1997 Chevrolet Lumina Reviews - Page 7 of 7

1997 Chevrolet Lumina 3.1 (3.1L) V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1 (3.1L) V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired118115 miles
Most recent distance118901 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Nice ride, unreliable dependability

Faults:

Cup-holder in armrest and dash fell apart.

Poor air-conditioning.

Driver seat does not have good support.

Turn signals sometimes don't work. Dealer repaired them and said the terminals on the switch were dirty.

I haven't even had the car one month and not even 1,000 miles and the intake gasket has deteriorated, due to General Motors Dex-Cool orange engine coolant, letting coolant into the oil. Now I am having to replace the entire engine; $988 for a re-manufactured engine not including labor for replacing! Don't always blame engine temperature, it didn't run hot!

General Comments:

The car rides and handles well on the highway, but it is stiff on rough roads.

General Motors has done well on the sound system.

Air could use a little more effort as far as cooling.

General Motors and Ford need to go back to the old green antifreeze/coolant. The orange stuff is causing too many problems. This is not the only General Motors vehicle that has had problems due to this 5 year, 150,000 mile coolant.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th July, 2003

1997 Chevrolet Lumina 4 Dr Sedan 3.1L from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired94000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carToyota Tercel

Summary:

Good for local transport, bad for the traveling sales man, can't take the heat of the road!

Faults:

V-Belt replaced 94K Miles (Normal)

Alternator Replaced (Mounted in a bad place, to much heat on it)

Battery Replaced (Normal)

All brakes replaced (Normal)

Wheel Cylinders rebuilt

Tranmission Serviced twice (Not normal)

General Comments:

This is the secound identical model I have owned. My wife drives the other. The car has great air-conditioning. The heat is screwy if the radiator is not kept flushed and full. When flushed make sure the tech purges the air out at the thermostate purging port. Weird design! The cooling system sucks as I think it is under sized or starved for air flow. If yours begin to over heat pull over without delay and turn it off. If the hi temp light comes on, that's it the head are warped and anti-freeze is injected into the oil. The engine is trashed. Piss poor design flaw. This was all due to a water pump failure. A real crapped up cooling design.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th June, 2003

7th Jul 2008, 23:14

Just like the reviewer mentioned it is great to local driving but if your driving for about 12 hours straight expect car to get hot. We had to almost pull off to the side of the road because it warms up when idling but when your moving not a problem. Other than this setback we haven't had any other major problems and we've got 160,000 miles on it, hope to get at least 200,000.

-JB.

1997 Chevrolet Lumina LS from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance137000 miles
Previous carFord Contour

Summary:

It is a shame that Chevrolet quit making such a high quality vehicle.

Faults:

I have had this car for four years and have replaced only maintenance items, i.e. one ball joint, belts, tires.

General Comments:

This car is the most dependable and reliable car I have ever owned.

This car has been low maintenance over the time that I have owned it, and I have put 100,000 miles on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 2003

1997 Chevrolet Lumina Sedan from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles

Summary:

Good car, crappy paint job

Faults:

Aside from minor, regular repairs, the paint is peeling off of the car. I have seen at least fifty white Chevrolet Luminas with this same problem and General Motors is refusing to paint it at no cost to the consumer. This is obviously a factory defect and the company is not backing its product.

General Comments:

I am very disappointed in General Motors overall and will never purchase another vehicle from them due to the fact that they do not seem to stand behind their products when they have faults.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th April, 2003

25th Mar 2004, 11:21

We bought two Pontiac's. One white, one black, and we have the same problem. A 1994 & 1995. So it's not just the Chevy's.

N.Russell (srussell3@ec.rr.com)

20th Apr 2004, 16:17

I have a 1998 white Chevy Lumina, we just paid it off and wouldn't you know it, the paint is peeling off in large areas. Is there any way GM can be responsible for taking care of this problem? I have seen A LOT of other White Luminas with the same problem.

1997 Chevrolet Lumina LS 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance88000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Montero

Summary:

A good value for a USA vehicle

Faults:

Alternator failure.

Water pump failure.

Moon roof failure.

General Comments:

This was the first US domestic automobile that I have purchased new. It's a good handling car in the Mid-West's winters. I also drove it across country from Alabama to California without a failure. I average 21 mpg city and 27 mpg on flat highways. On cold starts the engine always runs noisy (lifters?) for the first 2-3 minutes. So far the failures are what are common to other owners I have talked to - which are: alternator and water pump. Both of these failed on me without warning signs; i.e. noises, leaks, dashboard warning alarms. The only other failure not common to all is the optional moon roof which stopped working after 5 years and will cost over $1,000.00 to repair by the dealer. I'm on my second set of tires (Goodyear Eagle high performance) which I purchased at Wall-Mart and are identical to the original tires. I have driven over 1 million miles in my 30+ years on the road. So far, with 88,000 miles on this vehicle, I'd give it a B grade (A-F) and I plan to keep it another 2 years. This review was submitted on April 22, 2003.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd April, 2003

1997 Chevrolet Lumina 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired39000 miles
Most recent distance85300 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

A good bargain for being used

Faults:

When braking there was left front wheel noise, like the ABS needs adjusting.

Headlights do a poor job on low-beam.

Uses coolant and I can't find the leak.

Driver's seat seems to be getting mashed.

General Comments:

Like the style.

Engine pep is good.

Very easy to change the oil.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th January, 2002

9th Jul 2005, 21:18

Coolant problem, I had the same, it was the intake manifold gasket. Chevrolet wanted about 600.00 to repair. I used another mechanic which did it for half that amount. This is the only major problem I've had.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 26 reviews