1998 Chevrolet Cavalier Reviews - Page 10 of 10

1998 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24 2.4 liter 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.4 liter 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 kilometres
Most recent distance85000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

A high performance bargain

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

It's good on gas. it out performs stock 5 liter mustangs and kills honda's with numerous mods.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th November, 2002

31st May 2004, 02:45

Are you serious when you say that a z-24 will beat a mustang GT???

You must mean one of those crappy V6 mustangs, or you must have some extensive modifications.

I also have a modified Z and it is quick, but we're comparing a grocery-getter to a muscle car. You are way off.

23rd May 2006, 21:46

So how many V6 powered Camaros and Firebirds have beaten your Mustang GT?

10th Aug 2006, 23:57

"Actually I bet the cavalier can outperform a mustang"

There is no doubt that a z24 caviler could outperform a v6 mustang, just about anything can, but to say that it could beat a v8 is just nonsense. Yes the ol z-24 got some pretty decent power (test drove one and was fairly impressed) for the money, but there by no means a high performance super vehicle.

1998 Chevrolet Cavalier RS 2.2L from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2L Manual
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Want to pay $1800 for a fuel pump?

Faults:

Whatever you do, whatever you read or hear or see, this includes other Cavaliers riding down the road (and around me there are A lot of Saturns and Crapoliers), DO NOT BUY ONE! TRUST ME ON THIS! Want to pay $1800 for a new fuel pump that failed miserably at 60,000 miles? Buy a Crapolier. Want a car that will fail whenever rain falls or air pressure changes? Buy a Crapolier. GM.. your days are numbered. If you're want to go with GM..you're gonna have GM problems. The behavior of this car company is almost treasonous against the American Public!

The Dealers are a bunch of Grifters who will say WHATEVER it takes to separate you from your money, then they will throw you aside like yesterday's newspaper and move on to their next mark... a sucker walking into the dealership. Just go buy a Honda and be done with it.

General Comments:

This car is seriously troubled as well as most GM Cars and Trucks. GM is the worst example of what American Unions and overpaid no brain Executives are up to at the wheel. Total Disaster.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th October, 2002

5th Jun 2003, 16:52

Just think about what you said!!!...honda...HAHAHA.

29th Dec 2003, 20:53

I think that your comments are totally out of line and you should give specific examples of your troubles other than your "$1800 fuel pump". I think that you've become so blinded by having to pay money to repair something that is so costly, but so important. I've worked at an Acura dealership and people who comment or make comments like "Crapolier" don't want to do any extra work for people like you. I don't hate imports, I actually like them, but please stick to the car that you are giving your epinion on. Thank you.

1998 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired82000 kilometres
Most recent distance108000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Corsica

Summary:

A fantastic car that rides well and is very fun to drive

Faults:

There is water on the inside of the rear window. I cannot find the source and the dealer figures the rear window seal is gone. The seal is not covered under warranty and the dealer does not think this is an issue. They told me to just replace the rear window. Nice, eh?

General Comments:

I really like the way the car rides and handles. The Z24 package gives it enough HP to be fun and the manual transmission makes all of the difference.

It still has the original brakes all the way around! I know this because I bought the car from my friend, who bought it new.

Maintaining a regular maintenance schedule (critical with any vehicle) and keeping everything clean and lubricated will make this car last a long time.

It is good to know that the car will last longer than the loan payments.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th January, 2002

1998 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24 2.4L DOHC 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.4L DOHC 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 kilometres
Most recent distance56000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Excellent first car

Faults:

Front headlight bulbs blew.

Crack on the interior of the driver's side door.

Dashboard won't stop making 'creaking' sounds.

General Comments:

I love my Z24! The money paid is well worth all the looks from hot girls driving Sunfires! Also, it is reasonably quick, and looks great. Nothing major has gone wrong with my Z24 and it handles Canadian winters very nicely - hasn't failed to start on me yet.

An excellent first car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th October, 2001

1st Nov 2001, 04:15

Good ride and handling, bought 2 at the same time, performance is OK.. gas miles are good... overall.. love em, no problems so far, about 4000 miles on each... sports package looks good on the road... base model for my son... a lot of car for the buck.

18th Feb 2011, 11:36

I have a Cavalier and I love it. You can do so many add ons for little money.

18th Feb 2011, 17:54

The Cavalier was a poor effort by GM to compete with far better compacts like the Civic, and Corolla. GM lost money on every one they sold. The Cavalier/Sunfire helped them go bankrupt.

1998 Chevrolet Cavalier RS 2.2L gas from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2L gas Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired500 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Beretta

Summary:

A great small car!

Faults:

No problems from this car whatsoever!

General Comments:

It has started and run reliably from the beginning.

It isn't the most powerful car, but is very comfortable, handles well, and is very reliable!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th September, 2001

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 41 reviews