1990 Chevrolet Cavalier Z-24 3.1L MPFI V6 from North America


This is an underestimated sleeper vehicle


Mainly regular service items such as tires, brakes, battery, alternator, shocks, springs, and struts had to be replaced. I have also had to replace the catalytic converter, valve cover gasket, and air conditioning evaporator and drier.

General Comments:

This vehicle has proven to be worth much more than I paid for it 13 years ago. I have never had a problem with any major parts of the car. It still runs as if it was new and I plan to drive it into the ground-however long that takes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2003

3rd Oct 2003, 22:44

Wow. You are my brother, I love my Cavalier it can keep up with 5.0L Mustangs and it is a 4 Cylinder

29th Aug 2005, 14:45

1. It can't keep up with 5.0 liter Mustangs... I had both and the Mustangs are much faster!

2. It has a V-6 in it!!

I had a '90 Z-24 and it was the most reliable car I have ever owned. I had no problems what so ever with it and I drove it hard trying to beat my cousins 5.0 liter Mustang every chance I got. I had already had a Mustang 5.0 before this car and I had another one right after it so I know from much experience that the Z-24 will NOT beat the Mustang (even with a 2.73 axle in it). It is a fun car though and I really enjoyed it. mine was a 5-speed as well so it was as fast as it could be... Keep dreaming though!!

1990 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24 3.1 Multi-Port F1 from North America


I would sell my girlfriend to buy another


While racing, my air injection line blew out of the entry valve (causing me to lose the race!).

General Comments:

Amazing performance once you change the exhaust.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd February, 2003

1990 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24 3.1L V6 mpfi from North America


It is the best sport compact car GM made


My Fuel pump just went, it was the original pump.

The brakes don't last very long, when driving hard.

General Comments:

This car is fast for the cost.

Reliability is this cars strong point.

It's not made for more than 2 people to fit comfortably.

It's a very good street race car if you run imports, not many can beat it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2003

1990 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24 3.1 from North America


Bye Bye Honda


New engine at 250000km, but can't blame it we raced regularly with it.Driver's seat minor wear.

General Comments:

All around under estimated car, will have no trouble wasting most any car in it's class and can't beat the price and stock features are far beyond any Honda. Goes like a bat out of hell!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd January, 2003

1990 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24 3.1 V6 from North America


A semi-expensive, high performance car


Needed a new clutch, brakes, tires, and shocks when I bought it.

Has gone through another set of brakes.

At around 155,000 a spark plug blew out of it. Replaced the plugs, wires, and seals.

Replaced the muffler at 160,000.

The exhaust pipe broke in half at 175,000.

Front passegner seat is broken and stuck forward.

The sun roof leaks occasionally.

Several brake lines have had to be changed.

Starter went at about 170,000.

Has needed 2 new batteries.

Power windows do not work. Needs new wires.

Power locks barely work.

Other minor things.

General Comments:

The car has an immense amount of power, probably too much for a car its size. Can take most cars off the line.

It is OK with gas mileage, if you do not drive it hard, otherwise it is pretty bad.

It handles pretty well, but would be a lot better if it was lowered with wider rims.

It is great for 2 people to rid in, but uncomfortable for more.

The car overall is good, but could be great if it had a lot of add-ons.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th December, 2002

1990 Chevrolet Cavalier Base Wagon 2.2 inline four cylinder from North America


Great car, cheap, reliable, and well built


Replaced Flywheel at 125,000 miles. Due to loose starter, my fault.

Replaced fuse links on fan and headlights.

Replaced exhaust converter at 177,000.

Transmission solenoid at 197,000.

Two starters replaced, new one has lifetime warranty.

Valve cover gasket 177,000.

Heater core, Crankshaft position sensor, and other misc, parts replaced at 199,000.

General Comments:

This car drives, and handles great.

Other than routine maintenance, brakes, shocks, plugs etc, i have not spent very much on this car at all.

After all these years of being faithful, i would love to have another just like it.

Still gets over 35 miles per gallon, with air conditioning on.

Heater/defrost works very fast, always has.

Dash is still perfect, but time for headliner.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th December, 2002

17th Mar 2007, 02:33

Yes, I also have a 1990 cavalier wagon. kids at my school voted it " ugliest car in the parking lot". I don't care because it is reliable and cheap.