2001 Chevrolet Malibu Reviews - Page 23 of 25

2001 Chevrolet Malibu LS 3.1L from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1L Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired31 miles
Most recent distance34000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

This is a mid price car that is a rip off

Faults:

Bought the car new and with 34K miles, I have replaced the front pads every 12K-14K miles. Dealer says I ride my brake! I drive 80% freeway and do not ride my brakes.

General Comments:

I tell all my friends not to buy GM.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st February, 2003

3rd Jun 2003, 09:16

I have the same problem. My 2000 Malibu has been the shop 5 time for warped rotors. Now that the warranty is over, the dealer will have nothing to do with it. It also has a creeking noise in the front end that they never fixed. I can't understand why GM will not admit the problem and issue a better engineered rotor. I am sure they could save millions on dealer refunds.

8th Jun 2003, 12:56

I replace the under designed rotors on my '98 Malibu LS with drilled and slotted units from http://www.roto-tech.com/index.html

65,000 KM's and no pulsation... they are noisy though, but less aggravating than frequent repairs and a lot cheaper too. :)

2001 Chevrolet Malibu V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance50023 miles

Summary:

A great car if you like repairmen

Faults:

The first month I had the vehicle the brake bads had to be replaced due to warped rotors. The brake pads have been replaced three times in the past seven months.

The theft system triggered in my driveway causing the car to be inoperable.

The power steering pump broke at 48,000 miles and was very hard to fix.

The tires are constantly needing to be replaced due to the vehicle not being able to hold its alignment.

Now, at 51,000 miles the transmission went and I was told by the dealer that the vehicle is leaking antifreeze into the oil compartment. And to fix the problem It will cost another $300 dollars.

The faceplate on the stereo system gets extremely hot and can actually burn your skin.

The paint is also peeling on the front bumper I have spoke to several other owners with the same problem.

General Comments:

The only good thing about the vehicle is the roomy backseat and trunk.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th January, 2003

19th Jan 2003, 16:17

I was ready to give my check to dealer for 2001 model (Used) but after reading these views... bye to V6 Malibu. I think I should look for Toyota even if it is $1000 more.

Thanks for your views.

22nd Jul 2003, 20:00

I think that everyone should go to Channel 7 news or something like that, some kind of crime fighters that take this to the public, I also am not happy with my 1999 Malibu that has had many of the same problems. Something needs to be done, Chevrolet needs to do something about these common and very expensive problems. I have been a Chevy girl forever. Like many others, now thinking of Ford or a foreign car.

2001 Chevrolet Malibu from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired50 kilometres
Most recent distance36000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

Would not buy another one

Faults:

The battery leaked all on the inside of the engine compartment.

Having problem with sticking brake caliper. Have replaced the front brakes twice in 33000 miles.

The hazard switch relay turns on randomly. Lights don't flash, but you can hear the clicking sound that the relay makes.

General Comments:

GM knows they have a serious problem with front brakes on these cars. The rotors they put on them warp very easily and are so thin they can only be turned once, which is what is required to do every time you change brake pads.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th November, 2002

2001 Chevrolet Malibu L 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired7 kilometres
Most recent distance34500 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Very average car

Faults:

Engine light came on. Dealership told me it was my fault, and then they reset the on board computer.

Funny noise coming from front end. Does not sound like engine or transmission, but perhaps some part of the drive-train.

Tires on this car are sub-standard. I never had a flat in my life, with 400,000 kilometers driven, in the last 15,000 kilometers, I have had three flats.

Engine also makes a noise. Sounds like a piston slap to me.

General Comments:

Overall, my 2002 Malibu hasn't given my too many problems. I am concerned about the noise from the front end, and it seems like the brakes need replacing after only 35,000 kilometers. I heard the General Motors says that these noise's are 'normal'. However, unlike most complainers here, I have not had any problems with the car consuming oil, as when I change my oil, 4 quarts usually drain from the car, indicating that this car burn no oil.

It is still probably the best V6 type of car that you can buy for under 25 grand, it's just that GM has to address a lot of quality issues.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st November, 2002

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 86 reviews