2010 Chevrolet Impala LT 3.5 from North America

Faults:

Thermostat failed at 145,000 km.

One power window switch not working at 90,000 km.

Exhaust noise beginning at 160,000 km.

Air actuator is having a problem.

General Comments:

Not a bad car if you need a full size vehicle for freeway cruising. Fuel consumption is not terrible given the size of the car.

Reliability is average; don't expect it to be as good as Toyota or Honda. GM did a decent job putting the car together, but some of their parts aren't durable.

I am hoping to keep the car for a few more years to 230,000 km or so.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th September, 2018

17th Nov 2018, 22:57

An update, I had to unplug one of the air actuator to stop the "Clicking". Just a month after this air actuator problem, my Impala got another problem. The accelerator pedal position sensor is throwing out an error every now and then. Each time it happens, it causes the ECU to reduce engine power. GM made a special warranty on the item and sent me a letter couple years ago. But since the problem happens intermittently and the check engine light comes and goes, GM and the dealer REFUSE to fix the problem. Now I fear to take the car onto the freeways.

Thank you General Motors, my next car will be a Toyota.

18th Nov 2018, 15:20

So what Toyota sedan matches an Impala?

18th Nov 2018, 18:42

I could have picked up a Camry for 30% more money (used) for the same model year. Based on previous experience and from others, most Toyotas are trouble free for 200,000 km/10 years.

18th Nov 2018, 20:49

Maybe one with a sticking accelerator so you can fear the freeways.

20th Nov 2018, 00:32

They are not comparable vehicles. Too crammed to be squeezed in regardless if it sees less shop time. To me quality is something you greatly enjoy owning and driving. And that includes passengers on a long trip. It’s no bargain sacrificing these very important areas to pursue the cheap factor. I’d rather pay more and get far more.

2010 Chevrolet Impala 3.5 OHV V6 from North America

Summary:

A solid car with a good warranty, and great value used

Faults:

Rear suspension clunk noise due to faulty stabilizer bar links, fixed under warranty.

Blower motor developed a squeak, fixed under warranty.

Air bag light came on due to a bad module, fixed under warranty.

There were a couple of recalls that were taken care of as well.

General Comments:

I looked at many used vehicles before deciding to limit my search to a GM product, mainly due to the fact that GM products have always held up well for me, and are relatively inexpensive to maintain. I was not impressed with the Malibu's design, so I looked at the Impala, and was pleasantly surprised by the ride and handling. It was comparable to a Buick Lacrosse I looked at (which shared the same platform until this year). Very comfortable, and a good, solid ride.

The 3.5 V6 and 4T45E transaxle are proven components that are easy to repair/maintain.

Although I will admit city MPG could be better (average 18-20MPG), this car really delivers outstanding highway MPG for this size of a car (29.8 MPG).

The car has a lot of nice standard features, although since mine is a former rental, it does not have Onstar or Satellite radio, but that is not an issue for me. The radio in this vehicle has a CD player and auxiliary input, and is very good for a stock radio.

One comment if buying used... look for a dealer that sells GM Certified Used Vehicles. Not all GM dealers participate in this program, but mine does. In addition to the basic 3 year/36,000 mile bumper to bumper warranty, GM Certified adds an additional 12 months/12,000 miles to the warranty. Powertrain warranty is 5 years/100,000 miles. If you can find one of these that is under a year old, inspect it thoroughly, verify the history (I will not buy a car that has been registered in states that use heavy road salt in the winter) and if it passes the inspection, these cars are really a good value used, especially with the additional warranty.

As far as service, my dealer has been very good at addressing my concerns. However, I perform routine maintenance myself.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd July, 2011

23rd Feb 2012, 09:42

Have you ever had an idling issue with yours? I have a 2011 with the 3500, and at 31000 miles, it's developed an idling issue. The car seems to shake, and the tachometer jumps as well.

24th Jun 2012, 21:32

Original poster here...

I have had absolutely no idling issues whatsoever, and am about to turn 40,000 miles. I use only Chevron gasoline, and am very picky about keeping my vehicle maintained.