2001 Chevrolet Malibu Reviews - Page 9 of 25

2001 Chevrolet Malibu 3.1 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Prizm

Summary:

Would not buy

Faults:

Coolant is now leaking.

Engine light is on.

Dead battery.

Replaced rotors once, brakes twice.

Passenger window fell off track.

Cooler does not blow on 1 and 2.

General Comments:

Good ride. Inexpensive. But extremely unreliable for this day and age.

For those pursuing a class action suit or recall, go to www.lemonauto.com and make a submission. Unfortunately, I haven't had as much bad experience as everyone. But I feel my problems are on the horizon. A recall should at least be done for the blower, as it is bad for the environment, and causes us to use extra gas when not necessary.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd March, 2006

4th Mar 2006, 11:44

Blower?! What in the world are you talking about? The only thing that blows here is this review. You are really stretching it far in order to pretend you have a case to get paid.

2001 Chevrolet Malibu 4S 4 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4 Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.6 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance17000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

The malibu is unreliable

Faults:

Anti Theft locks car engine.

General Comments:

The anti theft system locks the engine and the car will not start.

Never know when the car will start.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th January, 2006

19th Apr 2006, 04:02

The anti-theft device has caused me many headaches on my 2001 Chevrolet Malibu. Thank you for posting your web site, it is very informative. No, I will never purchase another General Motors/Chevrolet product in my future.

Sincerely,

Robert Johnson/CPA.

20th May 2007, 23:53

My 2000 Malibu does the same thing. For no reason sometimes it will not start. It usaully takes about 10-15 minutes, then starts just fine like nothing is wrong. It does this about twice a month.

20th Aug 2012, 13:31

I have been dealing with the Theft System Light for years now. I contacted the Chevy people, and they claimed no such thing. I must wait 10 minutes. The light stops blinking and the car is ready to go.

2001 Chevrolet Malibu from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic

Faults:

My temp. gauge is not working and my coolant light come on for a few moments when I drive the car. Once in a while the temp gauge will work; but today my temp gauge was not working and my engine light came on? Any suggestions.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st January, 2006

23rd Jan 2006, 08:33

I just had the very same symptoms that you are having. No temp reading and soon after that the check engine light came on. Mine turned out to be a partially stuck open thermostat, which was causing the coolant to not heat up as it should. I would suggest you have that checked or replaced. The thermostat itself is not expensive, but it is rather difficult to get at.

2001 Chevrolet Malibu V6 3.1 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V6 3.1 Automatic
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Sundance

Summary:

Has been a royal pain

Faults:

The main problem has been the ABS light coming on resulting in the wheel and hub assembly in the two front wheels having to be replaced a total of 5 times. This has been covered under extended warranty up until 75,000 (other than the deductible) but there is no way I will keep the car past that.

Brakes AND ROTORS have also had to be replaced more frequently than any other vehicle I have ever owned.

General Comments:

Unloading as soon as 75000 hits the odometer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th October, 2005

2001 Chevrolet Malibu LS from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

Nightmare on wheels

Faults:

Front brakes and rotors needed to be replaced the first month I had the car.

At 30,000 miles, the transmission was rebuilt.

The front passenger wheel bearing has been replaced 3 times in 3 years.

The ignition lock cylinder has been replaced twice in 8 months.

The front brakes have to be redone every year (at my expense), and even new, still the car shakes uncontrollably when applied.

It makes an awful sound when shifting from 1st to 2nd gear. It has been in the shop several times, but GM dealerships cannot find the issue (though they have heard the noise).

I'll leave out all the small stuff, but there have been several other problems.

General Comments:

I'm extremely disappointed in the performance of this car. I'll never buy another Chevy or probably GM car for that matter. I won't recommend this manufacturer to friends (or even enemies). It has been unreliable, costly and frustrating to maintain. I get no satisfaction from the dealerships. The ignition lock cylinder just went again. Rather than replace I've decided it's time to get out of this money pit. This car has been a nightmare.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th October, 2005

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 86 reviews