1986 Chevrolet Caprice Reviews - Page 3 of 5

1986 Chevrolet Caprice Classic Brougham V8 302 from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V8 302 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired82500 miles
Most recent distance98961 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Best car I've ever owned, comfort and reliability are the main reasons

Faults:

The car had sat for almost 4 years when I purchased it.

I replaced the battery and put some gas in, and was able to fire it right up!

We replaced the radiator and water pump.

I had to put a new carb on it, the old one sat for too long.

We replaced the distributor and put in new wires.

I've had the few quirks you run into with an older car, but it starts and runs smooth everyday.

The exterior needs painted, and it needs a new vinyl top and door weatherstripping.

Soon will be completing an engine overhaul, since the valve covers are leaking.

General Comments:

The interior has been kept immaculate by the previous owner.

The mileage was very low, I couldn't pass up the price and I really needed a car.

Once I sat in the drivers seat I was in heaven, it is so comfortable.

I have had people knock on my front door at home asking if I want to sell it, I keep saying no.

I only wish it got better gas mileage, but you take the good with the bad, and keep your travels short!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th September, 2005

14th Jun 2011, 17:22

Your car does not have a 302. The 302 is a Ford engine.

Your car's engine is a 305 Chevy small block.

1986 Chevrolet Caprice Brougham Classic Chevy 5.0 from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Chevy 5.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance74000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

The Shoe Box Chevy Of The 80's

Faults:

The alternator failed at 50000 miles. Also had to replace the starter, water pump, and air pump.

General Comments:

I love the styling. there is nothing even close to it today.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th October, 2004

1986 Chevrolet Caprice Classic V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance200000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

Best car ever

Faults:

Power window replaced 175,000.

A/C repaired at 150,000.

Hood latch stuck 65,000.

General Comments:

This is the greatest car ever built. My family has owned it for 14 years out of it 18 year life.

It uses oil very efficiently (never have to add oil between changes).

Very comfortable.

I have won many a street race with this car. It doesn't look like it should be fast, but it flies like a bird.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd July, 2004

1986 Chevrolet Caprice Classic 305 cu. in. V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 305 cu. in. V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired127480 miles
Most recent distance138240 miles

Summary:

The Chevrolet Caprice is an animal!

Faults:

I needed to replace the valve cover gaskets last summer.

The trunk has a small leak.

The passenger side door is from a different Caprice. I installed it after I hit a tree last spring.

General Comments:

I've been behind the wheel of a lot of cars, but the Caprice that I've owned for the last year takes the cake.

It has power and speed for it's age and size you wouldn't believe.

The limited slip, rear wheel drive handles like a dream.

Did I mention that this car is indestructible? I'm 18 years old and beat the crap out of my car and it takes it like a champ. Last spring, I hit a tree going about 45 mph and all it did was dent the fender and rip the mirror of the side of the door. It's crazy!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th June, 2004

18th Jun 2004, 07:12

Yes, they could have used this slogan: "Drive like a doofus? Buy a Caprice!"

19th Jul 2005, 21:48

Take care of that thing, don't bash it up!

17th Nov 2005, 21:47

Yo dude take care of that classic. you don't know how lucky you are to own one.

1986 Chevrolet Caprice Classic 5.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.0L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 kilometres
Most recent distance140000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Aspen

Summary:

Powerful, and comfortable

Faults:

-Replaced distributor several years ago.

-Stolen... had to replace entire steering column.

-Minor surface rust on rear fender.

-Vinyl top has minor cracks.

-Clicking coming from valve lifter... still have to replace.

-Minor engine knock when climbing hills, even without cheap gas.

-Water leak in trunk.

General Comments:

This car has been good to me. There have been a few problems, but those are expected anytime you drive a car. In the past year or so a valve lifter has started to make some noise, and a few pencil eraser sized surface rust spots have appeared on the rear fender. This car looked beautiful until some neighborhood kids took their key to my hood. However other than two 3 inch lines on the hood this car is great. The interior has held up beautifully, and she still drives like a dream.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th April, 2004

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 19 reviews