1994 Chevrolet Lumina V6 from North America


I would keep this car forever if I could


Fuel pump needed to be replaced.

Alternator replaced at 117,000 miles.

General Comments:

This is a very reliable car.

I love this car, and would definitely like to purchase another one.

The engine gets you where you need to go and fast!

Very comfortable car to drive on the highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th May, 2003

1994 Chevrolet Lumina APV 3.8L from North America


A straight out piece of junk - that makes a lemon look sweet


Engine Computer - replaced twice

Engine Sensors replaced numerous times

Electric Window motors replaced Driver side twice - passenger side once.

Poor Few Economy

Failed Ontario Canada E Test (environment test) twice.

Replaced so many engine parts - that my head spins (often replacing things two or three times)

Transmission rebuilt after 130,000 KM

(75,000 miles)

Replaced Radiator twice now - I am told that I need a third one.

Paint on front fender started peeling after about 100,000 km (60,000 miles)

General Comments:

This Van has cost me more in the 9 years that I owned it - than it's original purchase price of $25,000. back in 1994.

Even when it was under warranty - they could never repair it - often replacing parts that didn't need to be replaced, that didn't correct the problem.

After 7 years and about $15,000 later -a mechanic from another car company discovered a faulty engine sensor that was causing my vehicle to shake at varying speeds.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th May, 2003

1994 Chevrolet Lumina Euro Sedan 3.1 from Puerto Rico


A great used car deal


All calipers pistons rusted and stuck, previous installed forgot to install dust covers to the caliper pistons.

Engine temp. sensor had to be replaced along with the low coolant sensor, thermostat and radiator Hoses.

General Comments:

Great Comfort

Good Pickup

Good acceleration

Impressive cornering for a sedan

Good a/c system

ABS system really works

Good looks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th January, 2003

1994 Chevrolet Lumina APV 3.8 from North America


The worst item I have ever purchased!


Second day I got it, the passenger window motor burnt out.

Air pump a week later.

Tie rod replaced after 4 months.

About a year into ownership, I had to replace the exhaust manifold gasket.

Rack and pinion destroyed after a year and a half.

Air Shocks replaced.

Serpentine Belt replaced.

Ball Joints and Tie Rods replaced 2 years ago.

Motor Blew last year.

Replaced two starter motors and an alternator since owning the minivan.

Steering is always off. (To the right)

Passenger door handle busted.

Mass air flow sensor replaced.

Windshield turning white around the edges. My mechanic says it's common for these cars because they usually rust around the windshield first pulling a layer of the windshield apart.

Countless other small repairs I just don't have time to mention.

You may think I drive this minivan pretty hard. The truth is, I baby it because I can't afford the repairs. I've never missed an oil change!

My dad bought a Lumina APV against my recommendation and now he's paying for it. Blown motor, windshield problems I mentioned before, busted door handles, and many other miscellaneous problems.

General Comments:

Don't buy one!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th November, 2002

18th Apr 2003, 10:55

Well I admit the Lumina isn't the best, and a few things aren't perfect. Most of the problems are user error. Broken door handles because someone tried to open a locked door too hard. etc. I own two Luminas one (1990) with 121,000 miles. The previous owner had to replace head gaskets at 39,000 miles and at 75,000 miles. At 121,000 miles I'm having no problems. The other Lumina (1991) has 136,000 miles. The previous owner had some problems and broke a few things, (door handles, windshield wipers, spare tire hanger, etc) but I fixed them all with almost no out of pocket expense. Paid only for parts that were missing. So as you see from two of the same vehicle there are very different results. User error is to blame for most auto problems. The Chevy Lumina APV is a great Family vehicle.

