock for Aveos.

6th Aug 2004, 15:17

Just bought (Actually GM SmartLeased) a new Chevy Aveo. The bottom line was $227.00 (CDN) down and $227.00 (CDN) per month all taxes in for 48 months with a lease rate of 1.9% with a end of lease buyout of $5000.00.

It just gets better from there. Nice little car with a big car ride and feel to it. A VERY quiet cabin, even at highway speeds.

Handling is decent even with the 180-60-R14 stock Khumo Tires, but there is a Bridgestone Potenza available in that size. The Potenza is the OEM tire on the Suzuki Badged version.

Performance in town is spunky, and I find myself going over the speed limit a lot! 0-100 Km/h in about 10 seconds, which is not bad, but the Aveo could use a bit more guts for highway passing situations. Going back into 4th gear is necessary for single lane passing.

The Aveo has real back seats that can seat two full sized adults comfortably, and three if necessary. There are three back seat shoulder belts which is about time.

Overall fit and finish is good, and there are some surprising features, like an aluminum radiator and door light switches on all four doors and the hatch too. Plus remote gas door release, and a height adjustable drivers side seat, too.

All in all, a lot of car for only $227.00 per month.

Bill, in Nova Scotia.