2005 Chevrolet Cavalier Reviews

2005 Chevrolet Cavalier LX 2.2 ecotec from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.2 ecotec Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired52000 kilometres
Most recent distance169000 kilometres

Summary:

Cheap reliable car that will treat you well

Faults:

Nothing.

The cigarette lighter popped out one time and I had to shove it back in.

General Comments:

Awesome car. Super cheap, good on gas, reliable and to be honest, somewhat fun to drive. I even tow a trailer with two dirtbikes on it with this thing.

Is it a cheap disposable car? Oh yeah, the best of them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2010

2005 Chevrolet Cavalier 2.2 liter from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.2 liter Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Most recent distance12 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Chevette

Summary:

Fabulous

Faults:

Nothing -- I get in and go.

General Comments:

It is powerful enough -- good on gas -- amazingly good on gas -- and reliable 100%.

It is what I bought it for -- transit from A to B.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st March, 2009

2005 Chevrolet Cavalier Base 2.2L Ecotec 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.2L Ecotec 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired22 kilometres
Most recent distance41000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet C10

Summary:

Decent, but small daily driver

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I bought this car brand new in 2005. When I bought it, it only had 22 kilometers on it. Now it has about 41,000.

This car makes for a decent daily driver. Unfortunately it is base model. I have replaced the deck though.

It has the 140HP, 2.2L Ecotec engine coupled with the Getrag 5 speed manual transmission. It is not a very powerful engine, but is good enough for most people. This car tops out at 172 Kilometers, but the speedometer goes up to 220 KM. On the USA version though, it only goes up to 180 Kilometers which makes more sense.

I would recommend this car to someone who is looking for a daily driver that is good on gas, but is not over 5'10". I get between 27 to 37 MPG depending on how much city driving I do. If you are over 6 feet it is a real chore to get in and out of, especially the back seats on the 2-door model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th November, 2006

2005 Chevrolet Cavalier LS 2.2 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance8500 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

Great car for the money I paid

Faults:

No problems so far.

The A/C compressor is a bit noisy - will see what develops there.

General Comments:

I needed a reliable car for everyday transportation at a good price. Although this car had a sticker price of $17,500 (fully loaded with the power everything), it only cost me $8,500 after all of the rebates and incentives. That is only a little more than my 1987 S-10 cost new 18 years ago.

I am 6'4" and although the car is not big, I am comfortable driving over long distances. Car has averaged about 31 MPG, about 70% highway, and 50% A/C - just a little better than my old 1986 Cavalier.

I am not passionate about this car, it has a lot of cheap plastic, and does not really inspire me as a driver - but when I look at other new cars, nothing comes close for the money. Will I keep it forever? Probably not. It is doing a fine job of what I bought it for.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th August, 2005

22nd Aug 2006, 21:57

The big three are not the only ones doing deep discounting; I bought a brand new 2006 Honda Civic that stickered for $15,500 for $9000. After the myriad of problems I have had, I wished I would have bought a domestic vehicle and am currently looking to trade in my Honda on a Chevy Cobalt.

By the way, if you are a savvy negotiator, you can get any rice burner for 40%-50% below retail!

2005 Chevrolet Cavalier Base Coupe (SV1) 2.2 Ecotec from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2 Ecotec Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles

Summary:

Excellent value in a small American car

Faults:

No problems.

General Comments:

I got a great deal on this car. With tax and license it was approximately $9,000.

For the price, this car does everything well. It's not supposed to be a luxury car, it is economical and comfortable, with plenty of nice appointments for a low-priced car. I am over 6 ft tall, 220 lbs, and I fit in the drivers seat very well.

The handling is soft and there is much body roll in cornering. Overall the ride is smooth and pleasant up to 75 mph.

The 2.2 Ecotec engine is the finest 4 cyl engine I have owned. The power band is very broad - it will pull out from under 1000 rpm in any gear, even 5th. It is so flexible, it reminds me of driving a V8 (the car is very light weight without all the options).

The transmission is a smooth shifting 5-speed with very good manners.

And finally, it's good looking, American made (over 80% North American parts incl. the engine) and built very well by people who obviously take pride in their product.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th June, 2005

1st Apr 2007, 15:27

FYI final assembly is in Mexico, I guess they build em with pride. Not too much made in the good ol' usa anymore.

2nd Apr 2007, 08:02

No, only most Toyotas, Hyundais, Subarus, Hondas, and Nissans sold here.

Guess we know which cars to buy if you want to be patriotic and keep AMERICANS working.

2nd Apr 2007, 13:36

Part of the Cavalier's production was in Mexico, the remeinder of it was assembled at GM's Lordstown Complexe (Ohio). As a patriotic Canadian I do have to admit I'm quite exited that the next generation Camaro will be assembled in Oshawa Ontario. And it could be worst... at least GM did'nt assemble them in Korea like the Aveos and Optras.

27th Oct 2007, 22:17

Some of the foreign cars are assemble in the US, but the end profits go back over seas.

15th Jan 2008, 12:36

Maybe the corporate profit goes there, but big deal. GM and Ford will quickly send work overseas, so where is their loyalty?

Fact is, Toyota is being made here so Americans are getting paid HERE. I don't care which corporation gets the money, because I don't think that makes a lot of difference anymore. I want a Vibe, but then Canadian workers are getting the money. Nothing against Canadians, I like them, but that just sucks when people down here need jobs. So I might buy a Corolla instead of the Pontiac Vibe, just so American workers are getting paid.

What a strange world we live in.

2nd Feb 2008, 11:20

The Carfax report on my car lists the Cavalier as being made both in Mexico and the US. I checked the VIN before I bought it and mine is a US car.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 5 reviews