1994 Chevrolet Lumina Minivan 3.8 from North America


Despite the repairs, which were due to the mileage, and age of the van, I still love this vehicle


Brakes and rotors were replaced twice in the last 5 years. Transmission, (4 speed automatic) was replaced along with Transmission mounts and engine mounts. Wiper motor was replaced.

Struts and shocks were replaced.

A/C compressor pulley, clutch and bearing were replaced.

Starter was replaced.

Alternator was replaced.

Catalytic converter was replaced.

Serpentine Belt and hoses were replaced.

Tie Rod ends were replaced. Carpet has bleached out mysteriously in spots. Spark plugs and wires were replaced.

General Comments:

This van has basically been a money pit since I've owned it. It was almost 7 years old when I bought it, and at that age and mileage, everything component/accessory-wise pretty much, was on the verge of failing as in most vehicles. Keeping an open mind to this, has lessened the blow (somewhat) when things started fail. Luckily, I have been able to do most component replacement myself. However because of design,..there are just some things a trained mechanic with the proper diagnostic equipment and tools has to do on this vehicle. Aside from all the parts mentioned that were replaced, the GM 3.8 V6 is by far the best engine I've owned, compared to other brands of minivans I've had in the past. At high mileage it still runs strong, and is dependable. It does have some oil leaks as mentioned in other reviews, but not bad enough to be a major problem. Getting to those rear plugs are impossible without a lift. So a basic tune-up horribly costs upwards of $300.00. A major expense for 6 plugs and a set of wires. I still like the rustproof composite body, and the interior is very well laid out and versatile. The body style is still cutting edge, even today. This van, in my opinion has a nice ride, and solid feel to it. I guess I have to look at it from the bright side. I paid $7000.00 for this van in 2000'. Sunk $3000.00 into it, and have a mostly rebuilt great running/looking vehicle for $10,000.00. And the town where I live is only taxing me on about $1600 bucks!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th July, 2005

29th Aug 2005, 22:55

I agree with you on the style, look at any other van from the early 90's and it looks dated. These vans still look cool, especially that rear treatment.

1994 Chevrolet Lumina 3.8 from North America


Not good


What happens if you put the wrong amperage alternator.well any ways a junk yard give my mother a 85 amp alternator, but the factory calls for 105 amp. what would happen to the van or to the battery if the wrong amperage put on the engine can it cause the battery to burn out please help? vholshu@sbcglobal.net.

General Comments:

Please help.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th August, 2004

1994 Chevrolet Lumina Z34 3.4 Liter from North America


Not a bad car for the price


Not a lot has gone wrong with this car since I got it. I just replaced the fuel pressure regulator ($350) then 1 week later a new O2 sensor ($290), had to replace it because the people the put my fuel pressure regulator cut the wire to the O2 sensor.

General Comments:

The thing Is just awesome. for driving on the highway it will pass a car very fast. the thing doesn't have a lot of power, but does need a little more power off the line. I got it with 68k miles on it and it has never run better after I got the fixes done.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th August, 2004

1994 Chevrolet Lumina Euro 3.4 Sedan 3.4 DOHC from North America


A high performance vehicle with a high maintenance bill


Within 2 weeks of acquiring this vehicle the alternator went out. This was very expensive due to the double overhead cam. The alternator is at the bottom of the engine and took a lot of work to fix.

Within the next three months I had to perform a complete tune up. The rear 3 spark plugs were still factory due to the inaccessibility. Changing those spark plugs took a lot of work.

Within six months I had to change the starter. This was probably the easiest job that I completed on the car.

Due to the 16 inch rims tires are fairly expensive.

I noticed white smoke upon ignition in hot and cold weather due to moisture.

I had to replace the idle air controller, and also clean out the throttle body due to the fact that in some instances the engine will not stay running at start up after long periods.

The timing belt was a stupid idea. it is slipping off and needs to be changed. There was nothing but the tension holding it on.

The air conditioning comperessor just went out. Also, the ECM has had a lot of problems. The oxygen sensor needs to be changed, but is almost impossible to reach.

I have to get an oil change every 3,000 miles like clock work due to the loss of oil in the crankcase. It must be burning off because there is no leak.

My seat just broke a week ago.

General Comments:

The average mechanic job on this vehicle runs around $600. Tune ups included.

I enjoy the power of this vehicle and could outrun a corvette, but am too scared to go to much as something else might break.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th May, 2004

16th Sep 2004, 21:24

There is no way a Lumina can out run a Corvette. A Lumina can not even out run a Camaro Z28. I have a Z28 and a Lumina, and while the Lumina has lots of pep we must remember that it is a front wheel drive vehicle.

27th Sep 2005, 08:16

I currently own a 94 lumina euro and it is my favorite car I've ever had. I spent about $800 on the car to get it totally road ready, this included a $400 set of tires. I did have to put a new alternator on, I changed the serpentine, all of the plugs, thermostat, flushed the whole system of all the fluids, and did a complete detail job on it and the vehicle is a beautiful thing.

30th Apr 2008, 01:25

My name is Nery and I own a '92 Lumina 3.4L. I live in LA, and so far I haven't seen any other 3.4 around. It's a great car; fast, I may say durable as well. It has been through 2 crashes, but you can't really notice. A great car!