2009 Chevrolet Cobalt Reviews - Page 4 of 4

2009 Chevrolet Cobalt LT 2.2 ECOTEC from North America

Model year2009
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.2 ECOTEC Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired16 kilometres

Summary:

Cheaper, but not so bad

Faults:

Gas consumption is too high!

General Comments:

I had a 2009 new Cobalt LT. After running 700 kilometers, found that gas consumption is so high, 13.5 L/100km in local driving, even in its break-in period. It is like driving a full size sedan, isn't it?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th April, 2009

2009 Chevrolet Cobalt SS 2.0L turbo from North America

Model year2009
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.0L turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired19 kilometres
Most recent distance2800 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

Fast as heck, as quiet as a paper bag

Faults:

1) Rattles/noises - passenger door, glove box, sunroof, rear deck, above gauge pod.

2) Squeaky suspension in cold weather... it's ridiculously squeaky and sounds like it's riding on 20 year old suspension.

General Comments:

So far this car has proved to be problem free (has not broken down, has always started, even at -30*C). The car has a fairly comfortable ride considering the suspension setup. The performance is great for a front drive car, the handling is phenomenal for a front drive car as well, especially considering the torsion beam rear end. The seats are well supported, comfortable and very sporty. The clutch and transmission feels great.

Now for the bad:

This car is just not refined; maybe I'm expecting too much for a sport tuned econobox. The suspension is so noisy in cold weather it's embarrassing to drive. The interior has rattles galore, and different ones that show up at different temperatures. The engine feels rather rough at idle considering the technology in 4 cylinder engines today. The clutch and transmission like to clunk when shifting from first to second, and second to third, unless you're really gentle and slow on your shifts.

All in all, I will not call this a horrible car. I wanted a fast car for cheap, and that's what I got. As far as performance goes, this car rocks for the price paid, but as far as overall refinement goes, it's only at par with typical domestic small cars, which is not good.

If you're looking for a fast car for very little coin, this is the way to go. If you're as picky as I am, you will very quickly hate the car overall, as I did. Too bad the car is likely worth 5k+ less than what I paid already, 2 months later, otherwise I'd trade it for something else.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th February, 2009

18th Jan 2010, 23:52

I have a Cobalt and have had it since 08. It is the same turbocharged. I also had a 2007 Cobalt LT2 loaded. The rattling noises will go away I promise. I thought they would never go away, but after a while they did. Both of the cars made rattling noises, so I think it's just normal.

28th Jul 2010, 16:12

From gmsportcompact.net:

I have a 2009 SS, and I have not experienced any of these problems at all... this is my second 'balt (previous 06 SS/SC), and I'm not getting any of the problems you speak of. Just a tune puts this car at about 300WHP... gotta love it :)

29th Jul 2010, 18:12

I test drove a Cobalt SS/SC two years ago, and found it to be an absolutely awesome car. I've noted that it has beat out some very impressive competition (costing twice as much) in several comparo tests. I think these cars are the best bang for the buck car ever made, and that's coming from a Mustang owner!!

2009 Chevrolet Cobalt SS 2.0L turbo from North America

Model year2009
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.0L turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired17 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cobalt

Summary:

Amazing vehicle for the price paid

Faults:

So far the only thing that has gone wrong with this car was the trunk release.

General Comments:

This car is an amazing vehicle. People who say it is just another Cavalier need to actually take it for a drive. I have the SS model, which was well worth the extra money. The car has great power, handling, and comfort all at the same time.

Gas mileage for a 260hp car is amazing, personally I get 20mpg around town, but I am slightly heavy on the foot and love the sound of the turbo and blow off valve. On the highway I get 30 on the dot.

I learned that with this car it's really not about Miles Per Gallon... But SMILES PER GALLON.

The seats are extremely comfortable and you get a nice smooth ride. Wind noise can be a bit bothersome sometimes.

The Pioneer audio system puts out like no other. Creating crystal clear highs and adds amazing bass. I replaced my factory radio with a Pioneer head unit and the system got 100 times better.

The clutch and transmission are very tight and close giving you a very sporty feel. Punch the throttle to the floor and this car is gone!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th February, 2009

2009 Chevrolet Cobalt LS 2.2 liter from North America

Model year2009
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.2 liter Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance102 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Great economy car

Faults:

None; test drove only.

General Comments:

Peppy for an economy car, and interior is nice for a low level econobox. Seats were comfy, with plenty of room (I am 6'5"). I drove the manual XFE; shifts were smooth and throws were short. Sometimes the shifter had to be put into gear with extra force, although this might have been because it is a new car. Road noise was hardly noticed, as the car is well insulated. Overall, the test drive went well. The next day I tested out a Focus, which was nice, but I prefer the Cobalt.

It comes with an odd array of features: LS has A/C, XM radio, CD/MP3, Onstar, iPod hook up. Then they leave off ABS (kind of important), no power windows and locks (pretty common in all cars nowadays).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2008

20th Dec 2008, 09:34

Your shifter will settle in nicely after a month or two. I had the same issue with mine and now it shifts like butter after 6 months.

27th Aug 2009, 21:51

You can get power windows and power door locks on a Cobalt, so to state this as a negative is not valid.

Also, we have owned cars with and without antilock brakes. Either way is fine with me. I don't consider the lack of them to be a problem, and no antilock brakes makes brake fluid bleeding maintenance simpler.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 12 reviews