1984 Chevrolet Caprice Reviews

1984 Chevrolet Caprice Classic Wagon 305 from North America

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission 305 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 kilometres
Most recent distance50000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

It's an awesome car

Faults:

The car need a wheel cylinder, front flex line, and an idler arm for safety, and in the last 2 years, I replaced a starter and brake switch.

General Comments:

The car is quick for the size of it and its motor displacement, and it can smoke the one tire off all day long.

The interior is mint; the kids love riding in the rumble seat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th March, 2013

19th Mar 2013, 15:35

Awesome is an understatement. These cars are the best!

Best ride comfort, reliability, and luxury for the price.

The 305 will last forever, even with poor maintenance. I have seen these reach over 400k without a rebuild.

Long live the box Chevy. These are increasing in value and becoming collectible, as it's one of the last GM full size, rear wheel drive V8 sedans.

I currently own a Crown Vic, which has all the same qualities, but I still prefer the Caprice for the boxy styling.

24th Mar 2013, 15:01

Couldn't agree more, these were the greatest cars. I had an '82, which was my favorite, and a couple of '84s, which were nice too, all with 305s. Many of the wagons had 307s, and I also had several Delta 88s with this motor - it will also go into the hundreds of thousands of miles without any problems.

1984 Chevrolet Caprice Station Wagon 5.0 liter (h) from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1984
Engine and transmission 5.0 liter (h) Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance202000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Chevelle

Summary:

Too good to get rid of

Faults:

Normal upkeep, shocks, brakes, replacing items worn such as hoses, rebuild transmission, starter etc.

Replaced one head gasket, otherwise motor untouched.

General Comments:

The car still looks good, was mostly garaged, now it's what I drive to work everyday. Reliable, good for hauling anything from garden supplies, lumber or washing machines.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd August, 2006

1984 Chevrolet Caprice 2 door landau 5.7L, 350 cid diesel from North America

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1984
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 5.7L, 350 cid diesel Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 miles
Most recent distance127000 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

Affordable luxury

Faults:

I rear ended an impala, but that is the only thing that has gone wrong since I got it.

General Comments:

The caprice floats on a cloud, and has great mileage for a 22 year old diesel. I love this car, and she will never again see snow (and the infamous Minnesota salt) ever again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th February, 2006

1984 Chevrolet Caprice Classic 5.0 Litre from North America

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.0 Litre Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired128733 kilometres
Most recent distance274000 kilometres
Previous carFord Aerostar

Summary:

Excellent car, well worth the investment

Faults:

Inherited another minivan, cheap.

General Comments:

The 1984 Caprice Classic is turning out to be the "best" car I have ever known. I just picked it up last weekend (private sale). It wouldn't start due to the fact that it has been sitting for 6 months. Once I changed the spark plugs, cleaned and adjusted the carburator, it's been great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd November, 2005

22nd Nov 2005, 11:17

With all that driving you have been doing (145,000 km since last weekend) surprised you had time to write this review. Den.

1984 Chevrolet Caprice Classic Wagon 5.0L 305 from North America

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.0L 305 Automatic
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

Well worth the $700 I paid 3 years ago

Faults:

Before I bought the car the engine was rebuilt at about 50,000 miles.

I just recently had to replace the brake lines on the front left side around the wheel well due to the fact they were just rotted away.

The interior doesn't have much wear and tear except for the headliner which has been sagging really badly.

Since I have owned it I also had to replace the windshield wiper motor and the alternator.

The gas tank also had to be replaced because it rusted out to the point where it was leaking.

The wood paint which is over top the dark red paint is beginning to peel off.

The paint on the car is also very very faded.

General Comments:

I call this car the tank cause it is so solid.

It took me awhile to get used to driving the car cause it was so big.

It also is good for towing I have towed my buddy's 30 ft fishing boat with it serveral times.

It is also a good family car due to the fact it can seat 9 people.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st November, 2005

1984 Chevrolet Caprice StationWagon 5.0 V8 (carburator+catalysator) from Finland

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.0 V8 (carburator+catalysator) Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Passat

Summary:

A very relaxing way to travel

Faults:

Standing break needed some work to pass the tests. This is a common fault of Caprice Classics. The mechanism is just plain stupid, a worst case of American engineering.

Carburetor's automatic chose system is broken. (So called computerised carburetor.) VERY complicated carburetor, so I just disconnected it. Now it needs a few presses on the pedal to start.

Sometimes these have electrical problems, but this car has had none. Just lucky or good care?

Air conditioning has leaked its freons out. Typical problem with old units.

General Comments:

A VERY comfortable car to cruise around. You really cannot call it driving, you just glide (or cruise) around. The transmission is also very smooth, you hardly feel the changes.

Lots and lots of space in the car. Can easily seat 6 people (3 in front, 3 in middle) + 2 big dogs + some luggage at the back.

Engine has enough power, but you very rearly need to use it (if at all), as the car doesn't need to be driven aggressively. It smooths you to just relax, and enjoy the ride.

The car has surpricingly good fuel economy. (For it's weight and engine size!) You can do 11l/100km on the highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th September, 2005

7th Sep 2005, 17:37

I agree, I have a two door '87 and the ride is unbelievable. I think that is one of the best aspects of the car. Combine that with relative fuel economy/power ratio of the 305 along with how easy and cheap it is to get parts and it's one of the best cars out there.

Average review marks: 8.4 / 10, based on 13 reviews