5th Feb 2014, 09:45

Of course the 1.8 is weak, it's the base engine. Should have got the 1.4L turbo.

6th Feb 2014, 13:25

And if you have to get the 1.8 for whatever reason (price, no turbo to worry about, etc.) get the manual. The 1.8 plus automatic is nothing but a disaster. If you want an automatic, get the turbo diesel one.

16th Apr 2014, 10:58

You obviously have a rental car and don't own this vehicle, so you are telling your experience in driving a rental car, something you would never buy. As such this review has limited validity.

21st Apr 2014, 16:43

You know, the Cruze is an economy car, not a race car. Yes, the throttle is mapped toward needed to push the accelerator pedal harder than most to get the car to move, but the car itself isn't that slow comparatively speaking.

I have a Honda Civic (2010) LX-S 5 speed auto, and 0-60 is never better than 10 seconds real world. Motorweek tested my car at 9.8 seconds. The Chevy Cruze 1.8 has the same horsepower and torque rating and is 200 pounds HEAVIER than my Civic, yet it still manages a 0-60 time of 9.1 seconds. So why people say it's slower than everything else like a Hyundai Accent with 0-60 times of 12 seconds plus, and then complain about it, despite that it's an economy car design for FUEL MILEAGE, is beyond me.

18th Jun 2014, 11:37

Why does my opinion have limited validity? Okay, I wrote the review after 3,000 kilometres, but even after a further 5,000 km I didn't change my mind. If anything I think renting a car (as long as it's driven a fair distance) gives my opinion more validity than if I'd bought it; I don't have an economic tie to the car that might bias my opinion of it. I was perfectly willing to take the car on its merits when I booked it and when I picked it up; it just turned out to be a very poor car. Simple as that. I hired the Elantra and drove it for a similar period/distance too - again with no economic attachments basing my emotions. It's also in the same size class as the Cruze. The Elantra was a lot better. What is this site about if it isn't about personal opinions?

18th Jun 2014, 11:46

I'm the original poster. I wasn't aware of the statistics. Maybe it is indeed quicker than the Accent, but it didn't feel it. Perhaps the Accent's engine is quieter, so it's doesn't sound as apparent that it's struggling to pick up speed? All I know is, the Cruze really screamed without a whole lot happening. Again, I was perfectly willing to take this car on and accept it for what it is, but after 8,000 km driving it every day on a variety of road types, both city and country, I never got to like it. I felt sad taking the Elantra back to the rental place at the end of my trip to the US. I didn't feel that way when I returned the Cruze.

7th Oct 2014, 14:16

I leased one new. It was terrible. Anti-freeze smell repeatedly, and no solution repeatedly. Check engine light on frequently, and premature brake failures. All within a 55,000 km lease. I have heard horror stories of this antifreeze issue, and I know there is a class action lawsuit in the US on it presently; thankfully I only leased.

I am now in a purchased 2014 Civic. Not overly exciting, but gets the job done, and I am sure it will be a great little car. 25,000 km and just the oil changes so far.

10th Sep 2015, 13:02

I agree, as someone renting the car, his points are MORE valid than an owner. Owners tend to be tied in emotionally to what they PAID for the car. When you rent a car, you are literally just giving your 2 cents worth with an unbiased reason. It's all legit feedback, and I appreciate it.

10th Sep 2015, 23:18

Actually what is better is having company cars. I have put a number of reviews on here. Putting up to 200 miles a day means you really know the car. I have driven them for 30 years and am nearing retirement. There's zero bias with this situation. I agree some have emotional ties to a brand or may be unwilling to admit they bought a lemon. I do not get the same manufacturer each time. In turn company cars get excellent maintenance and even our trucks have logs kept. No postponement of maintenance like many may have on a tight budget. In many cases, I wonder if that being the case, if complaints are always on target. There's more than gas and go and an oil change. Any car I have had is typically a nice buy for someone, even with highway miles. A few employees have actually bought mine and I see them still.

17th Jun 2016, 21:46

Original poster again. I'm currently on holiday in the UK and driving a Honda Civic - again in the same size-class as the Cruze. I still stand by my original comments on the Cruze. I'm not enraptured with the Civic by any means, particularly its ergonomics, but it is so much quieter and much more refined than the Cruze. Aside from price, I just can't understand why anyone would buy a Cruze. They are just so crude and gutless compared to the competition.