2001 Chevrolet Malibu Reviews - Page 12 of 25

2001 Chevrolet Malibu LS 3.1 liter V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.1 liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous carBuick Electra

Summary:

Good family car for the money

Faults:

I had to replace the brakes at 15000. They were vibrating when I got it at 13000. I put on new rotors and pads myself (~$100). I did not replace with ceramic pads or bi-metal rotors. I've had no problems since.

I've had my starter switch stick a few times. That causes the starter to grind a little.

All the electronics and emissions equipment seems to be functional.

General Comments:

Overall, I'm pleased with how well it holds up to use, but the resale value is horrible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st March, 2005

2001 Chevrolet Malibu Base 3.1 V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Lovely car, would buy another with a complete inspection

Faults:

Thermostat resistor ($60)

Serpatine belt ($60)

One brake light, replaced them all ($4)

Right now I have bad brake pads, replacing with kevlar mettalic brake pads ($50) and rotors with drilled and slotted rotors ($85) and $25 for labor.

Have two bent rims ($35 a piece, when I replace them)

Drivers seat wore out fast.

General Comments:

Nice car, paid under retail for it.

I needed something that didn't have as many problems as my GA, so far, so good. I like the style of the car. Wish I could have looked for a cheaper car, but had to get one quick.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th December, 2004

27th Apr 2005, 20:33

80,000 miles and fuel pump probably went out. Probably going to cost over 300 to get fixed, part alone is over 200. Next car I get will be something with simplier problems to fix, like a toyota truck with a 22re motor.

6th May 2005, 17:20

Not fuel pump, wouldn't start for over a week, thought cam sensor went out. put new one in, started, took new one out, put old one in. started, didn't charge becuase he didn't replace any parts. Mystery: unsolved.

20th Jun 2007, 12:29

Update: 105k miles.

Royal Purple Motor oil in.

New plugs and wires

Replaced wheel bearings.

I am now getting 20-22 mpg in the city and 30-31 on the highway, and I don't baby it either.

To all those who have issues with their car, it isn't always the manufacturers fault.

2001 Chevrolet Malibu LS 3.1 V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired2700 miles
Most recent distance16000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

I am glad that I bought the car despite its flaws.

Faults:

I love this car. It looks good and drives good. But since I bought my 2001 Malibu LS, it has had some problems. At 10,000 miles a wheel bearing went out (200.00 dollars.) Then the wires in the radio got loose making the speaker turn on and off.

At 16,000 miles my ignition switch went out. I had to have it towed and overall the experience cost me (300.00) The knobs on the radio are loose. I am afraid the car is going to nickel and dime me to death. I drive the car easy, take car of the maintenance, and have had the car since 2,700 miles and only for one year. The hazard lights click when they are off, which freaks me out.

General Comments:

This is a good car with a few quirks that need to be worked on. I hope that GM will recall the ignition switch, I am a college student working 2 jobs and 300.00 dollars is a lot.

The car drives great, looks great, and is very comfortable. I just want them to recall that.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th November, 2004

28th Feb 2005, 00:18

I have a 2000 model with 87,000 on it. It's a great car! That said, I just did the front brakes for the 6th time today. Cost $60 in parts for new rotors and pads + my labor. A friend who is a service manager says "big car, small brakes." The hazard switch fails, causing the turn signals to work erratically - mention it to the dealership as there is a TSB on it. Mine was replaced out of warranty for free. The power steering line failed at 65,000 miles. A local mechanic did the repair for $150 + parts. The A/C switch turns on/off intermittently - loose connection. If you learn to do some repairs yourself, you will be rewarded with a great running, fun, economical car. I change the oil regularly, and troubleshoot things as quickly as possible and have had VERY few repair bills.

5th Feb 2006, 16:17

After reading these comments, I thought I would share my experience with our 2001 Malibu LS. We've had it since brand new. Brakes went out every 10,000 miles. What I have found on these cars is the brake hoses are bad. You replace them from a regular part house and the problem is fixed. You will not wear out brakes again. I suggest this to everyone who has this car. We've not had any other problems with ours expect passenger window switch. 95,000 miles.

18th Feb 2006, 20:40

I have a 2001 chevy Malibu and the car alarm goes off when you lock the door, but funny thing is the care never came with the key-less entry. And lately when it gets cold the car is very hard to start.

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 86 reviews