1994 Chevrolet Cavalier Reviews - Page 3 of 11

1994 Chevrolet Cavalier RS 3.1 V6 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired49000 miles
Most recent distance243000 miles
Previous carNissan Pulsar

Summary:

This car is great!!!

Faults:

I had to have the head gasket replaced, but it was done cheaply without having to take everything apart at about 100K.

Had to replace the water pump around 75k.

Tie rods have broken many times over the 200k I've put on it.

General Comments:

I have loved this car for the last 10 years.

I bought it for 6K in 97 and have driven it almost trouble free for 10 years and still drive in 80 miles a day.

As long as you do normal maintenance on this care it will last for ever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th September, 2007

16th May 2013, 23:13

Broken rods? Many times? What kind of rods? Hopefully not the ones attached to the pistons?

Thanks, Joe.

18th May 2013, 15:45

How do you replace a head gasket without taking the engine apart?

1994 Chevrolet Cavalier euro 2.2 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance122000 miles

Summary:

I would buy the same car if it was in great shape

Faults:

Had to have my head gasket replaced about 3 years ago.

Runs hot.

And the fan kicks in even though it may be cold outside.

Had to have my whole exhaust system put in new about 2 years ago, and it still don't fit.

The air conditioning system hasn't worked for about 4 years.

Costs to much to replace an old one from 1994.

The bottom drivers side door has rusted out and I need a whole new door.

The front of the hood has holes in it and needs repaired.

Various rust throughout the body, by the tires especially.

Just had a new starter put in last year.

The ceiling inside the car has started to come down.

General Comments:

It's a good running car in general.

Not sure its worth all the money I've put into it.

Gets good gas mileage.

Handles well.

Great in snow.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 2007

1994 Chevrolet Cavalier RS 2.2 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired242000 kilometres
Most recent distance279000 kilometres
Previous carOldsmobile Delta 88

Summary:

For the money I've spent in repairs, this car has made it up to me, its worth every penny

Faults:

Exhaust broke, I had to replace the catalytic converter with a universal one. The cost to me was 157.00.

Did a tune-up, replaced the spark plugs and wires.

The interior is in ruff shape, all the seats are fading and the rug has wear holes in it.

Replaced the heater core at a cost of 150.00.

Replaced the brakes and rotors at a cost of 80.00.

The car rattles at idle, but I'm going to try replacing the motor mount.

Replaced ball joint for safety.

General Comments:

This car has been incredibly good to me considering I acquired it for free, from a friend.

Although, I have had to do some regular maintenance like brakes, oil changes, plugs and wires. But that comes with any vehicle.

I have beat the snot out of this car and it hasn't lost any of its power its like a Timex. "it takes a licken' and keeps on ticken'"

It runs a little on the hot side, but nothing to be to worried about.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th December, 2006

1994 Chevrolet Cavalier VL 2.2 Litre Inline 4 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2 Litre Inline 4 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired221000 kilometres
Most recent distance232000 kilometres
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

I like it and would purchase a Chevrolet again

Faults:

It has a burnt valve.

Bottoms of doors and rocker panels have rusted badly, but not all the way through.

Alternator, battery and timing chain and cover needed to be replaced.

General Comments:

Very comfortable interior.

Smooth ride.

The engine gets the car going pretty good for a 4 cylinder.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th March, 2005

1994 Chevrolet Cavalier 2.2L from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired102000 miles
Most recent distance128000 miles

Summary:

Truly a die hard and a great first car

Faults:

Head Gasket on the verge of blowing.

Leaks anti-freeze often especially after I put it in park.

Runs at high temperatures, but coolant levels seem to be fine.

Front end damage from rear ending a Porsche Boxster.

Sometimes, especially in the rain, but not always, when I turn the high beams on, the headlights will shut off completely. I have to turn them off and back on again for them to come back on.

Rattles at idle occasionally, but nothing major.

Serpentine belt has slipped off while driving due to anti-freeze leak somewhere.

General Comments:

The car is truly a die hard.

The handling is great and it runs well in the snow.

The seats are comfy and interior is roomy.

Good on gas mileage.

Great for my first car, started out inexpensive.

Maintenance isn't too much to keep up with, but it can get to be a problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2005

3rd Mar 2005, 19:32

9/10 for reliability? I'm sorry, but anything with the problems you described at the mileage you list does NOT deserve that kind of mark.

Merely not leaving one stranded at the side of the road is not an accomplishment in this day and age.

7th Mar 2005, 16:17

The car never left me stranded. No matter how bad the problem was, it always managed to get me home. Unfortunately, the car has moved on. I believe it is no longer drivable, but I may be wrong. I can never be to sure with this car. It is very unpredictable.

15th Aug 2006, 15:26

My dad gave me his 2.5 years ago at 180,000kms, and now it has 255,500kms. The head-gasket already had a slight external leak, and it rattled and shook like crazy at idle (still does), but runs good. The body is perfect. I had to change the radiator, fuel pump and misc. maintenance parts, but so far it's been pretty good. Although my wipers stopped working about 205,000kms and my signals stop flashing from time to time, but it runs awesome.

Just some advice; in the Summer months, use a 180 degree thermostat rather than OE 195 degree. It works MUCH better.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 42 reviews