1984 Chevrolet Caprice Station Wagon 5.0 liter (h) from North America


Too good to get rid of


Normal upkeep, shocks, brakes, replacing items worn such as hoses, rebuild transmission, starter etc.

Replaced one head gasket, otherwise motor untouched.

General Comments:

The car still looks good, was mostly garaged, now it's what I drive to work everyday. Reliable, good for hauling anything from garden supplies, lumber or washing machines.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd August, 2006

1984 Chevrolet Caprice 2 door landau 5.7L, 350 cid diesel from North America


Affordable luxury


I rear ended an impala, but that is the only thing that has gone wrong since I got it.

General Comments:

The caprice floats on a cloud, and has great mileage for a 22 year old diesel. I love this car, and she will never again see snow (and the infamous Minnesota salt) ever again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th February, 2006

1984 Chevrolet Caprice Classic 5.0 Litre from North America


Excellent car, well worth the investment


Inherited another minivan, cheap.

General Comments:

The 1984 Caprice Classic is turning out to be the "best" car I have ever known. I just picked it up last weekend (private sale). It wouldn't start due to the fact that it has been sitting for 6 months. Once I changed the spark plugs, cleaned and adjusted the carburator, it's been great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd November, 2005

22nd Nov 2005, 11:17

With all that driving you have been doing (145,000 km since last weekend) surprised you had time to write this review. Den.

1984 Chevrolet Caprice Classic Wagon 5.0L 305 from North America


Well worth the $700 I paid 3 years ago


Before I bought the car the engine was rebuilt at about 50,000 miles.

I just recently had to replace the brake lines on the front left side around the wheel well due to the fact they were just rotted away.

The interior doesn't have much wear and tear except for the headliner which has been sagging really badly.

Since I have owned it I also had to replace the windshield wiper motor and the alternator.

The gas tank also had to be replaced because it rusted out to the point where it was leaking.

The wood paint which is over top the dark red paint is beginning to peel off.

The paint on the car is also very very faded.

General Comments:

I call this car the tank cause it is so solid.

It took me awhile to get used to driving the car cause it was so big.

It also is good for towing I have towed my buddy's 30 ft fishing boat with it serveral times.

It is also a good family car due to the fact it can seat 9 people.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st November, 2005

1984 Chevrolet Caprice StationWagon 5.0 V8 (carburator+catalysator) from Finland


A very relaxing way to travel


Standing break needed some work to pass the tests. This is a common fault of Caprice Classics. The mechanism is just plain stupid, a worst case of American engineering.

Carburetor's automatic chose system is broken. (So called computerised carburetor.) VERY complicated carburetor, so I just disconnected it. Now it needs a few presses on the pedal to start.

Sometimes these have electrical problems, but this car has had none. Just lucky or good care?

Air conditioning has leaked its freons out. Typical problem with old units.

General Comments:

A VERY comfortable car to cruise around. You really cannot call it driving, you just glide (or cruise) around. The transmission is also very smooth, you hardly feel the changes.

Lots and lots of space in the car. Can easily seat 6 people (3 in front, 3 in middle) + 2 big dogs + some luggage at the back.

Engine has enough power, but you very rearly need to use it (if at all), as the car doesn't need to be driven aggressively. It smooths you to just relax, and enjoy the ride.

The car has surpricingly good fuel economy. (For it's weight and engine size!) You can do 11l/100km on the highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th September, 2005

7th Sep 2005, 17:37

I agree, I have a two door '87 and the ride is unbelievable. I think that is one of the best aspects of the car. Combine that with relative fuel economy/power ratio of the 305 along with how easy and cheap it is to get parts and it's one of the best cars out there.