2001 Chevrolet Malibu Reviews - Page 11 of 25

2001 Chevrolet Malibu LS Automatic from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance46000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Dodge Shadow

Summary:

The chevy Malibu LS is a fantastic car

Faults:

I have had my Malibu LS for 4 years and the only things that have gone wrong are the directionals went after the first year; and then the blower to the air-conditioner went which was under warranty and was replaced at no charge. Last year I had new breaks put in.. the brakes are the only complaint I have about this car. They never worked very well. Since then it has been as faithful and reliable as they come! I love the comfort of it, it is roomy and has both CD and tape player and radio. It has been a fantastic car and still looks good. I am almost finished paying it off and will keep it for another year or two. If all still goes well, I will certainly buy another and at the same place.

General Comments:

It is quick and people who have driven it say that it responds very well. I can fit a lot in the trunk, and have never had to push the back down for more room. I heard that the new Malibu LS has a shorter back which disapoints me..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th July, 2005

2nd Feb 2006, 09:40

I hope what you are saying is true! I just purchased an 01' Malibu LS yesterday and we pick it up in a couple of days. I am so excited.

I will post a comment a review about it soon...

It's a beautiful car, let's hope that it holds up without many repairs.

10th Feb 2008, 10:03

Good luck with that Malibu; those cars have tons of problems, mainly intake manifold gasket failure.

2001 Chevrolet Malibu LS V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles

Summary:

Although Chevrolet produces very reliable beautiful cars, this is not one of them.

Faults:

My Rotors had to be replaced at 3,000 miles, thank god for 30,000 mile warranties.

My electronics including hazardous light, blinkers, and AC controls all had to be replaced around 60,000 miles.

My engine had to be replaced at 88,000 miles.

Presently my car will not crank because of electronic malfunctions with the security system.

General Comments:

Overall my 2001 Chevrolet Malibu is a gorgeous car. My car includes beautiful leather seats, Sunroof, and a rear spoiler. Although it contains all these luxurious things I was not pleased at all with the car.

This car was bought brand new, with myself as the only owner, and I have spent a fortune keeping it running. I have changed the oil every three thousand miles yet my engine blew at 88,000 miles. My car needed new roders at 3,000 miles, which is too soon to replace such a thing. My electronics shorted out because of a faulty with the Hazardous lights causing my blinkers not to work, which could have caused a dangerous wreck.

Tonight my car is sitting at a community center about 10 minutes from my house because it will not crank. The cause of this is another electronic malfunction that has something to do with the security system.

In ending, I would not recomend this car. It has not been a very reliable car for myself.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th July, 2005

2001 Chevrolet Malibu LS V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles

Summary:

It started as a beautiful relationship, but is now the relationship from hell!

Faults:

The theft system engages itself making the car inoperable. Funny part is, I NEVER HAD THE ALARM INSTALLED. This has happened 5 times over 2 months.

The first time I took it to the dealer, they found nothing wrong with the car, especially since once it came off the tow truck it started right up. In trying to find the problem, they replaced the full pump, gave me a master tune up, and even installed a remote starter... AND NOTHING HAS WORKED.

General Comments:

I bought this car used with 37k miles. It lasted me one year with no problems. She's very well maintained, but for the life of me she is driving me crazy. I really should have researched this car, since it appears many others are having the same problem with the theft system.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th April, 2005

10th Jul 2007, 15:39

Just bought a used 2001 Malibu; not sure what I got myself into. About 98000 miles and it just stopped running and hasn't started up again. Mechanic thinks it's a fuel pump and wants to charge me 800 dollars to install it. Could this be the beginning of hell? Yikes!

11th Jul 2007, 11:59

Its not the fuel pump.

I had the same problem with the theft system and have had to had it replaced twice (one year between the two replacements).

Stupid stupid stupid.

Take it to a dealer if you're not convinced...

11th Jul 2007, 12:55

Tell him to turn the key on for 10 minutes turn it off, but do not take out key, and try to start it. Same thing happened to me. Theft system.

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 86 reviews