2004 Chevrolet Cavalier Reviews

2004 Chevrolet Cavalier from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance180000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

Great

Faults:

Rotors at 5000kms; resurfaced by dealer.

That's it.

General Comments:

Bought this car new, and now 8 years later, still haven't put a cent in it.

Not for big and tall men.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th June, 2012

2004 Chevrolet Cavalier from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance219987 miles

Summary:

Great little car for the money

Faults:

Normal wear and tear items; brakes, tires etc.

Power window motor at 175k.

Alternator at 219k.

Power window switch today. 219987.

General Comments:

The car is cheap to own and operate.

Interior is still in very good shape.

Changed oil approx every 3-4k. Getting 35 mpg plus.

Been a great car. Nothing fancy, but good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th June, 2011

2004 Chevrolet Cavalier from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.0 / 10
Distance when acquired7000 miles
Most recent distance57000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

A real piece of junk

Faults:

Electronic instruments failed.

Speedometer.

Tachometer.

Temperature gauge.

Rear view mirror fell off.

A.B.S. non functional.

Rattles.

General Comments:

Poor design overall.

Support posts obscure the view through the windshield.

Windshield glass distorts the view.

Handles like it was on marbles.

Seats are uncomfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th December, 2010

14th Dec 2010, 12:21

Your instruments all failed because they are probably all on the same fuse. Did you check that yet?

Also, most of your complaints about sight and comfort should have been observed way back when you test drove the car and not years later.

2004 Chevrolet Cavalier from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired76000 miles
Most recent distance90450 miles
Previous carNissan Pickup

Summary:

This is a great car, just hard to trust in it because it's cheap

Faults:

The alignment is off, and it needs a shim to fully align the rear passenger side.

There is a tapping in the engine. It's most likely a valve that needs to be replaced or tightened.

The power steering pump is also making some funky noises, so that will need to be replaced shortly.

It will most likely need to have new brakes shortly.

Other than that, it's been a wonderful car.

General Comments:

The car is a wonderful vehicle. It handles really well on the road and it's a safe vehicle. I just feel skeptical about the reliability of the car because it is so cheap. I would have rather gone with a Japanese made car, but the Cavalier is a great car all around. If you take care of it, it will take care of you.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th December, 2009

21st Jan 2010, 14:01

I am the one who placed this on here. We just found out that the ticking in the engine is actually not a valve, but a pulley on the serpentine belt. This is only a minor problem.

2004 Chevrolet Cavalier LS Sport Sedan 2.2 Ecotec 4 Cylinder from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.2 Ecotec 4 Cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles

Summary:

Good value for the money, reliable, and sporty

Faults:

Cooling fan was not functioning when purchased, wasn't aware of this fact until on a hot day the temperature gauge was reading rather warm, and we noticed the air conditioning cut out at red lights and then would turn itself back on after pulling away, apparently a fail-safe mechanism that comes into play when the cooling fan relay fails. Replaced the part for like $10, however it does worry me that when this occurred there were no dash lights that came on.

Fog lights don't work.

Tops of the rear seats are noticeably sun-worn. I guess the previous owner parked it in the sun a lot. It's just a cosmetic issue.

General Comments:

Well, when my uncle brought home this car to be added to the family fleet, I got excited. It was the only car we've ever owned that was less than 10 years old when we bought it. My uncle paid $5,000 for it earlier this year at a local dealership. At 102,000 miles you'd never know it... it looks, sounds, and runs like a brand new car. It's very sporty looking on the outside, and is pretty nicely equipped with power windows, locks, air conditioning, CD player, chrome wheels, remote locks/trunk.

The 2.2 liter Ecotec engine is a great engine. It is very quick and at the same time very fuel efficient. The car is roomy despite the vehicle's small size.

The stock sound system is pretty good. The interior is rather dated, however. This car has the same interior (almost identical) to when it was redesigned in 1995. The only things that have changed since then are the gauge cluster, gear shift, steering wheel, and the radio.

The vehicle so far has been very easy to work on, though we haven't had to do much. We changed the oil for ourselves when the change was due, and after having trouble finding the drain plug, it was very very easy, especially because the oil filter is easily accessible next to the power steering box on the top of the engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th August, 2009

5th Aug 2010, 09:04

I'm having the same issue with the cooling fan. Did you have to replace the entire engine cooling fan motor, a sensor, or just the relay? Thanks.

12th Aug 2010, 11:00

Just the cooling fan relay.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 15 reviews