1994 Chevrolet Corsica Reviews - Page 3 of 5

1994 Chevrolet Corsica V6 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.5 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles
Previous carMazda B2200

Summary:

Chevy should be ashamed they produced this money pit on wheels

Faults:

First a/c quit working.

Second defrost quit working.

Third leak started and water comes into cab of car from window area.

Fourth seal blew and burns a quart a week.

Fifth something is wrong with fuel or electrical system and car bucks and losses power.

Sixth steering column went out and couldnt turn key to start car.

Seventh just found out the head is probably cracked or seal is going.

General Comments:

I would just stay away from buying one of these cars all togther as they just cost a small fortune to keep running.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th February, 2005

21st Feb 2005, 05:52

I am sorry that you have had all the problems with your Corsica. I brought a 89 Corsica, new in 89, and put close to 180,000 miles on the car. The car served me very well.

I moved 3 times using the car to haul stuff, along with using the car to tow my utility trailer with around 1000 lbs on it. I towed quite a bit with this setup. I traveled in this car quite a bit.

The only downside is that after well over 125,000 miles, I did have to replace the water pump, and CV joint. When I did trade it in 2 years ago, there was the starting of rough running and cutting off at stoplights etcetera.

This was due to a MAP switch that had worn out. Other than that that was mentioned, the car served me well.

Ken Sharpe.

1994 Chevrolet Corsica V6 3.1L from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 3.1L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired144000 miles
Most recent distance162000 miles

Summary:

I hate it and feel it's a lemon

Faults:

I had to replace the transmission at 148,000 miles.

ABS quits working when you get to 40 MPH.

Service Engine Soon light engages once you drop back below 70 MPH.

Power steering seems to go out in heavy rains.

Runs week and sometimes even stalls when engine is just cranked and cold.

Suspension system shattered and had to be replaced.

Occasionally the PDLs will go out.

Lots of visual defects on dash and back seat from sun (and the Corsica's cheap materials).

Coolant line started to leak and needed to be replaced.

General Comments:

This was my very first car. I'm glad it's not going to be my last. From the very beginning, I knew there was something about it. It's possesed. Everything that can go wrong has (well, for the most part). The only good thing about it is the extremely swift acceleration. 0-60 in about 7 seconds. This car can also go through some gas. The MPG rating is supposed to be 21 city and 26 highway. Not true. More like 15 city and 20 highway. This may also be my emission controls as the SES light glows from time to time. All in all, I would NOT recomend this car to anyone. I can't wait until March when I get my Pontiac Grand AM G.T-1. ;)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th August, 2004

21st Aug 2004, 11:15

I am no fan of the marque, but how can you call a car, that had 140,000 miles on the clock when you bought it, a lemon?

22nd Aug 2004, 01:29

Well, "lemon" in the sense that as soon as I got it, everything went wrong. Ha... just today, the blinker/ cruise lever broke and is literally hanging by a wire. I have been having a problem with that though. For the past few months, cruise hasn't been working and it's been harder to switch to brights/ low-beam. This car is a lemon to me, even if not new when purchased. I hate it. Want it? I'll give it to you for free ;)

23rd Aug 2004, 18:07

'Well, "lemon" in the sense that as soon as I got it, everything went wrong' In my opinion, you were ripped off. You really should have had someone look at that car before you bought it. I'm sure they would have found many things wrong with it and most likely would not have recommend that you buy it. A Corsica can be a good car if you find one in good running condition.

22nd Aug 2008, 16:45

I have the same car with double the miles on it. It is a very good car.

There has been a couple things wrong with it, but very cheap to fix. One thing cost about twenty dollars, and the other thing about seventy.

I have had the car for two years and it has held up great. Even when my friend got it t-boned about a year ago.

The only thing I would say is the paint wears really easy, but you were screwed over when you bought your car, or you just are not taking care of it.

24th Feb 2009, 16:58

The gas mileage problem can be fixed with basic maintenance, try getting a tune up!

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 19 reviews