1988 Chevrolet Celebrity Reviews - Page 7 of 7

1988 Chevrolet Celebrity 2.8L Multi-Port Fuel Injection from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.8L Multi-Port Fuel Injection Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired101000 kilometres
Most recent distance178000 kilometres

Summary:

A reliable, well-priced, and powerful car

Faults:

Just typical Canadian climate rusting such as the gas tank, fuel lines and body panels (Due to lack of undercoating).

The alternator went at about 130,000KM (The only time it broke down and wasn't driveable).

A fuel injector port was replaced at about 135,000KM.

The computer was replaced at about 150,000KM.

General Comments:

This car has been very reliable. It will drive over 700 kilometers in one day without any problem.

The car has a lot of power for a V6 and is still quite peppy even after 14 years.

All it all, I am very satisfied with this car and will definitely buy another Chevrolet. I plan to keep it running for as long as I can. The way this car is going now, it will be over 20 years old before it is no longer worth repairing. Definitely a good buy!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st April, 2002

1988 Chevrolet Celebrity Eurosport 2.8 mpfi from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.8 mpfi Automatic
Distance when acquired118000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Celebrity

Summary:

This is a dependable car

Faults:

I purchased it in a car auction. First month I owned it I had to replaced the computer.

A year and a half later I replaced the belt tensioner.

Headliner falling.

Driver seat rocks.

It's a VR model Eurosport.

General Comments:

This car runs excellent and accelerates well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2002

1988 Chevrolet Celebrity Eurosport 2.8 MPFI from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.8 MPFI Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired93550 miles
Most recent distance103400 miles
Previous carChevrolet Celebrity

Summary:

A great car for the price.. holds its value well

Faults:

Nothing too bad has gone wrong, the oil light sensor stays on when plugged in, but had it checked and it is a faulty sensor.

Minor oil leakage, and the transmisson is a little choppy at times, but I would think that's almost normal for a car that is 14 years old.

My driver's seat has a broken bolt, so it kind of rocks a bit...

Power windows are slowish going up...

General Comments:

This car is a very reliable and nice looking car for its age, I have owned one other Celebrity before this one and it was great until the rack and pinion went out, and caused my steering column to break.

The cabin is very spacious and roomy, can fit 5 people comfortably.

Has all right gas mileage, though I think it could be better...

As always with regular maintenance, this car will practically run forever...

I do the oil changes myself, so I know that engine is in as good lubrication as I can get it myself...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2001

1988 Chevrolet Celebrity Eurosport 2.8 multi-port V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.8 multi-port V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired83000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carFord F100

Summary:

A great little car

Faults:

Water pump and alternator at about 84,000 miles.

Muffler replaced at 86,000 miles.

Paint looks terrible.

Replaced the brakes around the same time as the muffler.

The gas tank has recently started to leak.

Just replaced the spark plug wires.

General Comments:

I absolutely love this car.

Despite the repairs done to it, it has been awesome.

I've done what I can about the paint, and it actually doesn't look half bad.

The leaky gas tank is no big deal, as long as I don't top it off. My mechanic says as of now it's nothing to worry about.

Anyway, it's not the cars fault. It spent most of its life near the ocean, and the sea air can be rough on cars.

I love her though, and I'm going to keep her going until she won't go anymore.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2001

1988 Chevrolet Celebrity 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 kilometres
Most recent distance162000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

7 months without a penny spent on it

Faults:

Nearly blew the head gasket, thank god it was just a few sensors that went.

Replaced the noisy rusted-out muffler, hardly a repair, more like negligence on the previous owner's part.

Fixed engine valve cover leak.

A number of flat tires.

Driver's side mirror is pointing down, and completely non-operational.

General Comments:

I had to purchase a very inexpensive car last fall, never thought I'd drive another American car. This was a very unwanted purchase.

First month of ownership went smooth. I had to do a bit of maintenance, new tires, muffler and a little cosmetic work.

A month after that all hell broke loose. I nearly blew a head gasket, got home just as the car died, and engine almost started on fire.

Mechanic fixed all (couple of sensors went) relatively cheap for me. Soon after that my new tires started going flat left and right. Car sprung an oil leak (fixed by replacing a valve cover), and I had some starter problems due to faulty ignition wiring.

And then after a month long struggle to keep it moving from one mechanic shop to another, it all stopped. I have had no problems since December 2000. It is now almost August 2001. I have not spent a penny on the car, other than oil changes and refuelling. I hope it stays that way.

The car is as plain as they come, power steering and brakes. That's all as far as standard equipment. The bench seat is not very practical (hard to adjust), but fairly comfortable.

Performance is adequate, despite only 4 cylinders. Ride is smooth and well balanced, although uninspiring and boring.

Instrument panel looks like it came from the early 70's, and is horribly lit at night.

Engine is very noisy, but well muffled inside the cabin. Transmission works excellent, smooth during acceleration, a bit choppy when the car comes to a stop.

To summarize: This is a very boring car, with a long list of shortfalls, poorly built (compared to all the Japanese cars I've had), but as long as it stays as reliable as it has been in last seven months I simply don't care.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2001

7th Jan 2002, 16:42

Normal wear and tear does not constitute a poorly built car, just keep that in mind.

25th Jul 2002, 19:55

The reason you find this car so boring is because it is the bottom line model. Not many Japanese baseline '88 cars are very exciting either, hence all the mods made to them. I have the top line '88 eurosport with the 2.8l v6 with power everything, AC, and 4 speed tranny. It is extremely quiet inside and out, and all the problems you seem to of had were due to owner negligence. With the right options and engine this car is extremely smooth and enjoyable, plus it is common enough to find cheap parts for while rare enough to feel different while having.

1988 Chevrolet Celebrity Sedan 2.5L 4-cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5L 4-cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

Awesome car, and it's usually cheap

Faults:

Nothing major:

The temperature light would come on after it rained out, but couldn't find anything wrong with it, and it eventually stopped.

The windshield washer fluid container leaks.

The ceiling covering is caving in.

General Comments:

I absolutely love this car. It's actually the 3rd Celebrity my family owned. I learned how to drive in a Celebrity and eventually inherited the last Celebrity. I'm a Chevy girl at heart.

This isn't a "little" car, and it's only a 4-cylinder, I'm surprised at the pick-up it has. It drives awesome, and it's comfortable to drive. It's pretty good on gas too, 16gal tank, usually filling it up every 1.5-2 weeks and I commute to work.

Considering they haven't made any Celebrities in over 10 years, they are still tons of them on the road. They last a long time if you take proper care. And best of all they're cheap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th June, 2001

26th Jun 2005, 18:37

I have a 1987 Chevy Celebrity, 4 door sedan with a 4 cylinder in it. Only major problem I've had with it is a high idle problem since I've had the car. Only thing left for me to change out to try to get it under control is the throttle body. It's an awesome car other than that, I love it.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 26 reviews