1988 Chevrolet Camaro Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1988 Chevrolet Camaro IROC-Z28 5.0 Small Block 8 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.0 Small Block 8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance51000 miles
Previous carDodge Durango

Summary:

A speed-freak's dream

Faults:

There have been small electrical problems (i.e - mirrors, seats).

Front brakes needed to be replaced around 50,000 miles.

New tires.

New paint.

General Comments:

Even during the new age of sport cars, people on the street still give it a stare.

The handling is very stable and has excellent acceleration.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2001

1988 Chevrolet Camaro Sport Coupe 5.0 L TBI from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.0 L TBI Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired145000 kilometres
Most recent distance251000 kilometres

Summary:

A hotrod in disguise

Faults:

A fixer upper kinda car.

Repaired transmission because it was not shifting properly.

Fuel filter needed to be changed.

Starter needed to be replaced.

Body in rough shape. (Canadian winters = bad things when no rust proofing is done for 2 years).

Replaced A/C motor and cooling fan motor after 2 years. Electric motors weren't brushless so they wear out.

A/C freon leak so no A/C anymore till I scrape up the cash to fix it. Besides, the weather has been pretty good for the last 2 years.

Differential replaced after 3 years to 3.23 ratio from 2.77 ratio. Only because I may have neutral dropped it once or twice.

At 220000 km, engine O-Rings started to fail, but not before it managed to take me to California and back.

Replaced engine at 240000 km.

Replaced alternator.

General Comments:

After finally getting it back up to shape, I now know what this car was like in its prime! It's so amazing to drive now, it has full compression finally and damn it handles great. Lots of power behind it. I just love this thing. Makes short work of Grand Am and Grand Prix cars.

The beauty of it, it's all stock, save for a different differential gear ratio. Now add in a performance manifold, forced air intake, cams & lifters and exhaust, and we're talking serious horsepower... toss in a supercharger and nitrous, and watch the car fly...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2001

29th Jun 2002, 12:00

Are those Pontiac Grand Ams and Grand Prixs? Beating those cars is nothing special. I'm sorry, but I can beat those cars with my stock 4 cylinder Chevy S-10.

30th Jan 2003, 18:33

I'd like to see you beat a Gran Prix with the 3800 series 2 with the supercharger on it. 260hp. Good luck buddy.

1988 Chevrolet Camaro IROC-Z 5.7 L from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.7 L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 kilometres
Most recent distance270000 kilometres

Summary:

Best bang for the buck

Faults:

I have rebuilt the transmission twice.

I replaced one cooling fan, there are two electric fans.

I have replaced the ball joints.

I have to play around with the passenger window switch sometimes to operate the window.

I have replaced the alternator twice and emission sensors like O2 sensor and throttle positioning sensor.

The front brakes go fairly quickly. They last about 40,000 km with vigorous driving.

General Comments:

For handling and power this car is amazing, and I drive it all year round, even in the Canadian Winters. Just make sure the tires have enough tread and you know how to drive rear-wheel in the winter.

It's comfortable if you're young and can get in and out of low cars, older people complain about getting in and out.

The 5.7 litre engine does not come with the manual transmission option so the brakes go quicker in such a heavy car.

Even with the weight, it's amazingly nimble like a lighter car.

Still turns heads today in 2001.

I've raced today's Mustangs, and Camaro equivalents, and even my friend's 2000 Porsche 911 Carrera 2 and I beat him (one cannot miss-shift with an automatic).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd April, 2001

1988 Chevrolet Camaro IROC-Z 5.0 EFI from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 5.0 EFI Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance180000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro Z-28

Summary:

Not practical at all, but a lot of fun

Faults:

The stock motor ran good up until 130000 miles then had to be replaced. The car went through several water pumps and other cooling system parts. When upgraded to a 180 degree thermostat and new high performance sending units, the car ran fantastic.

General Comments:

Good performance but handling leaves something to be desired. Terrible in any kind of foul weather, but that should be expected of a RWD V-8. In general a fun car to drive (weather permitting).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th July, 2000

10th Dec 2000, 18:43

I love this car and everything about it. The only thing I would complain about is the problems with the design of the eletrical system. I replaced the alternator and starter numerous times along with the battery. Other than that, it was the best car I have ever owned.

29th Apr 2001, 04:35

What do you mean any RWD V8? You just mean Chevy RWD V8.. Try a Crown Vic some time. Or anything with a traction lock differential. Weather has never been an issue with me.

30th Apr 2001, 02:47

GM alternators always have problems with their bearings (made in Mexico). Just be glad that it's not one of the new types in today's GM cars. My friend payed over $200 CAN for his '97 Bonneville and that's with the core trade in. I paid $80 CAN with the core trade in.

13th Jun 2001, 23:41

Made in Mexico is not a bad thing when you are talkin' cars.. That is one thing the Mexicans do well. I think the problem with the bearings is in the blueprint. My '79 T-bird was almost completely made in Mexico and it's the best car I have driven.. I used to like Chevys before I bought this car.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 13 reviews