1974 Chevrolet Camaro Type LT from North America - Comments

9th Jan 2005, 17:44

Fortunately dollar wise Camaros after 73 model... just find another with ac... plentiful and still quite cheap to buy. Problem solved.

13th Jan 2005, 15:53

I suspect that this reviewer now has a Lexus or Acura, or something similar, and would have no interest in ever getting into another Camaro, even one with air conditioning!

6th Feb 2005, 13:24

Actually I own a Jeep Liberty Limited (for these New England

Winters) and a Volkswagen Cabriolet Classic (for the warm weather), so a vehicle like the Camaro no longer suits my needs. I need the cargo space and 4WD ability of the Jeep, and enjoy the top down fun of the Cabriolet.

25th Sep 2005, 20:18

I also had a 74 Camaro Z28, ordered it from the factory. It was a great car in that day and of course over time everyone's needs change. I had an excellent experience with my Camaro and to this day have enjoyed more Chevy or GMC products. Due to my needs several years after purchasing the Camaro, I sold it. I'm now looking to buy another 74 Camaro! I'd say "keep up the good work Chev/GMC!"

5th Sep 2006, 17:12

I am the original reviewer and I actually DID buy another GM product. So I guess it's true that you should never say never.

I now own a Saab 9-3 Convertible (replaced the old VW Cabriolet) and thus far, it's been a wonderful vehicle.

Mine is a 2003 model, so it is not really a GM design (well not as much as the newer Saabs), but I must say that the new 9-3 models appear to be very nice vehicles indeed.

GM seems to be making some interesting domestic models as well, but other than my trusty Jeep (now a Wrangler) for these cold New England winters, I still prefer the imports.

Anyone seen the Volkswagen Eos yet? Seems pretty nice!

25th Oct 2006, 14:52

In 1980 I bought a 1974 Camaro Type LT. In 1983 I trade the car in on a new Buick. I was only a kid and didn't realize what I had at the time and gas mileage and operating expenses seems to be more important than maintaining a piece history. Decades later I still wish I had that golden brown piece of history. If someone in Louisville, KY is still enjoying my link to the past I would love to hear from you.

In 1986 I bought a 1987 Camaro. It won't replace my 1974 but I give it the same LTLC that I had previously given the former speedster.

GM has promised to resurrect the quick paces beauty in 2009. I have a spot reserved in my drive way.

9th Dec 2006, 17:34

If GM makes a Camaro in 2009, it will be a pale imitation of that 70's Classic we all fondly remember. It will be overcomplicated with all that computerised gear. The engine will be so complex, anything that goes wrong will cost a fortune to put right. If you crash, the crumple zones will indeed do their job, but your beloved Camaro will be an economic write-off. Todays cars are not built to be repaired economically. Go to any body-shop and your jaw will drop at the cost of body panels, lights, trim etc. Old cars were built to be fixed by their owners, serviced by their owners, and easily modified by their owners. The old Camaros like any 70's muscle car was a real drivers car. Yes they sometimes handled badly, didn't stop very well, or like going fast round tight bends, but they were sure dam fun to drive. Nothing beats the sound of that old style V8 burble! Marts.

21st Apr 2008, 21:54

Is there any chance the person who wrote this once lived in Chesapeake bay, VA and sold your car to a man in Virginia Beach? If you match that description, I own your car now and I would love to talk to you about it.

17th Jul 2008, 15:35

My first car was a 74 Camaro LT. After I took of the air pollution device and tuned the carburetter, it ran fine.

Paul.

9th Jan 2009, 12:55

Me and my uncle are restoring a 74 Camaro he bought off eBay from North Dakota. It is in great shape, we got it running in just two hours. After we got it running, we drove it to get some lunch, then we did some burnouts in the parking lot and on some back roads. Needs some TLC, but when we get it restored it will be a very nice car.

23rd Apr 2011, 21:36

Anyone who does not love Chevy and GM, has no idea what a strong reliable car really is, and if you wouldn't buy a Camaro of any year, you're out of your mind.

Love my 69... but even my 03 Malibu 3.1 V6 with only an intake on it is still a hands down better driver than any import or domestic in the same price class. I eat V6 Mustangs, noisy Civics and Integras and the like for lunch, then poop them out my exhaust.

My Malibu had 4 blown struts, 2 blown bearings, and a final drive that was on its way out, and when I hit a huge dip at 90 and was airborne over 6 lanes, I landed, swiveled a tiny bit, straightened out, and kept on going, never have taken my foot off the gas.. Find me a basically stock tuner that will do the same, and I'll eat my tires and say GM sux, but it will never happen, so I'm not worried about being proven wrong. Any real Chevy fan knows exactly what I'm talking about, and agrees a thousand percent.

24th Apr 2011, 21:28

I sold my 74 Corvette Convertible with rare 4 speed combination, 3400 made out of 37000 that year, and I bought a new Corvette. So I found a new GM that I like. 74 was an interesting year; last year of no cats and true dual exhaust. A slightly different 74, but a great investment GM if you find one like mine; it shot up in value.

11th May 2012, 16:43

Original reviewer again - Well it's back to a Jeep Liberty Limited (and a Chrysler Sebring Convertible) for me.

My wife however does own a GM vehicle now; a Saab 9-7x, which is a badge engineered Trailblazer/Envoy - Saab engineers did a good job with the suspension and the dash, giving it at least a bit of a Saab flavor (right down to the peeling logos on the hood and hatch).

Me, I'm happy with my Jeep & Chrysler, and still don't see anything from GM that interests me (especially with the demise of Saab).

Surprisingly (even to myself) I actually enjoy the Sebring Convertible over my former Saab 9-3 Convertible, and price wise there is no comparison. The Sebring stickers at about 2/3rds of the Saab's MSRP.

Add another comment

Note: A Comments RSS Feed is available. New comments appear in the Members Area before the main site