2001 Chevrolet Malibu Reviews - Page 17 of 25

2001 Chevrolet Malibu LS from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carBuick Skylark

Summary:

Very great!

Faults:

The only thing that I have had to go wrong with my car is front brake pads, less than a year ago, and I already need more. And my fan blower doesn't work on 1 or 2 like others have said.

General Comments:

I love my car and I would buy another one. I love the room that I have.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2004

2001 Chevrolet Malibu from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance59000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Malibu

Summary:

Medium

Faults:

On #1 and #2 I cannot feel any heat or A/C.I must have it on #3 to feel it. When braking the car pulsates on and off. I know it may be the rotors. The cassette deck eats my tapes. Now a metal piece from the tape is stuck in it and I can't even put a tape in it. Its not very good on gas.

General Comments:

Besides all the problems, I just would like some decent help from the company to fix my problems. I do like my car, and I'm starting a car club.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th January, 2004

23rd Jun 2004, 12:43

Your problem with the #1 & #2 setting is a faulty resistor. Same problem on my 1998 and 2001 Malibu. Dealer to fix under warranty (if applicable).

2001 Chevrolet Malibu from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance39300 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

A waste of time and money

Faults:

There was a creaking noise in the front end, regardless of whether or not we were braking.

When we applied the brakes, the whole front end would shake.

The thermostat would show that the car was overheating, but no service shop could find the problem.

The car would act like it was going to stall, but it never actually did.

General Comments:

I was very excited to buy my Malibu. It was more roomy than my Civic, and it was an automatic which is nice when you have to commute or sit on the Las Vegas strip.

Shortly after we purchased the Malibu, we realized we had made a mistake. The Chevy service department could not figure out what any of the problems were, and they just kept getting worse.

I finally realized that I would be dumping money into the car, plus making the payment every month, so I went and bought a Ford today. I am now paying more than $150.00 more a month, but I will surely value the reliability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th January, 2004

2001 Chevrolet Malibu V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired17 miles
Most recent distance39800 miles

Summary:

Very User Unfriendly!

Faults:

The fan belt started to squeak at 6,000 miles, replaced.

Fan belt started to squeak again at 10000 miles, replace.

Fan belt problems 12,000-now (39000), the belt has been replaced 6 times, I was told "it's a noise that your car is just going to make ma'am".

Engine makes crunching sound when started on very cold mornings, 37000 miles, warranty is up!

General Comments:

Loved the car when I got it, no problems, very reliable, and economical.

The car has gone downhill rapidly since buying it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th December, 2003

10th Mar 2006, 15:03

Once again, piston slap is the noise you hear. It goes away as the engine warms up. It does NOT hurt a thing. Your engine will NOT blow up because of this noise. Don't worry about it. I hate to say this, but "that is a sound that that engine makes".

2001 Chevrolet Malibu 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 kilometres
Most recent distance128000 kilometres
Previous carOldsmobile Cierra

Summary:

A good car for the average family person

Faults:

I replaced the front brake pads and had the rotors turned at the 100,000 KM mark. I do mostly highway driving and I thought that they would have lasted longer, but after reading other reports, this is good. I replaced the pads with the best option at the parts store. Very easy to remove and replace the pads and rotors.

One headlight lamp has had moisture in it since almost new.

The heater/AC blower does not work on 1&2.

Two days ago my ABS fault light came on, this does not make me happy, I have just spent about $4,000.00 on my van repairs and need a break.

The engine is starting to leak oil.

The engine has a cold tick to it since new.

General Comments:

I really like the mileage and the performance it gives.

I like the zip it has in traffic.

The location and ease of using the ignition switch is the best, don't have to fight with it to put it on accessories.

I think that the problems we have had are due to the fact that cars are being changed and re-engineered constantly.

They make fun cars with great features that we like, but can drain your wallet in a hurry when they go.

I am still optimistic that I will be able to go 10 years 500,000 KM with this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th December, 2003

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 86 reviews