2015 Chevrolet Camaro RS Convertible 3.6L V6 from North America

Summary:

Not bad, wouldn't buy another one

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong really except normal wear and tear items. Tires, brakes.

Has a coolant smell on start-up, but the coolant level never gets low.

Squeaky pulley, and vibrating heat shield sound, but nothing really that's a serious problem. Except for the common key gets stuck in the ignition issue, a $450+ fix.

General Comments:

Sharp but unrefined handling. Hugs corners like a roller coaster. Lots of get up and go, plenty of horsepower. Rides a little rough over bumps, maybe it's the 20 inch wheels and the fact that it's not a Lincoln Town Car.

Rattles and squeaks and cheap interior, but you don't notice any of that when the top is down. Looks super awesome when the top's down, get compliments everywhere I go. Love the big hipped look of the rear fenders. Personally I think the Gen5 looks better than the new Gen6. Gen6 looks softer, less defined, more rental-car'ish.

I generally like the car, I enjoy it and look forward to driving it every time. I am fortunate to live in a warm climate where I can leave the top down often.

My only real complaint is the depreciation. The value of the car drops faster than a 40lb dumbbell thrown into a lake.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th December, 2018

22nd Dec 2018, 21:37

Great review. 2015 was one of the better years according to carcomplaints.com. And for depreciation. A neighbor had a beautiful Mercedes Benz he tried to trade in on a newer one at the local Mercedes Benz dealership last month. Offered him only 2500.00 for it and told him they were being generous with him because he was a good customer. Buying cars nowadays isn't for the faint of heart.

22nd Dec 2018, 23:25

Considering the highest depreciation occurs in the first several years of a car's life, and this Camaro was 3 years old when you bought it, why are you complaining about depreciation? Seems like the rapid depreciation you complain about should have worked in your favor.

23rd Dec 2018, 04:23

Good review :)

Be advised: Convertibles (in essence) remove a very important part of body structure - the roof.

This means less structural rigidity, and hence more rattles/squeaks.

23rd Dec 2018, 16:54

The undercarriage is reinforced. There is typically a weight gain on convertibles. That’s significant with a sports car. I have owned 4 Corvettes and 2 Camaros. Where they were once less than a coupe long ago, it now costs more. If you are planning on tracking a sports car, a fixed roof is wise. Many pluses to convertibles though. Great visibility. Less confining. Nice to cruise on a nice day. Convertibles have a cooler look. Can be hot when the temperature is up outside. Tops have gotten better - easier to open and shut. Less rattles today as well. The inside of tops are finished nicer than older ones. Good luck.

2015 Chevrolet Camaro RS V6 from North America

Summary:

Not Impressed

Faults:

Key gets stuck in ignition.

Rough idle, but does not trigger any check engine light so it's considered "normal".

Shaking at high speed - 75 MPH and above. Gets worse the faster you go. Chevy has a technical service bulletin for the problem with no known fix. Have replaced tires, had wheels road force balanced, inspected suspension, brakes, multiple times. 5 dealer visits, 1 visit to an independent mechanic, nobody can figure out how to fix it. Very frustrating.

General Comments:

Looks great. Get lots of compliments on it.

Has decent power and handles fairly well.

Cheap interior. Lots of hard plastics. Seats uncomfortable for long trips. Climate control buttons get stuck when you push them in. MyLink radio buttons on side of screen have no feel to them; they are completely flat and smooth so you can't tell if you have pushed a button, or easily prevent your finger from slipping and pushing the wrong one. Exterior temperature gauge is wildly inaccurate half the time (though that's not very critical).

Sounds like a lawn mower when you accelerate hard. Exhaust sounds good when you first start the car, but if you step on it hard while you're driving, it sounds like a Toyota Corolla.

Frustrating to have a sporty car you can't drive more than 75 on the highway, and that Chevrolet can't even fix their own cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st October, 2018

2nd Oct 2018, 01:52

Your review is a little scary. Because 2015 was one of the better years for the newer Chevy Camaro... 2010 being the worst. Carcomplaints.com does mention some of the problems you are having. I did in the past had a vehicle that shook at about 50-60mph. It turned out it was the driveshaft was bad and the car had been in an accident. Which might have caused the problem with the driveshaft. Got a brand new driveshaft, but the car still vibrated a little. But not as bad.

2015 Chevrolet Camaro RS Convertible 3.6 liter V6 from North America

Summary:

Fantastic, fun, good looking and well built modern day muscle car

Faults:

Key sometimes would get stuck in the ignition. Pushing on the little trigger on the gear shifter would free it, until I got it fixed.

General Comments:

Nice shiny paint has held up well.

Convertible top goes up and down smoothly.

Seats are very comfortable and adapt nicely to my body, though a little soft on the bottom which is noticeable on long trips, but then again I like really firm seats. If I had a seat made out of phone books I would probably think it was too soft.

Just a good looking car, especially with the top down. Driving it makes me smile all the time.

The V6 is OK; if I were to do it again, I would probably go for a V8, as it doesn't have as much power as I might have expected, though the car is not slow by any means.

Corners really well. Can turn sharply around a corner and the car stays flat. Confident handling. I have the RS package and the ride is nice and smooth despite 20 inch wheels and low profile tires.

Backup camera is very helpful, and the MyLink system is easy to use.

Interior looks good, nothing fancy, but it's alright. I wouldn't want it to be too elegant anyway since I leave the top down constantly.

Overall a fun car that seems well built and looks great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th April, 2018

18th Apr 2018, 09:37

"I like really firm seats. If I had a seat made out of phone books I would probably think it was too soft."

I could have written this comment myself. I have yet to find a car with firm enough seats for me. I tend to prefer seats in economy cars since they have less padding and are, in my opinion, firmer. Great review!