15th Sep 2003, 02:51


I just purchased a 2000 Chevy Blazer from a lease trade in... (8 days ago)

Only 37,000 miles..

None of the problems described seem to be happening.

I did purchase the extended warranty service with the $200 deductible.

There are some minor engine vibration, but only when the car is first starting up or idling in park for a while. These problems were described in the consumer reports review. So, I'm not to worried because it isn't all that significant.

The thing I am most concerned with is the ball bearing problems and the hazard lights issues...

Any suggestions on how to safeguard against such failures?

Can I have a mechanic investigate and determine if these parts are currently in good working order?

All help appreciated.

Concerned in Arizona.

23rd Sep 2003, 08:11

"Like a Rock" More like "Like a Lemon" I have a 2000 Chevy Blazer that I purchased about a year and a half ago. At about 80,000 Miles the following problems occurred within 3,000 miles of each other.

1. Alternator quit 200.00

2. Front right rear bearing assy failed. 500.00

3. Power window motor quit 200.00

4. Carrier bearing failed in the Rear End.

(will have to have all bearings and carrier replaced)


5. And the windshield fluid line is leaking

6. Left front bearing assy is starting to make noise also.

Will have to be replaced soon. another 500.00

7. Now it feels like the transmission may be slipping.

I am getting the rear end fixed now and will trade in for either a Ford Ranger or a Toyota.



5th Dec 2003, 08:00

Just was looking for others that have been having the same problems as I am with my blazer. It turns out, yes the blazer is a total lemon. Wheel bearings shot.. 800 bucks. oil lines out- 300 bucks. transmission fried. more money.

If you enjoy supporting your local chevy repair shop, this is a great way to do it.

I will never ever ever ever buy a chevy product again.

27th Jan 2004, 04:17

Bought used 1998 2wd Jimmy for my son. It had 61,000 miles on it.

I have since replaced alternator and now the bearings are shot and I cannot find aftermarket hub assembly. The dealer wants $411 to walk out with the part. The 4x4 hubs are readily available, but not the 2wd.

The parts guy at the dealer didn't even have to look up the part number. He has sold so many of them, he has memorized the number. He said " Oh yeah" these go out all the time.

I think this is a crock!! These bearings should last at least 150-200k miles.


5th Feb 2004, 09:03

Own a 2000 Blazer I bought at 20,000 miles 3 years ago; now has 90,000.

Same problems as others on this page.

Fuel sensor went out (never had this happen before and never even heard of it on any car before; now I hear it's almost automatic on Blazers).

Seat recliner lever snapped off (soft metal)

Driver's window won't work do down. (Did it for a day one time and then worked again without any fix for about 2 months before going out now for good.)

Severe clunk heard and felt from right front when turning into my driveway each night.

Rattly noise from engine at idle. Was told it was the belt tensioner. Replaced it and noise lives on.

Paint pealing on luggage rack.

Door dropped down about an inch on driver's side so doesn't match latch well.

Plastic door molding creaks so badly that friends think my car is more than twenty years old. Very third world.

Rear wiper squirter wouldn't work (fixed by dealer after 2nd trip to them).

How can we get CHEVY to own up to the defects that are on every one of its Blazers like the fuel gauge, ball joints, seat lever and window and door problems and pay for them on a RECALL???

With a kid in college, I can't afford to trade out of my Blazer right now. But, I am scared to death of driving into all of the transmission, rear-end, engine type problems mentioned on this site.

I like the size of the Blazer, but because of the almost comically poor quality of the parts, would never own another CHEVY product for the rest of my born days.

9th Feb 2004, 16:36

My 2000 4X4 blazer had most of the problems listed by others.

It was so frustrating and expensive. When I tried to trade it in they offered far less than it was worth. When I tried to sell it outright nobody was interested.

I finally had to trade it in and got very little. It seemed where I tried to trade it in they must have known blazers have a lot of problems. I might add my new vehicle isn't a Chevy. I also own an S-10 Truck. We're at this time replacing wheel bearings. Know what, that Chevy's going too.


4th Mar 2004, 16:10

I bought my 2000 Chevy Blazer 4x4 in June of 2002 with 36,0000 miles. I absolutely love my truck... i wouldn't have any other vehicle for off-roading. I have had only one major problem (the alternator), which I was told should be a recall, but is not. $200 bucks didn't break me though. other than that, just the bucket seat levers (easy fix) and my emergency break light and ABS light stay on sometimes?? Every manufacturer has problems, some even more severe than these. LIKE A ROCK!!!

Chevy Girl.

27th May 2004, 12:02

I own a 2000 Chevy Blazer LS 4x4. I bought it about a year ago. Since I've had to replace both ball-joints (which only 1 was bad, but since it was under warranty I made them do both) and the bearings, which is an entire hub (my husband did that, he wasn't happy about it either) I can relate. I than in turn took my blazer to a very trusted dealership and had them do a 5 point check on it. They didn't find anything, but from what I've read, I'm terrified to drive it!

I did own a 1994 Chevy Caviler, in my opinion, it was the best car I ever owned! I never had a lick of trouble with it until it rolled over too 225,000 miles. Than it seemed to nickle and dime me..

I know what your all are talking about though, the Blazer is a very bad make for the chevy industry. I think they will loose a lot of loyal "chevy" customers over this.

Good luck to all.

Bambi - Michigan.

29th May 2004, 23:18

Hi Bambi. My name is Carl. Met a guy in the Army in 85 at Ft. Gordon Ga. His name is Scott and his wifes name is Bambi and they were from Michigan. Had a daughter named Amanda. Any connection? Any way, sorry about your Blazer bad luck. I have a 1998 Blazer LS 4wd. Running like a top!! Have had to replace a few things here and there; alternator, tensioner, serpentine belt. But with 92K, I'm not complaining too much. I am starting to get a growling noise in the right front though. From what I understand its probably the hub assembly. Not too happy about that!! The wheel bearings should last for 100-200K miles or more.