1998 Chevrolet Blazer Reviews - Page 10 of 19

1998 Chevrolet Blazer 4.3 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.3 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired53000 miles
Most recent distance109000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

Very poor automobile in mechanical areas

Faults:

At 53000 miles had to replace right front wheel bearing. At 79000 miles the left front wheel bearing was replaced. The vehicle is now only used when absolutely necessary because both front wheel bearings are making noise again. Last time it cost me almost $400. to do the work myself, so I am saving my quarters to buy another set.

At 85000 the transmission started acting up, haven't repaired this as of yet.

Around 90,000 miles the heat failed, replaced the vacuum controller and the heater core to the tune of almost $300.00.

When the heater started acting up so did the gas gage sensor in the tank. I haven't fixed this yet because as I understand it the complete unit including the fuel pump has to be replaced and that is quite costly as well.

The upper and lower ball joints on both sides have been replaced before I purchased the vehicle.

The remote oil filter lines also leak at the point entering the filter housing.

The sad part of all this is that my sister has an identical Blazer. Hers has about 20000 more miles on it then mine and every thing I have listed about mine has also gone wrong with hers.

Based on the research I have done all the problems I have mentioned are quite a common occurrence with the Chevrolet Blazer. I have been a "Chevy Man" but after my "Blazer" experience, I have decided to become a Dodge buyer from now on!

General Comments:

I don't know what Chevy did when they updated the older Chevy S 10 Blazer, but they sure messed up a good thing by going to the newer design. Hopefully they will get it together and "fix" the flaws before they loose too many more customers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd January, 2005

14th Jul 2005, 13:01

I also have a 98 blazer and have the same exact problems as listed in the previous comments, at 102,000 miles had to have the engine replaced everything in the front end had to be replaced, ball joints, CV joints, ect. had to have a new transmission put in a month ago, now 4 weeks later the fuel pump has went. I've had the 4-wheel drive switch go bad.. I will never buy another chevy this has been a very stressful year with my Blazer. You name it I have had to change it..

26th Jul 2006, 07:03

I have a Chevy 1998 Blazer, and what a disappointment. I have had to take out bank loans to fix this thing. Ball joints have been replaced 4 times, wheel bearings 3 times, 7 break jobs, exhaust and heat shield replacement, leaky transmission seal... and the list goes on and on. The problems started around 80,000 and have not stopped. I am at 130,000, but can't afford a new car because I am still paying on the loan I took out to get the beast fixed. I am so stressed, and work 30 miles from home. I white knuckle it all the way to work because another wheel bearing is going, and I can't afford to get it fixed. What a nightmare.

10th Sep 2012, 13:15

I suggest you buy quality replacement parts. I also changed my ball joints, but I bought quality ones, and 70000 miles later they're still good.

1998 Chevrolet Blazer LT Vortech V6 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Vortech V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

Fair value for the price. Heard the new ones are more dependable

Faults:

Where do I start? First of all, I replaced the battery at around 30,000 miles. Replace the front ball joints at 35000 miles. Replace the battery again at 45000 miles. I have just recently had the intake valve gasket replaced at 60000 miles.

General Comments:

Good comfort, excellent ride. Could do a little better on fuel economy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th December, 2004

1998 Chevrolet Blazer LT 4.3 V6 (Vortek) from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.3 V6 (Vortek) Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired84000 miles
Most recent distance84000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

Poor quality for the cost

Faults:

The driver side door is sagging and will not close properly without slamming.

Just replaced the alternator, water pump, both front hubs (does not have bearings that are replaceable.)

Now the heater is not working properly and the dealer said the heater core needs to be back flushed at approx. $250 plus.

There is a short in the wiring system inside the steering column that has to be repaired.

Front carpet on the drivers side has worn through to the floorboard and has to be replaced.

The gas mileage on this vehicle has never been as good as the gas mileage on my 1991 Chevy Blazer.

I will not be looking to buy another Chevy Blazer. I will be looking at SUV sold by other manufacturers.

General Comments:

I am over 50 and the principle driver of this vehicle. The Blazer does have good pick up when entering the Interstate or highway.

I will not buy another Chevy Blazer because of the poor quality in this one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th December, 2004

9th Dec 2005, 10:52

I have had all those same problems with my 98 blazer LT plus my 4wd is not working now. The light won't switch out of 2hi. Seems like a computer issue.

27th Mar 2006, 14:03

The driver's side door is sagging because the bushings are worn out on the hinges. You can purchase bushing replacement kits at any auto parts store. They cost me around $16 at AutoZone. You will also need a spring compression tool in order to safely remove a large spring. The tool cost me $17 at PepBoy's, which took 1 day to get from their warehouse.

The job really requires 2 people because you have to remove both pins in the hinges to replace the bushings. I used a floor jack to help support the weight of the door to prevent possible damage to the door or body.

9th May 2006, 11:57

I've had a 98 Blazer four years ago - bought it used, with 37,000 miles on it. I was fortunate to purchase an Extended warranty. Numerous problems in the front end and 4 wheel drive.

I just traded it in today - Good Riddance.

Average review marks: 5.7 / 10, based on 69 reviews