1977 Chevrolet Malibu Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1977 Chevrolet Malibu Chevelle Classic 305 V8 from North America

Model year1977
Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 305 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

One fantastic car that can never be replaced with a new one!

Faults:

The only thing serious has gone wrong is the brake line busted, but for 27 years old, that's a great brake line on it. I have fixed or replced small things, like a new radiator, mater cylinder, brakes, valve cover gaskets. But to me that's really not a bad deal for the age.

General Comments:

I love this car and when I found it, I got it. I have drove it to Baton Rouge La. and New York with the best comfort than most new cars has. It has great performance and has never let me down yet. Still has original paint on it, which needs to be done soon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th November, 2004

1977 Chevrolet Malibu Classic 305 V8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 305 V8 Automatic
Distance when acquired117000 miles
Most recent distance136000 miles
Previous carFord Crown Victoria

General Comments:

My parents owned a 1977 Chevy Malibu when I was 16 and I was only allowed to drive the car on special occasions. The car was never wrecked and only washed by hand with many many coats of wax applied. They sold the car in 1990 with 90,000 miles on it. In 1995 I found the car was for sale so Big Red came back to the original family in need of a restoration. I took a two year adult night course and restored the Malibu back to new condition. Parts are very hard to locate for any 73-77 Malibus. I am happy to have the car back in the family again. The body is bright red. The interior is red throughout with vinyl bench seats and carpeting. It was built in June 1977 in Delaware.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2004

1st Mar 2006, 23:01

Says here this review is from the UK/Ireland. I wasn't aware this car was sold overseas. Does anyone have any idea how many were sold in that region and how they differed from the North American editions?

3rd Mar 2006, 21:58

I doubt it was made or sold by chevy over there. There are businesses which import american cars convert the steering layout and sell them over there.

30th Aug 2013, 22:36

Malibus were actually sold new in Europe. Here in Norway, some are still available, though most of them died early due to rust.

1977 Chevrolet Malibu Classic 305 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 305 V8 Automatic
Distance when acquired117000 miles
Most recent distance136000 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

Still has performance like it did in 1977

Faults:

Idler Arm pass side replaced at 133,000 miles. Valve cover gaskets replaced at 134,000 miles. Preventive maintenance has been done to car since brand new. Have all records showing.

General Comments:

Car has always been very good on gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2004

24th Oct 2007, 12:08

Rust around the window? Junk it!!!

24th Oct 2007, 15:56

Grind the rust out and Bondo it up.

1977 Chevrolet Malibu Classic 305 C.I.D. V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 305 C.I.D. V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 miles
Most recent distance33000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Malibu

Summary:

A sophisticated

Faults:

This 2-door model was produced with a full vinyl top. Shoddy workmanship or cost-cutting measures produced a flaw that is common to most of the GM cars of the era. Water seeps under the vinyl and is trapped, especially between the rear window and the trunk. Rust forms, allowing water to collect in the trunk. More rust forms. I have drilled holes in the rear fender wells in the trunk, allowing water to drain out. Body work was estimated at $4,000 from an expert body shop. For the cost of materials, I am getting the body work (including all new sheet metal welded in place) done by the Nashville Auto Diesel College. I will post a comment when I get it back completed.

General Comments:

The car is an absolute "CLASSIC" in every sense of the word. It has been castrated compared to it's predecessors, but that is easily remedied with lot's of cash. The One-Year-Only body style is unmatched (except maybe by Monte Carlos) as far as style and flair. Owing very little (fast-back rear window) to Chevelles of the early seventies, it maintains the aggressive stance and intimidation (when seen through a rear-view mirror) of "Muscle Cars" of the late sixties and very early seventies. The 305 gives good off-the-line acceleration, but the top-end leaves a lot to be desired. The 350 TH AT is smooth as velvet. Given half a chance, I would replace the front bench seat with swiveling buckets. Other than that I will probably own this car for life, I am that pleased!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th February, 2004

17th Feb 2005, 00:07

I have a 77 2 door landau coupe, which has the white vinyl top over half the roof, and has the water leaking problem as well. It has been temporarily fixed with a few drain holes, but needs attention soon. other than that it's in excellent shape for the year. I bought it in 1999 while looking at a (scary) 75 monte carlo. The Malibu was on the lot, and I put a deposit on it on the spot. it had 63000 original miles (one owner) no accidents, and still had the 8 track in it... all original, and is red on red (plus the white vinyl top) a great find. I have updated the stereo (kept the working original set-up), replaced the master cylinder, and rear brake lines, as well, the water pump, power steering pump, fuel pump, valve covers, and had it converted to dual exhaust. Mine has the 350 auto, and is a great ride. I need to reseal all the windows as they have started to leak, and need to repair rust on the front fenders, and bottoms of both doors, and under the vinyl top, and freshen up with some new red paint. To most people, these things would seem to be not worth the effort for a car this old, but after driving the car for the last 6 years as a daily ride, it has been the most reliable car I've owned. I sold a 96 VW golf when I found it, it's my baby, and I will never sell it. All it's missing is the bucket seats, and rally rims, and I'm in heaven.

Average review marks: 8.4 / 10, based on 9 reviews