1993 Chevrolet Beretta Reviews - Page 2 of 4

1993 Chevrolet Beretta GT 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10700000 kilometres
Most recent distance10700000 kilometres

Summary:

Civic killer!

Faults:

Lets see, when I got the car the emergency brake worked, but after a while of using it (removing the tires with the cheap no name jack) the cable stretched.

The rotors where replaced AT 107KM because they where the original ones, and I no because I got all the bills!

The clear coat came off the rims, no biggie, just a little aluminum primer and automotive paint, and a few rolls of masking tape and sand paper, (note: if your going to do this, do it rite the first time, take the rims down to the bare metal and wipe with icoprople and mask properly!)

The drivers side rocker panel rusted through a little because of salt on the highway, and also rust underneath the tip of the hood due to a winter bra! (don't ever put one on your car!!!)

Owner never replaced the air filter, she said to me it got 24-26 miles to the gallon (mpg) on the highway (gee...I wonder why? hmm...)

General Comments:

The GT package handles pretty freaking well, "like its on rails" but the base model (i had test driven one) is a how you say..."handles like a mattress on wheels!"

Is pretty good off the line, has a little bog till about 50km/h, then it's a fire breathing dragon! and a little cheap trick I did was put some holes in the air box (it did quite a bit!)

The GT seats aren't all that bad, nothing has gone wrong with the interior, aside the emergency brake cable (but these things happen to all cars, its only a cable!)

There isn't a whole lot of things that have been replaced on it, because it's a well made car, no cheap parts, and the key is, and this isn't no secret, MAINTENANCE! that's the only thing you will ever have to worry about, if the owner did things like take it to the car cleaner every month and got the oil changed, its gonna be a deal!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2004

28th Jul 2004, 14:45

Your Beretta can't kill jack! My Hyundai Civic will eat up the pavement with it!

28th Jul 2004, 21:02

To the person who wrote the first comment. It's always a good first step to know what you're talking about before posting your comments. Especially if you're going to talk trash like a jackass. Oh, and by the way, What the hell is a Hyundai Civic?

25th Dec 2004, 08:31

Nice comment, I was waiting for someone to point out the error of Hyundai or Honda... Civic owners aren't that smart, it's not their fault!!

2nd Aug 2007, 16:51

Umm his car has (Beretta) 185 torque vs the low torque on a Civic... unless you have an Si

9th Apr 2009, 14:08

I've had both a Beretta and a Civic with an Si motor, my Beretta was an 88 with a 2.8 multiport and a 3 speed auto, Civic is a 98 with a 4 speed auto. The Beretta beats it off the line, but the Civic blows by it after about 80-85mph. If the Beretta had a 5 speed it would smoke it, I know the newer GT Berettas would take a Civic 5 spd stock vs. stock.

1993 Chevrolet Beretta GT 3.1, 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.1, 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired136000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles

Summary:

I love my first car, I wouldn't trade it for the world, unless it broke down

Faults:

When I first got the Beretta GT, I was told by the dealer that it had cooling system problems, and he wasn't joking. I went online to find out that there was some kind of recall for 1993 Berettas because of the cooling system problems. I am still having problems with that to this day. It is always overheating, I have to keep the heater on.

General Comments:

Overall "If it ain't one thing it's another" but the car handles good and goes fast, quick, when needed. The acceleration is good, great air conditioning, and nice color!! (ultramarine)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2004

17th Dec 2004, 05:57

Hi, I recently bought a 91 Beratta GT 5 speed. It cranks up all the time, and runs very good, even though it has over 220,000 miles on it. I imediatley noticed that the coolant temperature gauge is always going all the way to the Hot mark, as if it is overheating. I replaced the thermostat, and that did'nt help, as I put my hand or my face near the drive belt, I feel drops of water shooting at me, could this be from the water pump? Any suggestions, please help! Thanks.

28th Feb 2005, 12:14

Hi I think That your problem may lie with the coolant temparture sensor in the engine. I have the same problem with my 93 Baretta GT. The car isn't overheating, its just that the gauge is faulty and may need replacing. I heard that this was a common problem on these cars. I believe that you can pick up one for about 40 bucks at a parts shop. Good luck!

26th May 2005, 07:30

Hi thanks a lot! that solved the problem!

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 13 reviews