2009 Chevrolet Cobalt Reviews - Page 3 of 4

2009 Chevrolet Cobalt XFE from North America

Year of manufacture2009
First year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance13000 miles

Summary:

Good car for the money and it's American made!

Faults:

Nothing at all.

General Comments:

I was looking for an equivalent replacement for my 1999 Saturn. This car is comparable to that.

So far the car has operated flawlessly. I like the 5-speed transmission. After having had automatic transmissions for the past 15+ years, I find it to be fun and gives the car more zip.

I think that the low resistance tires are a bit slick on wet roads and will probably switch to regular tires when it comes time to replace them.

After I put about 3000 miles on the car my highway mpg has settled in at about 40 mpg. My combined mileage hovers around 35 mpg.

This is the first car I've owned with the oil life indicator. It's nice to have and the oil lasts for 10,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2009

2nd Oct 2009, 15:56

I have the 2008 version of your car. I agree, the tires are awful and I can't wait to replace them with ones that grip the road better. My average MPG over the life of the car is 29.3, with a near even mix of city and highway. The A/C is FLAWLESS and no mechanical problems out of the car in 15 months of ownership.

2009 Chevrolet Cobalt XFE 2.2 from North America

Model year2009
Year of manufacture2009
First year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance6000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Tracker

Summary:

Mpg (US) 37.4 Hwy, 25.7 city

Faults:

One flat tire after about 3 weeks (sheet metal screw).

At 5600 miles, the key tumbler wouldn't turn (fixed by dealer).

Could use better seats and an arm rest. I'm looking for one at the wreckers.

General Comments:

Great car for the $

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2009

11th Aug 2009, 00:42

I'm currently getting 45 MPG in my 2008 Honda Civic. Try getting your Cobalt to do that.

11th Aug 2009, 10:48

The down side is that... it's a Honda Civic.

11th Aug 2009, 18:12

Agreed. That'll never touch the quality, reliability & economy of the Civic. I don't own a Cobalt, but I know enough to stay away from 1 in the first place.

2009 Chevrolet Cobalt XFE 2.2 DOHC 4 from North America

Year of manufacture2009
First year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.2 DOHC 4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance6000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Excellent car; we are very satisfied with it

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Our 2009 Cobalt is a distinct improvement over our 1996 Chevrolet Cavalier, which did quite well for us.

The Cobalt steers better on the highway and the 5 speed transmission shifts very smoothly.

The fuel mileage is excellent. If we drive with a little care we can easily get over 35 mpg with a mix of about half city and half highway driving.

The car rides very well and has no rattles when going over bumps. The car has a light feeling personality, which I like, and is very handy around the city even though it has a manual transmission. It feels like it is a high quality car.

The electric power steering, a fuel saving measure, works very well so that you don't know that it is electric.

The gas tank at about 12 gallons is a little small; 16 gallons would be better.

The low rolling resistance Continental Contact AS tires, also a fuel saving measure, were a little slippery on a wet road when the car had about 1000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 2009

19th Sep 2009, 20:46

"It feels like it is a high quality car."

"feels like" are the keywords there...

20th Sep 2009, 15:23

The Continental tires are pretty bad. I can't wait to replace them with a good set of Hankooks.

20th Sep 2009, 18:38

"The Continental tires are pretty bad. I can't wait to replace them with a good set of Hankooks."

The tires are not what I was referring to. The Chevy Cobalt is not a particularly good vehicle. They have "cut-corners" production written all over them. Whenever Chevy builds an entry level car (or any car or truck) they cut corners on engineering something wicked. I'm really not a Chevy fan at all as you can tell. LOL. But the Cobalt especially has many known faults. Trim pieces falling off (Chevy trademark by the way) and things more serious like airbags not deploying when they should.

10th Sep 2013, 00:32

Trim pieces have not fallen off of our Cobalt, now at around 50k miles. Have not crashed, can't comment on that.

10th Sep 2013, 00:34

Can you be more direct to clarify your view?

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 12 reviews