2001 Chevrolet Malibu Reviews - Page 25 of 25

2001 Chevrolet Malibu 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired550 kilometres
Most recent distance21500 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

I got a lemon Monday or Friday car!

Faults:

Trunk spring broke within 2 weeks of receiving the car.

Two flat tires within the first 2 months of receiving the car. Dealer did not tell me about the useless Firestone "run flat" technology tires.

Got an engine service light within 4 months of owing the car.

Now, 16 months after receiving the car, they are going to dismantle the engine and check why there is an oil leak off the manifold intake and why it sounds a little like a diesel!

General Comments:

I trusted the dealer who brought this car in from another province. What a big mistake! The engine was noisier than my 3.1 L 1991 Cavalier RS and it had a similar oil leak problem less after less than 2 years old. I just bought a Mazda MPV. I will never buy another GM product. My father has always purchased GM, but this lemon has turned me off American built cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st May, 2002

2001 Chevrolet Malibu LS 3.1 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired29777 miles
Most recent distance37894 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Faults:

When I bought this 2001 Chevrolet Malibu at 29,000 miles it ran like new. Needs new brake pads and rotors at 35,000 miles. Overheating at 36,000 miles. Power steering will not work at 37,000 miles unless accelerating. Engine power is very sluggish with a/c running low. Air intake is hidden behind driver side headlight, giving very, very poor air flow. After 5 yrs of the new release no improvements have been made.

General Comments:

GM needs to have a major recall on 1997-2002 Chevrolet Malibus.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th April, 2002

9th Jun 2002, 20:43

I agree completely. I have had several problems with my Malibu. I currently own a 98 Malibu LS with 66K miles on it. I bought it was a GM Certified vehicle. What makes it certified is beyond me. I have had several problems in which others have had, and I think Chevrolet should recall. Just to name a few... Battery leaking, pads and rotors replaced every 12 to 15K miles, HVAC Control head, piston slap, blower motor going out on speed 1 & 2, engine running sluggish when AC is on... and those are just to name a few. After 5 years you would think Chevy would have fixed some of its previous problems. I love my Malibu dearly when everything is running correctly. I hate to swear off GM vehicle, but I would be telling a fib if I said that I have not been checking out some new Hondas.

2001 Chevrolet Malibu 3.1 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 kilometres
Most recent distance47000 kilometres
Previous carOldsmobile Ciera

Summary:

A family man's sports car

Faults:

The front brake rotors were warped and the pads were overly worn for so few miles.

General Comments:

The car has very good acceleration and handles extremely well for a sedan, if GM could fix the brake problems they seem to have in many of their models the Malibu would be a real winner.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th February, 2002

2001 Chevrolet Malibu LS 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance11000 miles
Previous carDodge Intrepid

Summary:

A high performance four door

Faults:

The only thing we have had to fix is the trunk lock.

General Comments:

I love this car! I am 17 years old and drive this car 100 miles a day. Then on Friday and Saturday I show it off its looks and race it.

Everything is factory except the K&N air filter, it helped the horsepower a little. It will out run any stock Grand Am GT, Contour, and Chevy Z71. People are surprised how fast this is for a four door car... Will buy a new one in 7 years..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th October, 2001

27th Nov 2001, 10:42

YEAH! Finally someone who thinks/knows the same thing I do. I currently own a 1998 Malibu LS which has the 3.1 V6. I truly love this car and if I ever part with it, it will definetly be for another Malibu.

No one believes me, but I am happy to know that you're out there and know. Because my Malibu will outrun these new stock Grand AM GT's, the Contour doesn't stand a chance.

I have made no mods to my Malibu, the only thing I am planning on doing is purchasing a K&N Air Filter for it, but that's about it. The Grand AM may win a beauty contest, but it surely won't win the race against any Malibu.

If you read this review and have some ideas that you want to share or swap email me at MyMalibuLS98@aol.com I would love to hear from you.

10th Oct 2002, 22:09

Interesting, the only positive comments I've seen are by people apparently under 20 or people who race these cars on the weekend.

For the average 30-something with a family, there seems to be not so good of reviews.

3rd May 2003, 16:51

The comment that the only positive reviews were made by people under 20 has me thinking:

I'm 34, own a 2001 Malibu (bought used Aug 2002), and am completely neutral on my car. It could be much better than it is, would be a great car if it was more dependable, but is still fun to drive on the highway.

I think the prior owner dumped the car (i.e., traded it at a loss) because of the intake manifold coolant leak (which I had fixed under extended warranty). I also had the starter replaced under warranty.

As for brakes, I went for Power Slot rotors and Carbon Metallic pads, which so far (knock on wood) have given no problems.

Now the question is, what is going to fail next? But when it runs OK, it's a decent car.

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 86 reviews