1994 Chevrolet Corsica Reviews

1994 Chevrolet Corsica 3.1 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired109 miles
Most recent distance236690 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

A very good investment, it is still my daily driver today

Faults:

In the whole 15 years I have had this car, I have only had to replace stuff that has just gone out due to age.

Oil change every 3,000 to 4,000 miles.

Tires every 30,000 to 40,000 miles.

Battery at 68,322, 149,239, and at 225,023 miles.

Water pump at 87,458 and again at 232,755 miles.

Drive belt at 92,884 and 188,910 miles.

Alternator at 166,993 miles.

Transmission at 195,635 miles (the most expensive fix for the car after 10 years of purchase)

General Comments:

I love this car!

It always starts and goes.

Served me well for 15 years.

Original engine.

Pretty quick car.

Gets up to 80 mph really quick.

Good gas mileage for a V6 (average 27 mpg).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th December, 2009

10th Dec 2009, 16:36

Wow, I wish they still made those things. I had a Celebrity model with the same engine when I was younger and experienced extreme reliability in the face of extreme abuse. Now my '99 Chevy Lumina with the latest (last) version of GM's 3.1 V6 has what they call "piston slap" since about 68k miles and eventually it will probably fail, and it's not just my car that has it.. ALL the 3.1 "3100" engines from the late 90's - early 2000's do this.

It's too bad GM quit making the OLD 2.8 and 3.1 pushrod engines and ruined the design to cut costs!

1994 Chevrolet Corsica 3.1 V6 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired99000 miles
Most recent distance107000 miles

Summary:

Best first car I could ask for

Faults:

- Got it with a broken hi-beam switch.

- Needed new tires.

- Needed brakes.

- Seats dry rot, only because of the previous owner.

- Radiator leak, needed to be replaced.

General Comments:

I was 17 when I got the car, and could not have been luckier. The previous owner took very nice care of it, barely drove it.

It is a blast when little Honda Civics want to race. It is very quick and drives very well in snow.

Has a large trunk, and any money put into this car was worth it. It will be a shame when it finally dies on me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th July, 2009

1994 Chevrolet Corsica 6 cylinder from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired113000 miles
Most recent distance132000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

A great little car

Faults:

The air conditioner was inoperable when the car was purchased; has not been repaired since due to high repair estimate.

The brakes were worn and required repair/maintenance on all 4 wheels.

The driver's seat has wear & tear, also a slight rocking movement upon acceleration/deceleration- annoying but not bad.

A slight sway or dive upon cornering (which probably is inherent to the model)

General Comments:

This little car is rock-steady on the road and during stops.

Acceleration is quick and easy.

Runs very quiet.

It's been averaging 26mpg, mixed driving.

Looks clean and nice - inside and out; unlike the experience many other Corsica owners have mentioned, the paint on my "Little Sister" is holding up well.

For a car this old, previous owners /treatment matters. Mine was owned by the Diocese for the use of resident nuns from 1998-2008. I have had many cars, mostly big and used, the last being a Ford F-150 (very good, also; still in use by another family member @ 300,000 on the OD). Miss the roominess of a big car, but the MPG and maneuverability well make up for it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th February, 2009

1994 Chevrolet Corsica 2.2 4 cylinder fuel injected from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.2 4 cylinder fuel injected Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired161 miles
Most recent distance165 miles
Previous carGeo Prizm

Summary:

Never thought I would like it, but I do

Faults:

The battery was weak when I got it, put a $45 batter from Wal Mart in it and so far no problem.

The high beam lights do not work, $15 part on turn lever is bad.

General Comments:

I bought this car in February 2008 from a coworker. It has a few issues, air does not work, bad compressor. The right two power window motors are bad, or the switches are bad, those windows do not go down... not fun in 95 degree heat! the headliner and seats on my car are good, but I have seen other Corsicas with splitting fabric from dry rot. My dash has a few cracks in the vinyl from the sun. It does not burn oil and does not leak any. Cruise control still works. I was surprised to find out the back seat folds for more room and it folds in halves too. It is pokey but I am in second gear at 15 mph and third (top) gear at 25 and then the lockup occurs at 35 to 45 mph. Gas mileage is 28 to 30 in normal stop and go driving in town and some open road driving. I noticed highway driving gets upwards of 35 mpg and up to 38, not bad for a three speed automatic. No CV joint or power steering problems. A great car and I will look for another when it dies because NOBODY wants one and they are cheap! I could have bought a 94 Accord but would have paid $2500 to $5000 for a car similar to the Corsica. I know enough about old Hondas to say they are great but have problems with the air conditioning, sensors for the engine and automatic transmission and paint clearcoat to choose to go with the Corsica and am glad so far I did!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st August, 2008

6th May 2009, 18:27

This is my car... turns out the high beams worked the whole time! You just have to pull back harder than other cars! I can see now! Since last post the head gasket started leaking coolant out the drivers side front corner... fixed with $4.00 molasses based stop leak sealer. It worked! Miles now 175K and getting 32 mpg now that I do not have to let it idle to be warm for ME in the morning. No other issues with the car.

12th Aug 2009, 22:27

Update again... August 2009. Had it a year and a half now. Still drives great. Needs new tires finally. Only one power window was not working... the right front. Gas mileage consistently 32 mpg this summer. Miles now 178K, so I have driven it a year and a half and put 17K on it. Not bad for a $500 car!

30th Jan 2010, 11:51

Last update. I sold it a month or so ago for $500. I had put on four 85,000 mile Kumhos and sold it to a guy who resold it the next day for $950! Darn it! I had good luck with it, and it STILL did not burn or use oil at 184K.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 19 reviews