2001 Chevrolet Malibu Reviews

2001 Chevrolet Malibu 3.1 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Distance when acquired230000 kilometres
Most recent distance294000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Piece of crap

Faults:

Head gaskets have been replaced twice.

Brakes have been replaced 6 times.

Leaks all throughout the car.

Engines rev's up by itself to 3000-5000RPM unexpectedly; must shut the car off to set the RPM's normally.

General Comments:

Junk. It's a clunking, banging, piece of junk. People say you must treat your car well and it will treat you well... In my case the car has been spoiled and I've gotten nothing.

Never buy one. Way too many problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th May, 2012

2001 Chevrolet Malibu LS 3.1 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.7 / 10
Distance when acquired136890 kilometres
Most recent distance145000 kilometres

Summary:

Love it

Faults:

The only thing I had to replace was the battery a month after I bought it.

However, it is still difficult to start on a cold day.

General Comments:

I love my Barbi. The handling is great, and it has a sporty feeling. I like the styling, especially the rear spoiler.

Seats are very comfortable and spacious. I like the trunk space and the speakers are great; lots of bass.

Very smooth highway ride, and has great passing ability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th March, 2011

2001 Chevrolet Malibu LS 3.1 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Beretta

Faults:

Intake manifold replaced at 36K.

Body control Module (BCM) replaced at 37k, and again at 49k within a year.

Anti theft lock system failed replaced 3 times; 38K, 50K, and 85K.

Transmission rebuilt at 52K.

AC compressor replaced at 67K.

Pulley was worn, but GM makes it non replaceable so that you have to buy the whole compressor for around $800, instead of being able to replace a $20 pulley.

Now have 86K and the catalytic converter is rattling.

General Comments:

I have put thousands into this piece of junk.

No more GM cars for me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th August, 2010

2001 Chevrolet Malibu from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance170000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Malibu

Summary:

Piece of poop!

Faults:

I paid $8,000 for my used Malibu, and have put about $9,000 into it because almost everything under the hood minus the engine has been replaced, and today it's the fuel pump.

Do yourself a favor and never buy a Chevy, or American period. All of my friends have foreign cars and have never experienced problems like I have. Every 3 to 4 months there's another problem.

General Comments:

Doesn't handle worth poop!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th June, 2010

8th Jun 2010, 11:27

Did you expect to have a car with 170,000 miles and not have to put any money into it to keep it running?

9th Jun 2010, 10:40

8th Jun 2010, 11:27, I agree with you. We all know that this model Malibu is a not the best car out there, reviews on this site will tell you that, but there is no car that will not require maintenance with this mileage, even people's beloved Toyotas. Plus, you must like something about it. According to this site, your previous car was a Malibu...

2001 Chevrolet Malibu LS 3.1 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles

Faults:

Brakes 10 times, rotors 7 times.

Head gasket, radiator, radiator cap 3 times.

Fuel filter 3 times, headlights once a year,

The AC clutch pulley now needs replacing also.

After looking close, and reading up, it looks like my tie rod ends and control arm assemblies will now need replacing, plus some new struts, and it may need spring and control arm bushings, and be due for new brake and rotors again.

I have a Toyota Matrix that just hit 55000, and has just needed its first set of front brakes, and the rotors were like new, but replaced anyways, and a new set of tires and regular oil change and air filter, but that's it. I can't wait to trade this Chevy in for another Toyota.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd March, 2010

2001 Chevrolet Malibu V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Distance when acquired93007 miles
Most recent distance93812 miles

Summary:

My first car, and it does the job very well

Faults:

I bought the car for $2200, so I expected to put some money into it.

I had to dump the oil a couple times to help with noise from the valve lifters. The car has been running very well since then. At times, it's so quiet, I have to lean in close to see if it's running at all.

I needed new tires when I bought it.

I needed to replace the bulbs in one of the rear lights.

I think my trunk has a leak.

General Comments:

My Malibu "doesn't like it" when it's cold or wet (or both). It takes a little longer to "get going". But it gets there after a few minutes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st December, 2009

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 86 reviews