2006 Chevrolet Equinox Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2006 Chevrolet Equinox LS 3.4L SFI from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.4L SFI Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Monte Carlo

Summary:

Very nice car, runs good with its new engine

Faults:

The engine cracked and burned a cylinder, causing the engine to need replacing (covered under warranty).

The key switch sticks in the start position.

Both problems have been remedied.

General Comments:

The car runs really good, and always did (even with the burned cylinder).

Engine was replaced with factory Good Wrench engine, and now performs flawlessly.

Stereo system is really good.

Don't care for the seat materials, but they don't seem to stain badly like other say.

I love where the shifter and window controls are placed.

Overall, I think this is a nice car.

Everyone is always relaying these horror stories about dealing with General Motors; the man that we spoke with was very helpful and respectful.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th June, 2008

2006 Chevrolet Equinox LT from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired9 miles
Most recent distance29000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Scion TC

Summary:

Save your Money!!!

Faults:

I bought my equinox just a little over a year ago from Today Chevrolet in Oxnard, Ca. 2 months after my purchase, one day my car just wouldn't move. I checked everything and started pushing the gas pedal completely flooring it, and it still wouldn't move. After getting it towed back to the dealer, the next day, I was so upset to find out that, there was a leak in the side panel of the driver's side door. When they removed the paneling, all the wiring was rusted and the whole computer in my car had to be replaced.

About 3 months ago, my brakes had to be replaced at only 20000 on my car.

And most recently, my car is being serviced because the heat went out. Apparently, the little door that holds heat in/out was broken and needed to be replaced. In order to do that, they had to take out the whole dashboard of my car!! I honestly don't know what to say anymore about my car, except that I wish I hadn't traded in my scion!!

Mad as Heck in Oxnard!!

General Comments:

It's an okay car I guess!! It fits my needs, but, is just becoming a hassle when it needs to be in the shop!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th January, 2007

16th Jan 2007, 16:50

Typical story. My Scion had one minor problem in the time I owned it, other than the horrible radio which wasn't even a Toyota product.

You want quality, you buy Japanese made in Japan.

You want to support American mechanics, you buy American made anywhere.

27th Apr 2007, 02:41

I personally own an Equinox and have now for about 1 year. That totally bums me out to hear about your horrible experience. I think personally it was a lemon and should have looked into the lemon laws in your state. My Equinox, a 2006 LS AWD is wonderful. I only had to take it in to the dealership because the CD Player going on the fritz, but easily fixed. I've talked to several people with Equinoxs and they all seemingly love it. Sounds to me, as with every single car company in the world, you got a bad apple out of the whole bunch of good apples.

2006 Chevrolet Equinox V6 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance957 miles
Previous carAcura RL

Summary:

Very surprised at the good quality

Faults:

So far nothing has gone wrong with the car. The day I received it, I was called out of town on business and the car operated/performed flawlessly. I know it's still new, but coming off an 04 Acura RL I was pleasantly surprised.

General Comments:

Good accessory package with everything I wanted in a new car.

Automatic, V6, leather seats, REGULAR gas, OnStar© and XM© radio.

Don't get me wrong, I loved my RL. Best and most comfortable seats I have ever sat in (and I have owned MANY cars). Never let me down. But the gas mileage and the need for premium gas was killing me. Also, I leased, and the leasing agency failed to mention the surcharge one must pay yearly in Texas to lease.

I wanted to trade up to an MDX, but I just didn't want to pay those monthly payments and still have to use premium gas. And I wanted to buy American.

This is my first American car in 20 years, but I swore I would do it. Buy American that is.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th February, 2006

10th Aug 2006, 07:32

You do know the car is from Canada? The Pontiac Torrent is the same car and both are made at the same plant. And yes, I have always said that if gas (and insurance) is going to be an issue, one shouldn't get on the car. So unless regular gas on a Yaris or an Aveo is going to kill you due to your low salary, one should always buy a car one can afford.

Just take good care of the car and it shouldn't give tons of trouble. Many people complain of this and that, but sometimes is because they don't certain things.

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 8 reviews