2005 Chevrolet Colorado z85 Inline 5 cylinder from North America


The last Chevy (and US truck) I will ever buy


Oxygen sensor replaced (3 times)

Interior Door Panel broke at about 1000 miles (Literally pulled away from the exterior part of the door by my 6 year old son when pulled closed)

Transmission replaced at 25,0000 miles.

Rear Differential replaced at 41,000 miles.

Windshield wiper motor replaced twice.

Cracked/partially missing front brake pad at 8000 miles.

Several "minor" mechanical and electrical problems.

General Comments:

This truck is the perfect example of "you get what you pay for." A very low priced truck, with a very low build quality.

I was disappointed with the power of the new in line 5 cylinder engine. Chevy claims over 200 horsepower, but it felt severely underpowered, and could hardly get out of it's own way. I have a small jet boat that I like to tow to area lakes, and the Colorado had a very difficult time towing at highway speeds. The Colorado felt so underpowered, I eventually stopped using it for towing, and instead used my wife's Ford Ranger with a 4 cylinder/manual trans!

I had 12 warranty claims with this truck, and I just sold it as my warranty ran out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th March, 2007

1st Apr 2007, 09:07

You got a lemon!! Every manufacturer has them!!!

11th Apr 2007, 17:38

Your inline 5 has 220 HP vs 148 for the 4 banger in the ranger. no way does that compare power wise the the chevy. This tells me a lot about how credible your comment was.

28th Jan 2008, 13:25

Why does Chevy screw up on the good looking little trucks?

2005 Chevrolet Colorado LS Z71 4x4 extended cab 3.5 I5 from North America


Awesome mid sized truck with full sized attitude


Nothing has gone wrong with the truck sometimes the CD player rejects a CD, but I put it back in and it plays fine.

General Comments:

Great truck, best vehicle I have ever owned, the 220 HP 5 cylinder has great spunk. I have hauled 1,800 pounds and cruised down the highway at 70 MPH no problem. The Z71 package is great and the push button 4WD system works awesome and makes using 4WD a breeze. It is very roomy for a mid-sized truck and the ride is very very good compared to the s-10. I love the 5 speed transmission and it helps gas mileage too I get 23 on my normal running around I haven't had it on a trip yet, but plan to soon. It is also great on the snowy roads and I've done minor off roading in it too with no problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th February, 2007

2005 Chevrolet Colorado LS Vortec 3.5 from North America


This truck is completely useless if you plan on taking it off of the pavement


At roughly 25,000 miles I started getting engine misfires on cylindar 3 which took three visits to the local dealer to get resolved (not for sure if it is fixed yet.)

The CD player rejects disks (both burned and store bought) numerous times before it will accept them.

The starter is now acting up at 43000 miles.

The gas mileage was roughly 17-18 per tank average when the sticker showed 23. Incidentally the best I have obtained with this truck is 21.

General Comments:

The Chevy Colorado would probably be a great truck if you drive highway only. If you are planning on using this truck for any form of off road applications, I would search elsewhere or just go with the half ton Silverado. The Colorado has a braking system that locks up when dirt gets in the pads.

After a three hour trip in this truck you will more than likely experience back pain since the seat is so uncomfortable. (I am 6'2, so it might be more suitable for a shorter individual.)

I have only owned Chevrolet products since I was 18 and have not had any problems in the past with any of my half ton trucks. This Colorado is by far the biggest waste of money that I have encountered. For roughly three thousand more I could of had a nice 1/2 ton Silverado and am still kicking myself for thinking that the Colorado is the way to go.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2006

9th Jul 2006, 01:59

I totally hear you! I have had nothing but back pain with my truck. I don't like the seating and the vehicle itself seem to be uncomfortable. That's why I'd rather go with a Mercedes.

10th Jan 2007, 15:04

I can somewhat agree with you. I had a 91 S-10 foe ever. I bought It used with 87,000 in 97'. Never a damn thing wrong with it. I bought a K-1500 Silverado in 2002, took me a few years to get rid of my S-10. Drove it sometimes. Sold it to a Mexican with 170,000 on it. It was more reliable than my K-1500.

Since the Colorado replaced the S-10 I haven't been able to accept it as a respectible replacement. With my S-10 I got 16 to 19 MPG with that, The Colarado that's 15 some years newer isn't getting that great of gas mileage. Bring back the S-10.

5th Feb 2008, 21:19

I have a Chevy Colorado and have (engine light on) showing code for random cyl misfire. I have no clue what the problem is and it does not help that the shop came right out and said that they don't know what the problem is either. They said that hey will just have to start replacing things until problem is resolved...

Does this invoke confidence...NO!!!

Wondering if in original post you found the solution?

Looking for any suggestions.

Aside from this engine light, I do like the truck. Decent gas mileage, and enough power for on and off road.

16th May 2011, 11:14

I bought my Colorado new for my 65th birthday in March 2005. I've got 80400 miles and have only had one problem with it. That was an engine light, which would come and go over a 2 year period. Every time I would think about taking it in for a check out of the light, it would go out. I was noticing the engine idle seeming to get slower, and rougher, so at 75000 miles I put in new spark plugs. Well, the engine light went off, the idle smoothed out, and my mileage is now up to 80400.

It is a 4x4 four door cab with the off road package, and I don't understand anyone wanting more off road traction. The 4low position gives never less than 3 wheels pulling, and I can't imagine anything better.

I know some of you probably are doing some rock crawling or something, but short of that, I'm very happy. Same battery, brakes and every other part it came with. Original water in the radiator, but had to replace the tires at 78000.

2005 Chevrolet Colorado Z85 In-line 5 cylinder from North America


The best mid sized truck to have


Nothing yet that I can find except the engine block heater cord is very hard to find a way out of the engine to the outside of the truck.

The engine has a hard time staying in cruise control when winds are over 30mph.

General Comments:

This is the best 4x4 truck that I have had in years it gets great gas mileage as I drive an average of 100 miles a day to and from home to work.

I average 19 to 21 mpg and this is great for a truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th November, 2005

10th Jan 2007, 14:54

Not really, I get between 18 and 22 on the highway with my K-1500 Silverado with a 350 V8.

2nd Mar 2007, 10:55

Ya of course you are going to get that.. ON THE HIGHWAY, the reviewer means combined, the colorado is a great truck!