2005 Chevrolet Colorado Reviews - Page 3 of 4

2005 Chevrolet Colorado Crewcab LS 2.8 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.8 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance24000 miles
Previous carSaturn SW

Summary:

I'm looking at Toyota

Faults:

Box was mounted off to one side when delivered.

Severe rattle behind back seats.

Water leak in cab.

Broken key-less entry key fob.

4 times in for cruise and door locks and window electrical problems.

9 days at dealer to rebuild transmission. (Stick!)

Bow-tie emblem on grille de-laminated.

O2 sensor.

Emergency brakes stuck on.

General Comments:

I've been waiting for a small crew cab for years. I don't need four wheel drive or a V6 engine. I thought the Colorado was perfect.

This was my seventh new GM vehicle. The quality problems with this truck and treatment by GM have cured my desire to ever buy another GM product.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th July, 2007

7th Jul 2007, 18:09

I would highly recommend the Toyota Tacoma. I've been down the same road you're on with a Chevy Blazer, Ford Ranger, and Jeep Grand Cherokee. I spent lots of time in the dealer for rattles, squeaks, failing transmission, AC units, and overall poor quality. I'm on my second Toyota, and the only time I've been to the dealer is for routine maintenance.

My 2005 Tacoma has 78K miles on it, and drives as good as the day I took it home with 12 miles on it. No rattles or quality issues. This truck is tough, drives great, looks great, and is very very reliable. I'm very sorry to say that I'll never buy another GM, Ford, or Chrysler vehicle. I can well understand why Toyota is outselling them. Go Toyota!

21st Oct 2009, 11:03

To the above 05 Tacoma owner. Have you checked your engine mounts. Major problems are developing in the 05 & 06 models. See the Tacoma forum for details.

2005 Chevrolet Colorado z85 Inline 5 cylinder from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Inline 5 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

The last Chevy (and US truck) I will ever buy

Faults:

Oxygen sensor replaced (3 times)

Interior Door Panel broke at about 1000 miles (Literally pulled away from the exterior part of the door by my 6 year old son when pulled closed)

Transmission replaced at 25,0000 miles.

Rear Differential replaced at 41,000 miles.

Windshield wiper motor replaced twice.

Cracked/partially missing front brake pad at 8000 miles.

Several "minor" mechanical and electrical problems.

General Comments:

This truck is the perfect example of "you get what you pay for." A very low priced truck, with a very low build quality.

I was disappointed with the power of the new in line 5 cylinder engine. Chevy claims over 200 horsepower, but it felt severely underpowered, and could hardly get out of it's own way. I have a small jet boat that I like to tow to area lakes, and the Colorado had a very difficult time towing at highway speeds. The Colorado felt so underpowered, I eventually stopped using it for towing, and instead used my wife's Ford Ranger with a 4 cylinder/manual trans!

I had 12 warranty claims with this truck, and I just sold it as my warranty ran out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th March, 2007

1st Apr 2007, 09:07

You got a lemon!! Every manufacturer has them!!!

11th Apr 2007, 17:38

Your inline 5 has 220 HP vs 148 for the 4 banger in the ranger. no way does that compare power wise the the chevy. This tells me a lot about how credible your comment was.

28th Jan 2008, 13:25

Why does Chevy screw up on the good looking little trucks?

2005 Chevrolet Colorado LS Z71 4x4 extended cab 3.5 I5 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.5 I5 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired6000 miles
Most recent distance19000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

Awesome mid sized truck with full sized attitude

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the truck sometimes the CD player rejects a CD, but I put it back in and it plays fine.

General Comments:

Great truck, best vehicle I have ever owned, the 220 HP 5 cylinder has great spunk. I have hauled 1,800 pounds and cruised down the highway at 70 MPH no problem. The Z71 package is great and the push button 4WD system works awesome and makes using 4WD a breeze. It is very roomy for a mid-sized truck and the ride is very very good compared to the s-10. I love the 5 speed transmission and it helps gas mileage too I get 23 on my normal running around I haven't had it on a trip yet, but plan to soon. It is also great on the snowy roads and I've done minor off roading in it too with no problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th February, 2007

Average review marks: 5.6 / 10, based on 12 reviews