2005 Chevrolet Colorado Reviews - Page 4 of 4

2005 Chevrolet Colorado LS Vortec 3.5 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Vortec 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired418 miles
Most recent distance43000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

This truck is completely useless if you plan on taking it off of the pavement

Faults:

At roughly 25,000 miles I started getting engine misfires on cylindar 3 which took three visits to the local dealer to get resolved (not for sure if it is fixed yet.)

The CD player rejects disks (both burned and store bought) numerous times before it will accept them.

The starter is now acting up at 43000 miles.

The gas mileage was roughly 17-18 per tank average when the sticker showed 23. Incidentally the best I have obtained with this truck is 21.

General Comments:

The Chevy Colorado would probably be a great truck if you drive highway only. If you are planning on using this truck for any form of off road applications, I would search elsewhere or just go with the half ton Silverado. The Colorado has a braking system that locks up when dirt gets in the pads.

After a three hour trip in this truck you will more than likely experience back pain since the seat is so uncomfortable. (I am 6'2, so it might be more suitable for a shorter individual.)

I have only owned Chevrolet products since I was 18 and have not had any problems in the past with any of my half ton trucks. This Colorado is by far the biggest waste of money that I have encountered. For roughly three thousand more I could of had a nice 1/2 ton Silverado and am still kicking myself for thinking that the Colorado is the way to go.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2006

9th Jul 2006, 01:59

I totally hear you! I have had nothing but back pain with my truck. I don't like the seating and the vehicle itself seem to be uncomfortable. That's why I'd rather go with a Mercedes.

10th Jan 2007, 15:04

I can somewhat agree with you. I had a 91 S-10 foe ever. I bought It used with 87,000 in 97'. Never a damn thing wrong with it. I bought a K-1500 Silverado in 2002, took me a few years to get rid of my S-10. Drove it sometimes. Sold it to a Mexican with 170,000 on it. It was more reliable than my K-1500.

Since the Colorado replaced the S-10 I haven't been able to accept it as a respectible replacement. With my S-10 I got 16 to 19 MPG with that, The Colarado that's 15 some years newer isn't getting that great of gas mileage. Bring back the S-10.

5th Feb 2008, 21:19

I have a Chevy Colorado and have (engine light on) showing code for random cyl misfire. I have no clue what the problem is and it does not help that the shop came right out and said that they don't know what the problem is either. They said that hey will just have to start replacing things until problem is resolved...

Does this invoke confidence...NO!!!

Wondering if in original post you found the solution?

Looking for any suggestions.

Aside from this engine light, I do like the truck. Decent gas mileage, and enough power for on and off road.

16th May 2011, 11:14

I bought my Colorado new for my 65th birthday in March 2005. I've got 80400 miles and have only had one problem with it. That was an engine light, which would come and go over a 2 year period. Every time I would think about taking it in for a check out of the light, it would go out. I was noticing the engine idle seeming to get slower, and rougher, so at 75000 miles I put in new spark plugs. Well, the engine light went off, the idle smoothed out, and my mileage is now up to 80400.

It is a 4x4 four door cab with the off road package, and I don't understand anyone wanting more off road traction. The 4low position gives never less than 3 wheels pulling, and I can't imagine anything better.

I know some of you probably are doing some rock crawling or something, but short of that, I'm very happy. Same battery, brakes and every other part it came with. Original water in the radiator, but had to replace the tires at 78000.

2005 Chevrolet Colorado Z85 In-line 5 cylinder from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission In-line 5 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired70 miles
Most recent distance1050 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunbird

Summary:

The best mid sized truck to have

Faults:

Nothing yet that I can find except the engine block heater cord is very hard to find a way out of the engine to the outside of the truck.

The engine has a hard time staying in cruise control when winds are over 30mph.

General Comments:

This is the best 4x4 truck that I have had in years it gets great gas mileage as I drive an average of 100 miles a day to and from home to work.

I average 19 to 21 mpg and this is great for a truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th November, 2005

10th Jan 2007, 14:54

Not really, I get between 18 and 22 on the highway with my K-1500 Silverado with a 350 V8.

2nd Mar 2007, 10:55

Ya of course you are going to get that.. ON THE HIGHWAY, the reviewer means combined, the colorado is a great truck!

Average review marks: 5.6 / 10, based on 12 reviews