1995 Chevrolet Lumina Reviews - Page 9 of 15

1995 Chevrolet Lumina APV 3.8 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

Comfortable Ride

Faults:

I have had to replace brakes twice.

I had to replace the brake cylinder because it was leaking.

Service Engine lights comes on a lot.

Replacing Battery & Spark plugs a royal pain due to van design.

Replaced Ignition Modulator.

Had to get the battery terminal posts tightened.

Broken driver and passenger side door handles which seems common after reading your website.

Windshield wipers have an electrical short somewhere in the dash. Sometimes they work, sometimes they don't.

Service Engine light still comes on despite tune up and replacement of ignition module. Runs rough when the light is on.

Sometimes my van just won't start, and sometimes while driving down the road it just loses power.

A/C fan switch doesn't work on high, just on medium and low.

General Comments:

My van has good days and bad days. On good days, when no service engine light comes on, it rides like a champ. I love the automatic door and I love the space age looking design. Very roomy, and very comfy even to my very tall husband. If I wasn't having these electrical problems, I would probably rate this vehicle very highly. If anyone else has had similar electrical problems please reply. The factory speakers that came with my van are excellent. Thanks

Suzanne.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd April, 2003

21st Jul 2003, 09:51

Every review I read has the windshield wiper problem.

Does anyone know the solution. My van has the same problem.

3rd Aug 2004, 07:31

We have had similar problems with our Lumina Van. We have had to replace the door handles as well. We also have Windshield Wiper problems. Estimate to fix - $800. Way to much to spend on this car. There is also something leaking onto the floor of the driver's side. Neither the driver's window or passenger's side window will go up if you put them down. The rear door will not lock. We've replaced the battery three times in 9 years. One good thing is the car is paid for - just wish I didn't have to buy it every couple of years in repairs...

1995 Chevrolet Lumina 3.4 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.4 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 kilometres
Most recent distance172000 kilometres

Summary:

Look engine over carefully before you buy

Faults:

The overhead cam drive belt broke which resulted in the idler pully shearing off. This also caused the serpantine belt and tensioner to break. The plastic idler for the timing chain was also damaged and needed to be replaced. The biggest problem with this was finding a shop to repair and time the cam shafts. The engine had to be pulled to fix the timing chain. The overall cost of the repair was over $4000.00, most of which was labor. Check the condition of the cam drive belt if buying used. This will require removing two covers to accomplish.

General Comments:

A new 3.4 Lt engine is close to $7000.00. I recommend a different engine unless you have skill and equipment to work on the engine yourself. The car's performance is impressive overall. Acceleration is more than enough to get you out of a tight situation on the highway and fun in city traffic. Transmission shifts a little rough into overdrive. Ride is only average. Every ripple on the road is felt.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th March, 2003

1995 Chevrolet Lumina Sedan 3.1 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired121000 miles
Most recent distance124300 miles

Summary:

A great car, if buying used buy from a Chevrolet dealership

Faults:

I bought this car used on (October 30, 2002) from a Saturn dealer in Colorado Springs, Colorado so I am not sure what services were performed on the car until October 2002. When I first test drove the car the engine was making an unusually loud clicking noise, the dealer said they would take care of it for me. They did fix the car.. by replacing the engine with a rebuilt one.

Everything went well for the first month I had the car, then all of a sudden the water pump died (December 3, 2002), just like it had on the last engine (The engine overheated, cracking the head).

About two months later (February 1, 2003) I took the car in to the Saturn dealer (Required by my warranty on the engine) to have the engine looked at because it was burning about 2 quarts of oil a week. Once again they decided to replace the engine with yet another rebuilt engine.

Paint on the trunk is Chipped/Chipping off.

Cup holders are all broken.

General Comments:

My experiences with this car are probably mainly because the car is used, and I did not buy it from a Chevrolet dealership.

The 3.1 V-6 is a great engine unless you get a rebuilt one from a company that does not have very good quality control.

Because of my experiences with Saturn of Colorado Springs, I will never deal with them again.

When the engine is working well the car has plenty of power, runs very quietly, and does great on gas mileage (On average 20-25 miles per gallon, depending on how, and where you drive)

The cabin is very comfortable, but is made for people under 6 feet tall.

Spare ignition keys run about $30 because of a small resistor on the key used for the theft deterrent system.

Regardless of my problems with the engine I still love this car, It's stylish, and sporty, while still being economical.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd February, 2003

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 50 reviews