1994 Chevrolet Lumina Standard 3.1 Litre Multi Port Fuel Inje from North America


Built to last (if properly cared for)


The power steering has always been a problem with the car; first, the connection hoses came off the pump (easy fix, I spent about $0.75 for a new collar to attach the hose to the pump). After the first repair, the steering groaned when turning to the left and braking (this was about July of 2001). After changing the fluid out, there was no problem with the steering at all, until recently. It turns out that there's a leak on the steering rack itself. This is not Chevrolet's fault, but rather the local service station where I had the fluid flushed, etc. Basically, they didn't put things back together properly.

Another problem was one stall. The factory battery was still in the car, and very low (on this particular day, the air temperature was about 13 degrees Fahrenheit). Anyway, the oil gasket was cracked (now replaced for free by the dealership, as it was in that condition when they sold the car to me), so oil had been leaking. The oil light came on, the car stalled, and the battery was dead (right in the middle of an intersection too!). I replaced the battery, oil gasket, and refilled the oil. There have been no problems since.

The only other thing was that the engine was sluggish when I took the car on a test drive. The dealership (which was actually a Dodge dealership -- I bought the car used) replaced the spark plugs, and put in fresh oil. I immediately added fuel injector cleaner, and the car's performance improved dramatically.

General Comments:

I wouldn't necessarily say that the 3.1 Lumina is a high-performance car, but it certainly has good pull with the V6. I really love letting that thing roar as I accelerate -- there's nothing like having people stare at a sedan that's out-running their "performance" coupes.

The engine itself is in excellent shape. Although it has nearly 160,000 miles, it runs more smoothly than many peoples' 80,000 mile cars. Why? The previous owners obviously maintained it relatively well. Whomever did the maintenance though, obviously overlooked the problems with the steering pump.

I personally don't like the automatic trassmission, but with the overdrive, the car can accelerate from speeds in excess of 75 MPH while climbing hills.

One of the best features of the car is the interior. Although I had it re-upholstered (simply because I didn't like a red interior with a red car -- the fabric and carpets were in excellent shape when I bought the car), the car is extremely comfortable. Unlike most new cars with harder seats that offer less room, the Lumina has very comfortable seats that allow the driver and passengers to arrive at their destination feeling refreshed. The downside is a lack of a cup holder, however I have the 60/40 split front seat, so I can wedge most drinks in between the sections.

The factory sound system wasn't all that great (non-Bose), but it was easy for me to replace all of the parts (even the receiver, because the previous owners had replaced the oversized GM-Delco factory radio with a standard sized tape player), and the car's acoustics are amazing. I can play music at half the actual volume level of other cars (namely the Ford Taurus, Contour, Explorer, and the Volvo S70), but the decibel level reaching my ears is the same.

The suspension on this particular model of the Lumina (Euro and Z34 have sportier suspensions) is a little too luxurious for me, however it handles quite well. To steal from a Volkswagen ad, the Lumina has sumo size (it's about 25% longer than most comparable sedans) and ninja reflexes.

The car's size gives the driver a feeling of security, and for a good reason. I have seen two car accidents involving Luminas. One was merely a fender-bender -- for the rear ended Lumina. The small economy coupe behind it had a crushed front end. The other crash was on the interstate. The Lumina driver had minor injuries (he was only going 55), but had gone off road (icy conditions).

With the new battery, the car is extremely reliable in cold weather (roughly -10 Fahrenheit was the coldest time I started the car), and is in beautiful condition -- especially for having never been garaged.

In essence... although the sedan has an image of a family or retirement car, if it's been properly maintained, it performs quite well. I certainly do enjoy the throaty rumble of my 6 cylinder when compared to the buzz of a 4 cylinder.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th April, 2002

1994 Chevrolet Lumina Z34 3.4 DOHC from North America


An awesome, but expensive to keep car


Nothing yet, only a bit of rust just above the rear window, as well as on the bottom corners of the rear window.

General Comments:

This car is the coolest, although no cup holder is a pain, other than that it rocks.

It handles great, but feels like it is a heavy car, it takes a little bit to get up to 100 kph.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th April, 2002