1995 Chevrolet Lumina 3.1 from North America


In response to the person whose Lumina APV just looses power. After getting it hooked up to a computer, the code given was for either a cam shaft sensor or crank sensor. We replaced the wrong one first. It ended up being the cam shaft sensor. No problems with that since. Lots of problems with timing cover gaskets. I have had many mechanics think it was the oil pan gasket because the oil just pumps right out and that's where it ends up. Timing cover must be warped. I've had to replace the gasket four times. Extremely difficult to do; impossible without a lift.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th April, 2004

1995 Chevrolet Lumina 3.1 V6 from North America


Great for long distance traveling


The paint has started to peel off of my car in various areas.

I have had to replace the starter motor as part of general maintenance.

My driver side door lock has difficulty unlocking sometimes.

General Comments:

This has been a great car to travel across country in.

Performance is surprising when I'm driving the freeways or up canyon roads.

Very impressed with reliability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th March, 2004

1995 Chevrolet Lumina LS 3.1L from North America


Smart car, smarter value


Nothing. I bought this car over a year ago. I drive it every single day and has been very good to me, or the coldest and hottest days in traffic in the NYC area. The altenator did go with a week left on the warranty. I had to pay a deductable and that was it. I get 23 miles to the gallon too!

General Comments:

The car is a '95 and looks like new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th October, 2003

1995 Chevrolet Lumina LS 3.4 DOHC from North America


A low cost comfortable car

General Comments:

This is the best car ever. I have had it for over 100,000 miles and it still runs like it did when it had 35000 miles. If you change your oil every 3000 miles the car will drive forever. I have had no transmission problems of any sort. The car handles perfectly. The paint is still perfect except for one minor scratch. The 3.4l tends to be a little less efficient than the typical 3.1, but the amount of torque it puts out makes up for it. The only thing I didn't like on the car was the factory radio. Replace it with something aftermarket. Other than that I would recommend one of these to anyone. Also I would recommend one with a center counsel. It makes the car seem so much better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th July, 2003

11th May 2004, 02:57

A low cost comfortable car was the head line

This person had nothing, but good things to say about the car and still deserves a frown? I'm confused.

5th Sep 2004, 21:17

Yeah, what's with that??? Sounds like he had a "sunshine happy car" (beep-beep!), but gave it a frown.

3rd Dec 2005, 01:09

The writer could be an undercover Ford "plant", trying to defame the world's best auto maker... this sounds reasonable to me.


Chevy Lover.

1995 Chevrolet Lumina LS 3.4L from North America


Performance Family Sedan


When I went to purchase the car immediately the back tires were worn out and the AC had to be replaced dealer did the job for free.

Steering wheel vibrates when turned to the right or left, but does not affect the steering.

146,000km spark plugs had to be changed -$200.

165,000km the transmission fluid was changed, and after that transmission was giving problems.

178,000km AC compresson had to be replaced again and refilled -$600.

179,000km Whole Transmission was replaced with a new one -$2100.

General Comments:

The biggest problem was my last one replacing the Tranny, over all the other things were pretty small.

The car preforms really well, it's got the bigger 3.4L engine instead of the 3.1L.

It's fully loaded and even came with CD player and Sunroof.

The Acceleration is nice and shifts are very nice now with the new tranny and even before if you put the pedal to the floor it would still go.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th May, 2003

1995 Chevrolet Lumina APV 3.1 from North America


Not bad, but not worth all the trouble it's been


Not to long after we acquired this van the door handle on the driver side broke. Which does not surprise us at all after reading the other reviews.

We replaced the alternator not to long after that. Yet another one I was not surprised about after reading other reviews on this type of car.

A few months after that the starter went out. While replacing the starter due to our negligence the battery and alternator had to be replaced again. As we learned when dealing with the starter the battery should be disconnected so you don't kill it along with the alternator.

The windshield wipers seem to have a mind of their own. They work when they want too. If you are using them and they stop working you have to get out and give them a push to get them going again. Major pain to do this too!

It has once again broke down. This time we think it's either the head gasket or a blown engine. Haven't had it looked at yet. Dreading the dollar amount on this one!

General Comments:

When we're not having problems with it this is a great van. Drives well, great on gas and plenty of room for my kids to not be right on top of each other when we're all in it.

Very difficult to get to anything to fix it yourself unless you are a mechanic with a ton of tools and special skills.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th April, 2003