1984 Chevrolet Corvette Reviews

1984 Chevrolet Corvette Gas from North America

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Gas Automatic
Distance when acquired22800 miles
Most recent distance76478 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corvette

Summary:

Good car for the dollar

Faults:

Clothe seat on driver side is worn badly.

Paint on lower portion of rear bumper is starting to blister.

General Comments:

Basically, the car runs like a bear.

As for speed, you can get to 120 easily, and it is good on gas. Took it on a trip once, and used the cruise control often, and averaged about 24.6 miles to a gallon.

I am 66 years old, and still love this car. Owned it since 1988. For the dollar, you can't beat it. And that statement fits the newer vets best car for the dollar.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd February, 2010

1984 Chevrolet Corvette Coupe 5.7 liter from North America

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 5.7 liter Automatic
Distance when acquired113000 miles
Most recent distance114000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

The car ya always wanted, but could never afford

Faults:

Needed tune-up... Multiple sensor codes on the ECM.

General Comments:

1984 Greenwood Corvette... nuff said... what's even better in this bad economy I only paid 2500.00 for the car and it runs very fast!!!

Needs a few things, but it's my dream car and will be with me till I take a dirt nap haha!!!

I love this car and recommend it to anyone if ya can get a deal like I did. For this money it ain't perfect... needs some interior work and a new top, but that's about it... But for 25 beans I don't care if it costs another 10, this car's gonna look like it did in 84, and at 44 years old I may use it for a casket LOL!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th March, 2009

1984 Chevrolet Corvette from North America

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired147000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles

Summary:

It's not a car, it's a Corvette

Faults:

Manifold gasket, electrical issues.

General Comments:

First of all when you buy a older Corvette, you are buying a car which requires high maintenance. This is not a run to work and play car. It just for play.

It rides harsh especially with Z51 performance suspension.

The Crossfire system gets a bum rap, as it is dependable, but not the fastest Corvette ever built. It was fast in 1984, but by todays standards it is not, so if you're buying this car to beat people at traffic lights, look to a newer Mustang or other 90s performance vehicle.

Its handling is race car, pure and simple. It gives you a feel no other American or Foreign car can duplicate. And I mean it when I say NO. It's a ball to drive and the 84 has the spirit of C1, C2 and C3 built into it, but it does handle better than any of those mentioned.

It's a sports car in every sense of the word regardless of auto or standard. It better than a Porsche, Z, or any other sporty car from this era.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th July, 2008

1984 Chevrolet Corvette coupe 350 from North America

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 350 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired146000 kilometres
Most recent distance147000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Corvette

Summary:

Exciting

Faults:

Check engine light comes on.

General Comments:

The 1984 Corvette is not for the faint of heart. It's a true sports car in every sense of the word. It rides harsh and is difficult to exit and enter. However its all worth the trouble along with the poor gas mileage once you drive it. It handles like no other car on the road. Its quick steering and road gripping is amazing. This is a 24 year old car, but will out handle most of the current sports cars built today. Its g force in 1984 surpassed Porsche and Ferrari and will not diappoint by todays standards. Its just a thrill to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th June, 2007

23rd May 2008, 19:01

How come you gave the car a 1/10 for running costs? You didn't mention anything that has gone wrong, and as I plan on buying an 84 Vette, I'm curious as to what has gone wrong with yours. Thanks

-josh.

25th May 2008, 05:28

Hold out for a 1998 or newer used... well worth the wait for performance.

1984 Chevrolet Corvette Coupe Z-51 5.7 Crossfire from North America

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 5.7 Crossfire Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired52000 miles
Most recent distance71000 miles
Previous carMG BGT

Summary:

The Only American Sports car!!!

Faults:

This car has been excellent. Just recently, replaced the front pads and rotors (stainless), cooling fan relay switch, battery. All normal routine maintenance considering a 20 year old car. A year ago, I replaced the water pump only due to mild scaling on the exterior. When I first took ownership, it had a small pin-hole leak in the radiator, replaced with factory AC 4 core and has actually improved cooling.

General Comments:

The car is tremendous. My father has had many vette's, 1963 S/R, 1974 S/R, and his last; 1992 LT1. I really think the '84 is very close in performance to the '92 after driving both. The '92 has a more "comfortable" and softer ride, however, it lacks the rigid cornering characteristics of the '84. I prefer the handling of my 20 year old "antique" to his 300 H.P. pavement pounder!!!.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th March, 2006

8th Jul 2007, 01:41

There is NO such thing as a 1983 Corvette. The new body style wasn't ready for a 1983 debut. GM introduced the C4 Corvette in 1984. Your car may have a 1983 production date, but it IS a 1984 C4 or a 1982 C3. Probably a type error huu. I had a 87 and miss it so. I still show off the pictures. Sold it for a Porshe 944 and now I have a clean little RX7 and I love everything except the 15 M.P.G. Corvette got almost 10 M.P.G. better. Good luck with your Vette, I'm envious. I should have NEVER sold mine. Next is a C5, around a 2000-2004.

5th Mar 2009, 03:02

Yes, that's right!... there was no such thing as a "1983" Corvette. The 1982 model year jumped straight to the 1984 model year, and so 1983 was skipped, even though there was no interruption in actual production.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 8 reviews