1988 Chevrolet C1500 Cheyenne 305 from North America


Ready for another 400,000km


When I bought the truck, it had no starter on it, it was the only thing I had to replace on it, as the previous owner removed it to use on another truck.

I also had to replace the coolant temperature sensor, as the little clips broke off the side at one point in its life, and it kept unplugging itself.

General Comments:

I bought the truck for 300 bucks, and I currently drive it every day to work and school, which is at least 100km per day. I love this truck, it has never let me down, and it's really the only good thing I have.

I couldn't be more happier with my truck, I don't know why we can't build a truck that will last this long anymore. This truck has been treated like a truck all its life, and I have no plans of retiring it in the future. Me and my Chevy are planing to take a road trip from Nova Scotia (where I live), and drive to Route 66, possibly all the way to California this summer. I would trust this vehicle to go anywhere.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th January, 2011

28th Jan 2011, 12:11

"I don't know why we can't build a truck that will last this long anymore."

Yes, they CAN build them like this, they just choose NOT to. That way, the stealerships can rake in the cash for the endless issues, while their front-line men work on these modern monstrosities for chump change. The automotive industry today is a joke. There is no money in this game for the hard-working, honest mechanic anymore. People are too blind and dumb like sheep to see it... after all, they are ultimately the ones responsible for this happening. People want their freaking useless gadgets, and pay tons of money for it. And, of course, the industry has found a way to cash in on the stupidity.

1988 Chevrolet C1500 305 from North America


The best truck money can buy


Broke the trans casing due to a bad rear trans mount.

Lost the rear diff at about 152,000.

General Comments:

This truck has amazing power, and handles great, with great mileage if I stay out of the throttle.

I wouldn't trade this truck for the world.

Just drove it 3000 miles straight through without trouble.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th November, 2010

1988 Chevrolet C1500 Scottsdale 305 small block from North America


It is the best $50 I ever spent


It has a broken steering column, busted throttle body, blown tranny and I plan on fixing it soon. When I got it a few months ago, it was pretty good.

General Comments:

It goes fast, it smells like new, it has a comfy leather seat, it has aftermarket cupholders, and does an awful fine burnout. It also gets massive air when jumping. Like 5 feet.

The windshield is smashed, but it starts good.

It has no exhaust, but it really isn't loud at all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th October, 2009

27th Oct 2009, 15:25

"It has no exhaust, but it really isn't loud at all."

Try turning the key and starting the engine :)

28th Sep 2013, 18:47


1988 Chevrolet C1500 Silverado 5.7 V8 from North America


Strong Running Speedy truck


Replaced the spark plugs and changed the oil using castrol 20w50 holds good oil pressure under just about any condition.

General Comments:

It has the "350" so when I mash it it goes. I can beat almost anything on wheels including all imports. The only thing that will outrun me is the 7.4 "454" V8's - the 400's can't compete. I am very pleased with this truck!!! I can run 10's on the quarter mile - hows that for performance?!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th August, 2004

24th Sep 2004, 19:56

Probably pulls 1G on the skid pad too...

15th Nov 2008, 09:50

10 seconds in the quarter mile? Call Guinness!

28th Nov 2008, 17:33

Lucky if was 10's in 1/8 mile. What is that 350 really a blown and nitroused 383?

29th Sep 2013, 07:50

Why are you running 20w50? If you only paid 50, you can get 300 at just about any scrapyard for the metal. A nice profit!

30th Sep 2013, 07:12

Are you joking? This review is 9 years old. That truck has long since been junked, crushed and forgotten by now!

1988 Chevrolet C1500 Silverado 5.0 305 c.i. from North America


A dependable, long lasting, powerful and inexpensive investment


A hose from the cooling system has busted twice in 2 months while I was city driving.

The transmission has went out twice in one year, 700R4 type, but an upgrade kit is available for this transmission and I can really tell the difference when it shifts and everything, a must have.

Because of the lightweight rear-end and power, the truck has poor handling on sharp turns.

General Comments:

The performance and power I receive from my 305 c.i. engine is amazing.

The throttle body injectors are great, I believe that the throttle body was the greatest thing that ever happened to Chevrolet!

While turning, passengers bodies tend to move or shift with the turn which is sort of uncomfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th December, 2003

20th Dec 2003, 17:01

Thank you for your entry. my Suburban 1500 is leaking coolant and will check the hoses.

1988 Chevrolet C1500 Chyenne 5.0L V8 from North America


One heck of a TOUGH TRUCK!!!


I first had to replace the stock starter at 125,000 miles.

Replace throttle body gaskets.

EGR filter and pump.

In-tank fuel pump.

Fuel tank.

Power steering pump the core fell a part.

Short in the fuse panel.

Air smog pump.

Exhaust system catalytic converter shot and muffler blow out due to catalytic converter.

Pit arm and ball joints.

Cloth seat seriously fell apart.

Distributor cap and rotor.

Clutch plate and pressure plate.

General Comments:

This truck is a good work horse.

Despite all of the repairs, but that's expected after 15 years of hard work and travel.

Keep in mind that this truck out lasted a 1993 Ford F150 which only lasted a week. And two other Chevy truck a 1990 Silver ado and a 1999 Sonoma.

The repairs were only three years recent, and listed in order.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th July, 2003