2005 Chevrolet Colorado Reviews - Page 2 of 4

2005 Chevrolet Colorado 4 Cylinder from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 4 Cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired14000 miles
Most recent distance22300 miles
Previous carHyundai Elantra

Summary:

There's a sucker born every minute, this time it was me

Faults:

Where to begin? This truck is constantly in the shop.

Head gasket at just over 15000 miles.

5 factory stereos.

3 weather strips on the passenger door.

2 radio antennas.

2 accessory power outlets.

Interior fan switch.

Head light dimmer.

Ignition security system.

Front end alignment.

Window seals leak.

Door locks constantly jam.

The above list is only includes the items that have been fixed in the last year since I bought this overpriced waste of money.

General Comments:

Useless junk. I have never been so incredibly disappointed in any vehicle I have ever driven, and I have the distinct dissatisfaction of knowing that I have to make a payment on this thing every month.

I'm trading this money pit tomorrow when I pick up my new car. Just to give you an idea, I'm taking a $5500 loss on trade and that's less money than I have put into it since the warranty expired in April. 6 months, almost $6000 on top of the payments and gas.

This was my first, and last Chevrolet product. I can't even rely on it starting when I get into it to drive it, because the security system on the ignition keeps shorting out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th October, 2008

9th Mar 2009, 01:50

I'd say this is a lemon. To have that much trouble from a new car isn't normal even for known junkers. They make laws for protection from this sort of luck. Plus you really shouldn't pass on such a problem. Lawyer up under the lemon law and you should get your money back. Also I must say it's a little off putting that you have a new car with no warranty. I not convinced.

1st May 2009, 23:15

This smells like a salvage car to me. Just guessing from all the electrical problems I'd guess water damage or a flood victim. Make sure you weren't hosed by the seller who sold you a salvage title.

22nd Aug 2009, 20:33

"I'd say this is a lemon."

No, it's just typical GM junk. After years of seeing domestics fail with as little as 30,000 miles sometimes, you'd think domestic owners would start to let go of the belief that America makes good vehicles.

23rd Aug 2009, 11:09

Yes, with all of the electrical problems, I would also say that this sounds like a flood vehicle. Some idiot drove it into a flooded underpass thinking they could make it, and trashed it. I think it was trashed when you got it, since it isn't that common for people to get rid of a vehicle that is only a couple of years old. They usually wait until their lease is up, or payments are done at 3-5 years. If you thought the dealer gave you an incredibly good deal --- too good to be true --- it was probably fished out of a swamp after Hurricane Katrina.

2nd Aug 2010, 04:54

I disagree, I owned a 2003 Chevy Venture and it had electrical problems from day 1, and I bought the wretched thing new. I was stuck with it for 7 years, and I can't even begin to list all the electrical parts that were replaced. Don't even think you are going to have headlights or brake lights; I burned those like it was going out of style along with the bulb sockets. I wanted to drive the thing into a bridge from day 1.

2005 Chevrolet Colorado Extended Cab 4 Cylinder from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 4 Cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired15010 miles
Most recent distance17424 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Useless junk and a complete waste of money

Faults:

At just over 15,000 miles the head gasket needed to be replaced.

The weather stripping has been replaced twice on the passenger door in the last 3 months.

Radio antenna has fallen off and been replaced twice.

Truck is on it's 3rd factory stereo (and a new one is being put in this week)

Driver's side door on the extended cab has been re-aligned because it wouldn't close properly.

Brakes had to be replaced because they were never adjusted properly before the original sale.

General Comments:

The Colorado is a very comfortable truck and handles well. The performance isn't great, but it's not bad either. The gas mileage is pretty good for a truck, about 15-17 mpg city driving.

Everything else about this truck is terrible. I've had it 3 months and driven it just over 2,000 miles. During that time I've had all the problems listed above, and more. The worst part is the dealer I bought it from. They have been horrible to deal with, including replacing parts under warranty that were not the correct parts. Chevy has been absolutely no help. I can't even begin to describe what a money pit this truck is already and how useless Chevrolet has been in trying to get it fixed under the factory warranty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd February, 2008

26th Mar 2010, 13:52

I agree with the ratings on this truck. I just reached 87,000 miles and have had so many problems with it. The headers had to be replaced. Both windows had the motor out and had to be replaced. Honestly, it just isn't a good truck at all. I will never buy a Chevy again!!

Average review marks: 5.6 / 10, based on 12 reviews