1993 Chevrolet Corsica Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1993 Chevrolet Corsica LT 3.1L from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.1L Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired227000 kilometres
Most recent distance238000 kilometres
Previous carPlymouth Sundance

Summary:

A reliable friend

Faults:

The original transmission is slowly going (and going slowly, I might add), but that's to be expected for a car with these kind of miles.

The front pads wear quickly, and the rear shoes grab at slow speed - probably my fault.

The front suspension suspends very little nowadays.

All repairs from previous owner include front struts and axle, starter.

General Comments:

I just recently purchased this car from my parents, who had owned it since 1997.

Before that it belonged to the Canadian Department of Defence.

It has been the most reliable car any of us have owned, with never a breakdown (I'm probably jinxing myself)

The next-to-gone torque converter dampens the car's once quite fast attitude. A good condition Corsica can surprise people with its speed and handling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th April, 2002

11th Feb 2005, 12:52

I drive a 1993 Corsica LT with only 80,000 miles. The 3.1 liter engine runs excellent with plenty of power, and the transmission has no problems either. However, in cold wet weather, if the doors have been locked, they freeze up badly. It took me 45 minutes this AM, just to get into the car. I use a graphite based lubricant in the lock cylinders on a regular basis with no positive results.

1993 Chevrolet Corsica LT 3.1 fuel injected from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.1 fuel injected Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired104000 miles
Most recent distance119000 miles
Previous carYugo GV

Summary:

This car is a headache to my wallet

Faults:

I had a lot of problems with my car.

The first month I had to put a heater core in it.

The second month I had a transmission gasket leakage.

I had to put shocks and struts on it.

I had to replaced the motor in the car (the rod bearing had spun).

I had to service the brakes and put wheel cylinders in.

Plus I am still not finished fixing my car. I have to fix the crank seal plus install a muffler in it.

The car is costing more than I paid for it.

I should have stuck to my 1987 Yugo.

General Comments:

This car is very sluggish.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th October, 2001

27th Aug 2004, 01:08

Obviously you bought one that was beat on. I bought a 93 with 280,000 on the original 3.1 that's never been rebuilt. I just replaced the starter today. the car doesn't even leak oil. the paint has peeled horribly, but other than that the car runs fantastic. but good luck with yours.

7th Mar 2005, 15:22

Good car, just need to know how to install a heater core.

29th Sep 2005, 18:01

Major job to install a heater core on a 1995 Corsica... seems if the core is placed and the "car" is built over it!! Never ever again!!!

12th Sep 2006, 02:35

What you need to know about the GM 3.1L V6 is that these usually are very rugged engines. I also know examples of the 3.1 with 200.000+ miles on them. BUT these engines may very well go at 30.000 due to manufacturing defects. Mine is about to go now, and this is a low mileage engine. I've been told by the repair shop that this is due to a common problem for the 3.1s. The engine parts has been made with too high clearance and this in the end leads to engine failure. Careful driving and high grade oil has prolonged the life of my engine, since I noticed this problem more than two years ago. I was told that these engines may go at 30-40.000 if you are unfortunate, mine has about 60.000 on it and now sounds like an old tractor engine. It does not help to have a rugged design so long GM does not have quality control at the production plant.

1993 Chevrolet Corsica LT 3.1 liter V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.1 liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carDodge Aspen

Summary:

Reliable transportation

Faults:

The biggest problem I had with my car was the air conditioning. It was a lemon. After several trips to the dealer and air conditioning shops, I finally had the entire system replaced with an R-134 based system which is doing much better.

I have also replaced the alternator and starter.

General Comments:

I really enjoy my Corsica. It has turned out to be a very reliable car with great acceleration, once the bugs were worked out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 2000

1993 Chevrolet Corsica LT 4 cylinder automatic from North America

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10

Faults:

At 100,000 miles had a cracked alternator and dead battery. Fixed for $250 dollars.

General Comments:

I work for a private non-profit agency and spend 75% of my time on the road in rural Pennsylvania and Massachusetts and NY. This car was bought at a government auction for $5300 in 1996 with 65K miles on it. I believe that I may have got the bargain of the century as it now has 147K miles on it and is still running strong. Other than changing oil every 3000 miles and putting in new shocks and struts in 1996, I have done very little to the car. The car does not look like it has 147,000 miles on it because I keep it clean and wash it regularly. Additionally, it is now equipped with a CD changer, remote starter and phone which can all be transferred into another vehicle if needed. I have resigned myself to start a new car search simply because of the fact that O&M will eventually go up on a car with this number of miles. But, I never expected to have such a great car. Corsica's are available at govt auctions throughout US.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 1998

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 21 reviews