1998 Chevrolet Blazer Reviews - Page 7 of 19

1998 Chevrolet Blazer LS 4.3 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.3 Don't Know
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

This is a great vehicle

Faults:

The transmission started giving me problems around 60,000.It would start shifting hard after traveling a long distance. The dealer told me that they had had problems with the seals.

Oil lines have leaked since 75,000 miles. I was told that it was a common problem with these vehicles.

The water pump went out around 100,000 miles.

I replace the intake manifold gasket at 110,000 miles.

Seat adjuster has broke off several times. This was replaced every time even after warranty was up.

The turn signal tends to start clicking some times when I'm not using it, but usually stops with in minutes.

General Comments:

Other than the mentioned transmission problems I have been satisfied with the performance and reliability of the blazer. I would recommend it to any one looking for a small SUV.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th February, 2006

1998 Chevrolet Blazer LT 4.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.3 Automatic
Distance when acquired95300 miles
Most recent distance96600 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

Have not had it long, liked our 1993 Blazer, hope this '98 does as well

Faults:

Blazer would shake at over 63 mph.

General Comments:

My mechanic discovered the rear disc brakes were causing the shaking. He replaced the rotors and pads and the left rear calipers. That has solved the problem, rides smooth now. Wanted to share this with everyone who may have a similar problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th January, 2006

1998 Chevrolet Blazer LS 4.3 Vortec V6 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.3 Vortec V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired101500 miles
Most recent distance103300 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Too early to tell, but I'm optimistic

Faults:

Heater stopped blowing hot air (turned luke-warm).

Rear view directional pad malfunction. Works both mirrors just fine except for left.

General Comments:

Owned this vehicle only 2 months. I know it has some miles on it, however I'm still optimistic despite the problems so far. I thought the heater would be a BIG problem (and living in Vermont in the winter, It would be if it continued its shenanigans) but I can't believe how obscenely EASY it was to flush the heater core and cure the problem... I'm very proud of myself!

Nothing bad to say about the Blazer yet, tentatively speaking. The poor reviews here DO have me watching this vehicle carefully. Thank you all for that. I have a good idea of what to watch for.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th November, 2005

1998 Chevrolet Blazer LS 4.3L V6 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.3L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

This vehicle is a piece of JUNK! Poor Engineering!

Faults:

I have a 98 blazer that has 65K miles and it just began shifting very hard after driving it for an extended period of time (usually 45 minutes or more). If I am on the highway, whenever I exit, it always shifts hard going into every gear. Does anyone have any comments on the transmission?

Other problems I have had:

Front Windshield wiper motor AND circuit board.

Front Hub assembly, passenger side was replaced 3 times by the previous owner and once by myself and its making noise again.

Rear wiper is currently working when it wants to.

Recline lever on the passenger seat broke off.

Oil lines were replaced.

Lumbar adjustment is broken.

Door is sagging slightly. You can see the paint wearing away.

General Comments:

Great comfort and nice and roomy. Good power out of the 4.3L engine.

My advice dont buy a Blazer! And if you do, buy mine!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th August, 2005

3rd Sep 2005, 10:22

The reason why it is shifting hard is becuase you will need a transmission rebuild. It will set you back about $2,000.

5th Sep 2005, 22:25

An easy fix for the transmission. Trans GO makes a kit to fix the shift problem. It cost about 40 dollars on eBay or go to transgo.com. This is a notorious problem for that transmission.

6th Mar 2006, 07:15

My 98' Blazer 4x4 had the same hard shifting problem. It was a bad valve in the transmission case. The problem was fixed for about $100.00 labor and all.

28th Mar 2007, 10:12

Just put lucas trans oil in it it should fix every thing.

1998 Chevrolet Blazer from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired99000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles

Summary:

Comfortable, but costly repairs for what seems to be minor things

Faults:

Air conditioner compressor went out within 24 hours. after leaving dealership.

The brakes had to be replaced shortly after purchase.

On hot days the transmission fuel rod expands such that it is impossible to remove until the car has cooled down.

The gas gauge quit registering the correct amount of fuel around 110,000 and varies on what it does say i.e. sometimes a half tank will register as full and sometimes it will register as empty. Cost to replace is ridiculous, hence we go by the estimate of 300 miles per tank.

The passenger side seat adjustment lever was already broken off when purchased and just today the driver's side broke off. Problem here is the seat was in a reclining position and cannot be up-righted manually. The handle itself fit around a rather cheap piece of what looks like welded metal which broke off into the handle. Costs to repair this has been quoted at 100+

Most importantly - this car was hit on 2 separate occasions with repairs of approximately $2000-$3000 and each time the airbag failed to deploy. Didn't question this at the time of the accidents, but now I wonder if there is not a defect there.

General Comments:

For the most part the car is perfect for high school student for whom it was purchased, but while doing this survey and looking back over the problems incurred I have to seriously question the failure for airbags to deploy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th July, 2005

14th Sep 2005, 18:05

There are only 3 or 4 sensors for air bags so your car has to be hit in the right spot for them to go off. In other words they won't deploy in every accident - thank god because they are expensive to replace!

21st Jun 2007, 21:46

My girlfriend was in an accident in a 1998 Chevy Blazer and the airbag failed to deploy at 35 miles per hour in a front collision. I wouldn't recommend this vehicle to anyone. Thank God she wasn't hurt. Oh, and the air conditioner stopped working just as you said before the accident, and repairs are just as you quoted 2-3k. Awful vehicle, I'm seriously concerned for the safety of anyone that drives this SUV.

Average review marks: 5.7 / 10, based on 69 reviews