1994 Chevrolet Cavalier from North America

General Comments:

IMPORTANT - Attention anyone who owns a 1990's Chevy Cavalier.

GM issues secret service bulletins for certain repairs that they will do and will cover all costs for. Many of the 1990 Cavaliers are covered for head gasket failures. I know that 1992, 93, 95, & 96's are, and 1994's are covered in Canada. Check it out at lemonaidcars.com under the secret warranties section. You could be in for a refund!

Plus, any owner of a Cavalier that wasn't covered under the specified years, please send a letter of complaint to GM. These service bulletins are based on the # of complaints received. Unfortunately, my car is a 1994. (I'm thinking about moving to Canada...) Seriously though, I am taking GM to the small claims court.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd January, 2001

15th Jan 2001, 21:33

I have a 1990 Chevrolet Cavalier 2 door coupe. I purchased it new and have not had any problems with it.

I've had brake pads and shoes put on twice.

I haven't had any oil leaks or valve gaskets to go bad or any headgaskets blow.

Also it is a 5 speed, and I haven't had any problems with the clutch or gears. And I have almost 140,000 miles and I'm gonna put 140,000 more on.

Greg from Georgia


1994 Chevrolet Cavalier RS 3.1 F.I. from North America


A good first car to get, without over 70,000 miles on it


Transmition shot.

Starter bad.

Convertible top going bad.

Stalls constantly.

Battery line bad.

Radiator leaks.

General Comments:

Don't ever buy this kind of car with this many miles or from a small used car sales place.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th December, 2000

30th Dec 2000, 23:49

You are wrong! My 1994 Cavalier Convertible RS is in AWESOME condition and runs great even though it has 174,000 miles on it.

13th Jul 2001, 10:59

I have a 1994 Cavalier. I bought it used in Apr. 1996 and it already had 45,000 miles on it. Other than general maintenance I only had 2 problems and one of those was cured by a private mechanic. My car started stalling whenever I slowed down or came to a stop but I would eventually get it started again. Several Chevy mechanics were telling me things like torque converter, etc and would cost close to $300 to even start fixing. I went to a private mechanic and he fixed it within 30 seconds... has never stalled again and that was in 1998 he did that. He pulled a plug that is in front of the transmission. Says a lot of cars have them... kind of like a human having an appendix... its there but you don't need it for anything. The problem I haven't been able to fix is... I turn my headlights on but the dash lights and taillights won't come on until I've driven for awhile, or play with the turn signal or headlight switch or it comes on when it feels like it. Several mechanics says it may be a short in the wiring somewhere. I had turn signals, hazard lights and brake lights, just no tail lights when driving down the road. I love that car and I am still driving it. Most dependable car I've ever owned. One of these days, when it does come time to put it to rest... my heart will go with my "Cavy".

1994 Chevrolet Cavalier RS 2.2 from North America


Good, low-cost, low-maintenance vehicle


Needed a new battery, cup-holder broke, cigarette lighter broke, center console/armrest cracked, minor things.

General Comments:

This car has started everytime I turned the key, no major problems except that it is SMALL.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th August, 2000

1994 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24 Convertible 3.1 multi-port V6 from North America


A lot of fun for a low price


Routine maintenance items, but never had anything seriously go wrong with it.

General Comments:

This is what I would say to anybody buying one of these... don't ride with the top down when it's 60 degrees or you WILL get sick, get used to a little windburn and girls complaining about their hair, and get sunglasses to keep the wind from blowing dirt in your eyes. The engine runs very nicely, and the car is on the quick side. It won't run any faster than 110 MPH because it is redline limited. Engine thinks it's a V8, it emits a very low pitched hum at 1500 rpm which sounds impressive for a six cylinder. Mash the throttle, and the engine converts gas into noise at an alarming rate though, so be easy with the throttle or you'll be filling it up more than usual. Car is pretty light, so if you need to do a hard acceleration from a stand still for any reason, be conservative with the throttle or the front tires will spin furiously.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st May, 2000

11th Feb 2002, 18:51

You seemed to have liked the car. Why did you give it a blue frown symbol?

9th May 2002, 15:15

I purchased my Z-24 convertible with 11k miles in '96 and now have 85k. Besides regular maintenance I've only had to replace an alternator and a new white top. The car continues to have good pick up and the body still looks great. If I hit the lottery I'd still keep it.