2002 Chevrolet Cavalier Reviews - Page 7 of 11

2002 Chevrolet Cavalier Coupe from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired73000 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles

Summary:

All in all, this is a great car at a great price

Faults:

When I bought it there was a collection of water in the trunk where the spare is kept.

Only a few weeks into owning the car the "Check Engine" light came on. When I brought it into the dealership they tried to charge me almost triple the real price to fix the problem. Ended up only paying 50 bucks because it wasn't even thirty days off the lot.

The brakes have started to squeal off and on, but not terrible.

The road-noise is pretty loud, but again, nothing terrible.

CD player crapped out a month ago. I had to buy another one.

The AC is great, but the switch is starting to go, and it will only work when it is on the third or fourth.

The axle squeaks when I am in reverse.

General Comments:

It drives extremely well, gets great gas mileage, and I have a great warranty.

It scratches easily, but you can avoid scratches by just being careful.

The seats are amazingly comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th July, 2005

2002 Chevrolet Cavalier LS Sport Coupe 2.2 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance32200 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

Worst car I have ever owned!!!

Faults:

That is a huge list:

Lets see... leased car Jan 2002. May 2002-Feb 2004 the car has been in the GM shops a total of 28 times for the exact same reasons. Car will die while driving for no reason. The car has cause me 2 wrecks, and GM feels were all my fault. The check engine light comes on at least once a month for "evaporation " reason, yet no one seems to know how to fix that. Air Bag light will come on for no reason while driving down the road (cause of 1 wreck, airbag went off and I couldn't see.) Huge water leak in the drivers side floor board. Fixed once, but back again. CD player will not play a CD when I hit the back button. Last weekend the car overheated while it was only 30 degrees outside. Back seat doesn't stay mounted on the brackets and constantly flies forward when stopping. And the paint job is cheap. I have scratches, chips and dings when I rarely drive the car and it is parked in a garage 75% of the time. Gas mileage has dropped to about 19 mpg when the sticker says 28-33. Over all a mess of a car.

General Comments:

Engine...when it runs properly is nice for its size. Heating and cooling are fairly nice. Hate how the window will get this glaze over it after you run you're A/C. Can't seem to ever get it cleaned. The larger wheels on the LS Sport are great. Makes the car handle very well. I also like the appearance of the vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd November, 2004

2nd Feb 2005, 18:47

It really baffles me that you are having so many problems. I take you at your word that your review is accurate. I have an '03 which has been nothing, but an absolute pleasure. I am not sure whether the '02s have the 8 valve pushrod engine or the ECOTEC engine, but either way, the car is built on a tried and true platform, which has been very solid throughout the years. Good luck.

2002 Chevrolet Cavalier from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired22 miles
Most recent distance23000 miles
Previous carToyota Cavalier

Summary:

This car has been a huge disappointment

Faults:

The dashboard cracked and had to be replaced after one year.

The glove compartment would open on its own.

Paint on top of car faded on two small sections.

When it rained water would leak inside the car onto the backseat, leaving half the seat wet. Water also goes into the trunk leaving a bad musty smell.

Paint on inside door handle faded during first month of purchase.

The inside part where you adjust the side mirror lets in water.

The dashboard is making a noise.

Brakes already had to fixed.

General Comments:

This car was purchased brand new. It was to be a gift from my dad to my daughter. Due to the things that have started to go wrong with this car in under three years. I will not allow my daughter to drive her car to college. I'm afraid of what else will start to go wrong.

This car is not very comfortable on out of town trips.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th October, 2004

15th May 2005, 16:46

Before anyone says it, the Toyota Cavalier does indeed exist. Toyota and Chevy had a deal in the past, with the little 80s Nova. Also, Toyota just sold Gen-1 Prius technology to Ford.

9th Jun 2005, 18:18

But the Toyota Cavalier was only sold in Japan.

12th Jul 2005, 14:06

I bought a 2004 Cavalier in August.

This car is not even a year old & the paint is chipping horribly. I'm driving back to the dealership today. This should be covered under warranty, but it's probably not.

Horrible choice I made in buying this car. For a few thousand more I could have had something decent.

27th Oct 2008, 15:46

I bought my 2004 Chevy Cavalier new, and it's only 4 years old, and for the past year, every 3 months I go in for an oil change, and something else is wrong with it. I have put close to $2000 in it this past year.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 38 reviews