2004 Chevrolet Cavalier Reviews - Page 2 of 4

2004 Chevrolet Cavalier LS 2.2 ecotech from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.2 ecotech Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired72670 miles
Most recent distance73056 miles
Previous carSaturn SC

Summary:

Great car

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with it yet. I just bought the car, and I'm planning on using this website to help keep track of my repairs and maintenance. I will do my best at documenting all my repairs and maintenance on my car, and posting comments about them, so that in the future when someone is looking to buy an 04 Cavalier, they will have at least one good source.

General Comments:

So far the car is great. Everything seems to be in perfect or near perfect condition.

Its radio and speakers are very good for being stock.

The only down side is manual everything... I only wanted a manual transmission, but having manual windows and locks isn't that much of a problem. Just something to get used to.

I've only filled up my tank twice so far. I got 30 mpg on one tank and 25 mpg on the other. That's not amazing, but it's not bad considering that this is the coldest week of a Michigan winter, and that I have been testing out its performance a little bit.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2009

2004 Chevrolet Cavalier Coupe 2.2L from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.2L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles
Previous carChevrolet C10

Summary:

Good transporter

Faults:

Passenger door not aligned, closed poorly, dealer fixed.

Temp needle goes all the way around, stays at low now.

Speedometer needle is higher than my speed every now and then.

Stuck at a high rev at stoplight a few times a year. Need to pump the gas to return to normal.

Seats suddenly click back into another position, wearing out now.

Seat back too curved, use pillow.

Check engine light stays on. Remove negative from battery for five minutes, resets it. Auto Zone says it's an air leak somewhere.

General Comments:

Basic car, no frills. Haven't problems others have had.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th June, 2008

17th Apr 2009, 12:23

When you ask for advice, don't go to Autozone, they don't know anything, ask a real mechanic or tech and they will give you a good advice.

I have a 2004 Cavalier, it has 120k miles and I haven't had a problem since I got it because I take care of it.

2004 Chevrolet Cavalier 2.2 ecotec from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.2 ecotec Don't Know
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance72000 kilometres

Summary:

Beware because my 04 Cavalier was a DEFECT because the garage told me that. LEMON LEMON LEMON

Faults:

I bought this car new in 2004, and it was terrible; all it did was break down. I oil changed it and kept it up right and the dealer said that the car was a defect, and I kept the car until 2006, which was one year before the warranty expired. I sold it at 72,000km...

Chev's are good cars, but beware when it comes to the 2004 Chev Cavalier... I traded it on a 2006 Chev Cobalt, but I traded that in 2007 on a 2007 Chev Avalanche...

If you want a good truck, go for the 07 Avalanche; I've had it for a year and put 50,000 km on it.

General Comments:

Beware, because my 04 Cavalier was a DEFECT, because the garage told me that... if you want a good car, go for the 2007 Chevrolet Avalanche, it is awesome.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st June, 2008

30th Oct 2008, 19:52

Sounds like you bought a lemon. My father-in-law bought a 2004 Cavalier brand new... now has 147000 miles and has never had any breakdowns or have had any problems with it.

23rd Nov 2013, 12:05

The whole car was a defect? WTF?

25th Nov 2013, 11:41

An Avalanche? Who would be looking at a Cav, then turn around and get an Avalanche instead? About as far apart as you can find in vehicles.

2004 Chevrolet Cavalier Base 2.2L Ecotec from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.2L Ecotec Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired77000 miles
Most recent distance84000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Neon

Summary:

I love it, I love it, I love it!! :)

Faults:

To be completely honest I have not had a single problem with this car, nor did my aunt when she bought it new. the only expenses I have had are routine maintenance such as:

Replacing brakes and rotors.

Regular oil/filter/air filter changes, etc.

And obviously... gasoline!

General Comments:

I love this car!!! It has so much more power than my last car (1995 Neon) and is much more comfortable. The only thing I have done to the car, other than those listed above, is installing satellite radio.

The car accelerates well, and drives like a dream while on cruise control on busy interstates.

Handling is good, and the braking is more than sufficient.

The ride is rather comfortable for a compact car, and the interior (although I think it could have used some updating from previous models) is attractive and very simple.

And the exterior is gorgeous!! Well, especially with a rear spoiler (for some reason I think Cavaliers look naked without one). The spoiler also makes the four door sedan look just as sporty as the coupes.

I just love this car!!

Plus, why buy foreign when you can buy a very reliable American-made car?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th November, 2007

29th Nov 2007, 14:53

I have a base 2006 Cobalt LS since June 2006 and I feel the same way - it's a good riding, reliable car that's fun to drive. I've had NO problems with it yet. Maybe the cars without all the extra stuff are more reliable because there are no accessories to place an extra load on the electrical system and drivetrain?

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 15 reviews