1994 Chevrolet Corsica Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1994 Chevrolet Corsica 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired114000 miles
Most recent distance165000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Ciera

Summary:

A very good all around car

Faults:

We purchased the car in December 1999 from a public auction. For the first 35000 or so miles the only money put into the car was a full tune-up and fluids change at the very outset (I never buy a used car and trust what the previous owner had in it, even if it was just worked on that same day) and the regularly scheduled fluids.

At about 149000 or so one of the power steering hoses developed a minor leak, which we endured for about a month until I had to change it, approximately $35.00 for the part and less than an hour of my own time.

At about 163000 the coolant overflow return line, which is a hard line that runs in front of the front bay of cylinders, actually rusted through and developed a nasty leak. This was fixed, albeit temporarily, by cutting the hard line and using a $3.00 length of fuel hose. The actual part to do the repair properly is $70.00 at the dealer.

And at about 155000 the car started having rough idling problems, annoying, but endurable. No one has been able to diagnose it, as I have had 3 different diagnoses from 5 separate mechanics. Again, a minor annoyance.

Other than that, I agree the car uses brakes quickly, but some of that is attributable to my driving and my driving environment, as well as the unusually heavy curb weight of the vehicle (almost 4000 lbs empty). Also, the engine is peppy, but not very economical, only around 16 city and 24-25 highway.

General Comments:

This car is a very nice, very reliable 4 door sedan.

It is not, however, a good family car, as it has very little room in the back seat and the trunk space is limited.

It's performs, well, like a 4000 lb 4 door sedan.

The transmission is geared okay, nothing special, but it has been trouble free for 50000 NYC miles.

It is not the easiest car to work on, but not too difficult either, and parts, if needed, are very cheap.

This car fits many roles, a good beater who will take any abuse and keep going, a nice "small" sedan for those who take better care of their cars, and an all around people transport.

It does not dazzle in any area, but it is a good, all around vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2002

1994 Chevrolet Corsica 3.1 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired97000 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Corsica

Summary:

The car is my baby and I pamper it with TLC

Faults:

It needed a new EGR valve, but that's normal considering it is a second hand car. I'm the second owner.

Heat/AC having problems and easily corrected by PLUGGING it in tightly out front in the engine area.

No other issues with this car.

Rust starting to form...

General Comments:

This is the third Corsica I've 'known' in my life intimately.

My father used to own two Corsicas and that's why I got myself a Corsica because I saw how great his cars were.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th August, 2001

28th Sep 2007, 19:22

I call my Corsica my baby too. It's so poor and beat up looking though, but it's still drives hard and strong! after 13 years of life.

1994 Chevrolet Corsica 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 miles
Most recent distance99500 miles
Previous carChevrolet Van

Summary:

The car is money hungry!

Faults:

The motor had to be rebuilt at 83,000 miles.

The alternator has went out twice.

The starter has went out.

The struts are broken.

The car has a skip. We have changed the plugs, plug wires, the map censor, the coil pack, the fuel filter, the catalatic convertor, and we have had lots of gas treatment run through it.

The frame of the car leaks water into the floorboard.

The air conditioning switch is stuck on normal.

The brakes wear out every day it seems.

The interior is wore out.

General Comments:

The car runs good when it is running. I will never purchase another Corsica. We have spent a lot of money on this car. Take my advice and stay away from a Corsica.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th June, 2001

2nd Aug 2001, 18:25

How about actually maintaining the car throughout its life. My 88 Corsica is SIX YEARS older than yours, just needs brakes and struts, a bit of electronic work (due to the guy who put it together after an accident who doesn't know how a circuit works) and that's IT. It'll cost about $250 dollars due to the fact that I'll do it MYSELF.

27th Oct 2004, 10:44

I have had my 1994 for about five years now. There is roughly 8,000 miles left before I hit the 200,000 mile mark. I cannot complain about this car. It has been a blessing. It can really take the abuse... for instance someone rear-ended me on an interstate going 70mph... all I got was their paint on my bumper. I have not had to put that much money in it. The only problem I have had is the engine light likes to stay on even though I have had mechanics look into it. I would recommend this car to anyone.

1994 Chevrolet Corsica LT 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired21000 miles
Most recent distance122000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Inexpensive to buy and maintain

Faults:

Alternator replaced at 100,000 miles.

General Comments:

This is a very good car. The 3.1L engine is incredibly reliable. A lot of power and good gas mileage. I frequently get 36-40 MPG on long highway trips. 26-29 MPG in the city.

Other than routine maintenance, the only fix I've done is the alternator.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th January, 2001

12th Sep 2007, 10:48

I own a 3.1 Corsica, and there is no way you can get that good gas mileage.

1994 Chevrolet Corsica from North America

Year of manufacture1994
Engine and transmission  
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I drive 200 - 300 miles per week. Outside of general maintenance, the car has given me no trouble.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 1998

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 19 reviews