26th Aug 2003, 17:51

I love my 93 I am in the process of painting and restoring the interior.

21st Mar 2004, 20:27

The blue frown symbol comes depending on how many people rated the review "poor" if lots of people rated it poor, it turns to a blue frown. So the face of the review has NOTHING to do with how the reviewer liked/disliked the car. It is how the commenters liked/disliked the review. It turns out though, that most comments hate people with nothing good to say about a car. So most bad reviews get blue frowns because most people hate it when someone says "this car was junk, nothing worked, piece of GM crap etc..." so they rate the review "poor"

12th May 2005, 17:00

Actually, the blue face is related to the question: would you buy another product from this manufacturer? If you say yes, then the face is yellow, if you say I don't know, the face is white, and if you say no, there is a blue face. That's all! This is not related to either you love or don't the review!

Maxime Tremblay, Qu

20th Jul 2005, 08:42

Hey gang, I bought my teal 94 Cavalier Z24 convertible used in the summer of 96 with 22,000 miles on it. Don't think I have ever enjoyed a car so much... has great power and takeoff and I love that rumble sound coming from the exhaust. Once had a goofy problem that corrected itself somehow - the fuse that controls the power top, door locks, and horn kept blowing. I replaced it with many fuses and they kept blowing. Finally replaced that fuse with a circuit breaker fuse and the problem was eliminated!

Also, am on my third alternator... why do Cavaliers burn up alternators? Talked to 4 mechanics and they tell me Cavaliers and Sunbirds have alternators that run very hot, apparently underpowered or something for the car.

Am on my second top, current one is only 3 years old and I have developed on the side by the rear windows on both sides open "holes" about 2-3 inches wide where water comes in. Going back to the trim shop next week to see if they can restitch it. Rest of the top is fine. I use armor all spray on the top after I wash the vehicle and it shines like a diamond! This car is solid, rides good, but the cheap plastic door liners have a crack on the driver's side. Also the "snap" that holds pieces together will not stay clamped. Went to the oil change place by my house last week and technicians were going wow at the condition of my car. Said they rarely see any more 94 Z24 converts.

For the record, GM sold 225000 94 Cavaliers, only 1750 of which were Z24 convertibles. Obtained this info from GM.

Plan to hang onto this car forever, like my 66 Pontiac GTO!

Big Mike... Sterling Hts, Michigan.

16th Jul 2007, 20:44

I love my 1994 z-24 Convertible. Rides beautiful and has lots of power. I have 110,000 miles on it and the only thing I had go wrong is I have no power on top to go up or down. Hope it is only a fuse. Manual does not say where fuse is so I will have to play around unless anyone knows out there.


13th Oct 2007, 00:49

Hello I was wondering, how hard is it to replace the convertable top? I'm in need of this, and am curious.

26th Mar 2009, 13:00

Convertible cavaliers are great. I love mine!!! It's a 2000 Z24, fixed up, and drives fast.

19th Jul 2009, 17:25

I purchased my 94 Z24 ragtop in June of 09 with 133,000 miles on it. The paint was re-done as an auto shop project so while not perfect it still looks good. Needs new struts and shocks but beyond that the file folder of receipts that came with it showed that it had been attended to and it drives great.

The tops have always been a short wear item. My brother had a 93 RS that had the top replaced ($835.00 in 05). Average is about $900 give or take.

It still draws attention and after driving an S-10 with a 4.3 V6 (also a great driver while it lasted after a quarter million miles) the gas mileage is a welcome relief.

Sure you can find upper scale units for upper scale prices. For the money I paid for this it does GM credit. In spite of the german leaning auto press (have they ever found one they did not like - BMW X6 excepted) do not be afraid to pick one up.

I will confess that I sold GM products in the 80's for about 5 years. My children have purchased Honda's and German iron in spite of their raising.

Lesson - a good vehicle is not exclusive to any marque.

14th Oct 2009, 14:09

I have a 1994 z24 Cavalier and love it. I got it at 2003 with 88,000 miles on it and right now it has about 108,000 miles. I painted it black with tinted windows. Interior is little disappointing but I believe I can fix anything that is wrong with it. Some problems are the air condition is out, will cost a lot to replace, Engine started and is back firing (Got a new 3.1 engine) and the drivers side window is out, that will cost about 400 dollars to replace. But for me, I do like the car. It runs very nice, feels sporty, and love the fast acceleration.